Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Common Goldeneye, Chris Charlesworth
Photo © Chris Charlesworth

Photo: Chris Charlesworth
Breeding evidence - Common Goldeneye
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Common Goldeneye
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Common Goldeneye
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Common Goldeneye
Bucephala clangula
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
8 - 2189 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
171 66 147 43
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.487 (-3.82 - 3.14)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 0.219 (-1.66 - 1.84)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.070.03 0.10.12 0.19
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.070.33 0.020.53 1.25
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.090.11 0.1  0.09

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.040.12 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.210.060.18
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.11 0.07 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.22 0.110.08

Characteristics and Range The Common Goldeneye is one of the first diving ducks to arrive in the interior in spring and the last to migrate south in fall. Often considered a harbinger of spring, the distinctive whistling noise of its wings in flight has given it the nickname of "whistler", and announces its arrival at the first patches of open water at ice break-up. It breeds mostly throughout forested areas across northern North America and northern Eurasia; it winters on coasts and large inland freshwater bodies, in North America as far south as northern Mexico (Eadie et al. 1995). In British Columbia, it generally winters along nearshore coastal areas and will winter as far north as open water permits in the interior (Campbell et al. 1990).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Common Goldeneye breeds throughout British Columbia except for Haida Gwaii where breeding is suspected, but not confirmed. There are few nesting records in coastal areas. Breeding was not known from Vancouver Island when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, but is confirmed during the Atlas at two locations and probable in two others. Atlas work shows that the similar Barrow's Goldeneye is generally a more frequently encountered breeder in the interior, except in the Peace River lowlands and the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench. The Probability of Observation model confirms that these two areas, in the Boreal Plains and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces, are areas where the Common Goldeneye is more likely to be found.

In British Columbia, Common Goldeneye nests in mature, wooded margins along lakes, rivers, floodplains, sloughs, ponds and creeks (Campbell et al. 1990). Lakes with poor productivity and without fish are often selected. Common Goldeneye nests in old Pileated Woodpecker nest holes, nest boxes, and natural cavities often found in mature Black Cottonwood (Populus trichocarpa) and Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii). In British Columbia, all nests were within 90 m of the water's edge (Campbell et al. 1990), but they are known to breed up to 1.3 km away from water (Eadie et al. 1995).

Conservation and Recommendations Commercial logging of mature and older forests near waterbodies likely impacts the amount and quality of Common Goldeneye nesting habitat. Additionally, firewood collection that targets standing dead trees that may have potential nesting cavities may also impact local breeding habitat. The impacts of the recent Mountain Pine Beetle (Dendroctonus ponderosae) infestation and the subsequent harvesting of infected mature stands should be studied to determine if there are any negative impacts on local Common Goldeneye breeding populations.

Paul Chytyk and David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Chytyk, P. and Fraser, D.F. 2015. Common Goldeneye in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COGO&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Garrot à oeil d'or, Chris Charlesworth
Photo © Chris Charlesworth

Photo: Chris Charlesworth
Indices de nidification - Garrot à oeil d'or
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Garrot à oeil d'or
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Garrot à oeil d'or
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Garrot à oeil d'or
Bucephala clangula

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
8 - 2189 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
171 66 147 43
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.487 (-3.82 - 3.14)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 0.219 (-1.66 - 1.84)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.070.03 0.10.12 0.19
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.070.33 0.020.53 1.25
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.090.11 0.1  0.09

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.040.12 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.210.060.18
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.11 0.07 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.22 0.110.08

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Garrot à oeil d'or est l'un des premiers canards plongeurs à arriver dans la zone intérieure au printemps et le dernier à migrer vers le sud à l'automne. Il est souvent considéré comme un signe annonciateur du printemps. Le sifflement distinctif de ses ailes en vol lui a valu le surnom de « siffleur », et il annonce son arrivée dès les premières brèches d'eau libre à la débâcle. Il niche majoritairement dans les régions boisées de l'Amérique du Nord et du nord de l'Eurasie, et il hiverne sur les littoraux et les étendues d'eau douce sur le continent, en Amérique du Nord jusqu'au nord du Mexique (Eadie et coll. 1995). En Colombie-Britannique, il hiverne généralement le long des régions côtières et il se rend aussi au nord que les eaux libres le permettent dans la zone intérieure (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Garrot à oeil d'or niche partout en Colombie-Britannique, à l'exception de l'archipel Haida Gwaii, où sa nidification est soupçonnée, mais non confirmée. Il existe peu de données de nidification dans les régions côtières. La nidification de l'espèce sur l'île de Vancouver était encore inconnue lors de la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990, mais elle a été confirmée à deux endroits pendant la période de l'Atlas et elle serait probable à deux autres endroits. Les travaux de l'Atlas montrent qu'en général, le Garrot d'Islande, une espèce similaire, est un oiseau nicheur qui est observé plus souvent dans la zone intérieure, excepté dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix et dans la région sud du sillon des Rocheuses. Le modèle de probabilité d'observation confirme que ces deux régions, situées dans les écoprovinces des Plaines boréales et des Montagnes intérieures du sud, sont des endroits où il est plus probable de retrouver le Garrot à oeil d'or.

En Colombie-Britannique, le Garrot à oeil d'or niche sur les bords boisés et matures des lacs, des rivières, des plaines inondables, des bourbiers, des étangs et des ruisseaux (Campbell et coll. 1990). Les lacs avec une faible production de poissons ou sans poisson sont souvent choisis. Le Garrot à oeil d'or fait son nid dans les anciennes cavités de nidification du Grand Pic, les nichoirs ou les cavités naturelles qui se retrouvent souvent dans les peupliers de l'Ouest (Populus trichocarpa) et les douglas verts (Pseudotsuga menziesii) matures. En Colombie-Britannique, tous les nids étaient situés jusqu'à 90 m de l'eau (Campbell et coll. 1990), cependant l'espèce peut nicher jusqu'à 1,3 km d'une étendue d'eau (Eadie et coll. 1995).

Conservation et recommandations Il est probable que l'exploitation forestière commerciale des forêts matures et âgées à proximité des étendues d'eau nuise à la quantité et à la qualité des habitats de nidification du Garrot à oeil d'or. De plus, la récolte de bois de chauffage qui cible les arbres morts encore sur pied qui pourraient contenir de possibles cavités de nidification pourrait également avoir une incidence sur l'habitat de nidification local. Les conséquences de la récente infestation de dendoctrone du pin ponderosa (Dendroctonus ponderosae) et la récolte des peuplements matures infectés qui l'a suivie devraient être étudiées en vue de déterminer s'il y a eu des effets négatifs sur les populations locales de Garrots à oeil d'or.

Paul Chytyk and David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Chytyk, P. and Fraser, D.F. 2015. Garrot à oeil d'or dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COGO&lang=fr [10 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley