Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Canada Warbler, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Breeding evidence - Canada Warbler
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Canada Warbler
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Canada Warbler
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Canada Warbler
Cardellina canadensis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
278 - 1093 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
COSEWIC: Threatened
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
10 23 63 63
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 -2.9 (-4.07 - -1.78)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.070.08  0.13  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.070.09 0.08  0.1
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.09  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Canada Warbler is easily recognized, being slate-coloured above, bright yellow below, with distinctive yellow 'spectacles' and a black necklace, the female with duller plumage overall. As a breeding bird, the Canada Warbler spends very little time in British Columbia, arriving in late May, and departing by mid-August. The species breeds in northern temperate and southern boreal forests from the Atlantic Coast west as far as northeastern British Columbia and the Yukon, and south through the Appalachian Mountains. It is a long-distance migrant, wintering primarily in northern South America and along the eastern slope of the Andes.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Canada Warbler is found primarily within the Peace River lowlands in the Boreal Plains and the Fort Nelson River lowlands within the Taiga Plains ecoprovinces, and in low-elevation valleys that drain the Rocky Mountain foothills. The range is more widespread than was known when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001, but largely consistent with that documented by Campbell et al. (2007), who noted a recent range expansion. However, the Atlas did not find Canada Warbler west of the Liard River - Kechika River confluence.

The species is considered fairly common in appropriate habitat, which has a patchy distribution (Campbell et al. 2007). The highest Probability of Observation values are from Fort Nelson and Liard River valleys, but local abundance based on point count data is similar in the Boreal Plains and adjacent Sub-Boreal Interior, and the Taiga Plains ecoprovinces, suggesting the PObs model may be over-representing the importance of the Liard River especially. In these areas, the species is most common below 500 m, and appears absent from the upland area that separates the Peace and Fort Nelson river drainages. These centres of abundance were unknown when The Birds of British Columbia was published.

The Canada Warbler is found mainly in mature and old deciduous forest, primarily Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides) with canopy gaps and a dense layer of tall shrubbery, usually of alder (Alnus) species. Younger forest and mixed spruce-aspen (Picea-Populus) stands may be used, but a tall shrub thicket is always present (Campbell et al. 2007). Occupied sites tend to be moist and nutrient rich, but the species is not restricted to riparian areas or steep slopes. Plant species vary considerably across its breeding range, however, the preferred stand structure appears to be consistent (Reitsma et al. 2010).

Conservation and Recommendations The Canada Warbler is designated as Threatened under Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act. Approximately 85% of the breeding population occurs in Canada (COSEWIC 2008), and Breeding Bird Survey trends show a large, long-term decline (Environment Canada 2014). This analysis does not include data from British Columbia, where the species has clearly increased in range and population size over the same time period (Campbell et al. 2007). Although Canada Warbler is Blue-listed in this province, it is not listed as a Species at Risk under the British Columbia Forest and Range Practices Act (FRPA), and is not eligible for habitat protection by Wildlife Habitat Areas. Considering the federal status of this species, it may be appropriate to list the bird under FRPA.

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. Canada Warbler in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CAWA&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Paruline du Canada, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Indices de nidification - Paruline du Canada
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Paruline du Canada
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Paruline du Canada
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Paruline du Canada
Cardellina canadensis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
278 - 1093 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
COSEWIC: Threatened
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
10 23 63 63
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 -2.9 (-4.07 - -1.78)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.070.08  0.13  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.070.09 0.08  0.1
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.09  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La paruline du Canada est facile à reconnaître grâce à son dos de couleur ardoise, son ventre d'un jaune vif, des « lunettes » jaunes uniques et un collier noir; le plumage de la femelle est généralement plus terne. En tant qu'oiseau nicheur, la paruline du Canada passe très peu de temps en Colombie-Britannique, arrivant tard en mai et s'envolant vers la mi-août. L'espèce se reproduit dans les forêts tempérées du nord et les forêts boréales du sud, de la côte Atlantique vers jusqu'aux régions du nord de la Colombie-Britannique et le Yukon à l'ouest, et vers le sud à travers les Appalaches. Elle est une migratrice de longue distance, hivernant principalement dans le nord de l'Amérique du sud et le long de la pente est des Andes.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Paruline du Canada se trouve principalement dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix dans les Plaines boréales et les basses terres de la rivière Fort Nelson dans l'écoprovince Plaines de la Taïga, et dans les vallées de basse altitude qui drainent les contreforts des Rocheuses. L'aire est plus vaste que celle connue lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 2001, mais correspond en grande partie à celle documentée par Campbell et coll. (2007), qui a noté une récente expansion de l'aire. Toutefois, les observateurs de l'Atlas n'ont pas trouvé la Paruline du Canada à l'ouest de la confluence des rivières Liard et Kechika.

L'espèce est considérée comme assez courante dans un habitat approprié, et sa répartition est éparse (Campbell et coll. 2007). Les valeurs de probabilité d'observation les plus élevées ont été enregistrées dans les vallées des rivières Fort Nelson et Liard; toutefois, l'abondance locale déterminée d'après les données de dénombrement par point est similaire dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales, l'écoprovince adjacente Intérieur subboréal, et l'écoprovince Plaines de la Taïga, laissant ainsi à penser que le modèle des probabilités d'observation pourrait surreprésenter l'importance de la rivière Liard, en particulier. Dans ces régions, l'espèce est plus courante sous une altitude de 500 m, et semble absente de la région des hautes terres qui sépare les bassins de drainage des rivières de la Paix et Fort Nelson. On ne connaissait pas ces centres d'abondance lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié.

La Paruline du Canada se trouve principalement dans des forêts caducifoliées mûres et anciennes, et plus particulièrement dans les peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides) comprenant de petites trouées dans la canopée et une couche dense de hauts arbustes, généralement l'aulne (Alnus). L'espèce peut choisir de nicher dans des forêts plus jeunes et dans des peuplements mixtes d'épicéas et de trembles (Picea-Populus); toutefois, un bosquet de hauts arbustes est toujours présent (Campbell et coll. 2007). Les sites occupés ont tendance à être humides et riches en nutriments; toutefois, l'espèce ne se limite pas aux zones riveraines ou aux pentes abruptes. Les espèces végétales varient grandement dans toute son aire de reproduction; cependant, la structure de peuplement qu'elle privilégie semble consistante (Reitsma et coll. 2010).

Conservation et recommandations La paruline du Canada est identifiée comme une espèce menacée en vertu de l'Annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Environ 85 % de sa population reproductive se produit au Canada (COSEPAC 2008), et les tendances du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs démontrent un grand déclin à long terme (Environnement Canada 2014). Cette analyse ne comprend pas de données de la Colombie-Britannique, où la taille du territoire et la population de l'espèce ont augmenté au cours de la même période (Campbell et coll. 2007). Bien que la paruline du Canada figure sur la liste bleue de la province, elle n'est pas une espèce en péril en vertu de la British Columbia Forest and Range Practices Act (FRPA), et n'est pas admissible à la protection de ses habitats. En considération du statut fédéral de cette espèce, il pourrait être juste d'ajouter cet oiseau à la liste de la FRPA.

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Paruline du Canada dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CAWA&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley