Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Common Murre, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Breeding evidence - Common Murre
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Common Murre
Uria aalge

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 0 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
1 0 2 2
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range Although uncommon as a breeding species in British Columbia, the Common Murre is one of the most widespread and abundant seabirds in the Northern Hemisphere (Ainley et al. 2014). This dark, heavy-set seabird labours to get airborne from the ocean's surface, and must flap with short, rapid beats to remain aloft. However, it is in its element underwater, where it uses its smallish wings to help propel it to depths of up to 100 m in pursuit of small fish. Highly social and with a wide behavioural repertoire, the Common Murre breeds on flat-topped rocks and bare cliff ledges at densities that can exceed fifty pairs per square metre. It can be encountered year-round in continental shelf waters almost anywhere off the British Columbia coast.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Common Murre is known to have bred at only six sites in British Columbia, only two of which supported hundreds (Kerouard Islands) or thousands (Triangle Island) of breeding pairs (Hipfner 2005). Breeding has also been reported at Sartine Island, 15 km east of Triangle Island, and at three sites along the southwest coast of Vancouver Island (one or more of which might have been used between 2008 and 2012). The paucity of breeding sites in British Columbia could reflect a shortage of suitable habitat, and the inability of this open-nesting species to cope with disturbance by Bald Eagles.

This alcid is common on the water, but breeding sites are remote and inaccessible. The colony of several thousand breeding pairs at Triangle Island, the outermost of the Scott Islands, is active, and observed every year by Canadian Wildlife Service biologists. Observations are not made every year at the Kerouard Islands, at the southern tip of Haida Gwaii, where 200-300 pairs breed. Eagle disturbance severely impacts colony attendance at Triangle Island (Hipfner et al. 2011), probably does so at the Kerouard Islands as well, and may be a reason why potentially suitable breeding sites are not colonised.

The Common Murre is present in all seasons in productive, continental-shelf waters off the British Columbia coast. It breeds exclusively on remote islands, using cliff ledges or flat-topped rocks on headlands that provide direct access to the ocean.

Conservation and Recommendations The main breeding colonies in British Columbia are well protected: Triangle and Sartine islands are provincial Ecological Reserves and part of the Proposed Scott Islands Marine National Wildlife Area; the Kerouard Islands are part of the Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haida Heritage Site. The Common Murre is the most frequent bird victim of by-catch in commercial net fisheries operating along the British Columbia coast (Smith and Morgan 2005), and is the species most frequently found oiled on beached bird surveys here (Hamel et al. 2009). Most of the mortality probably involves individuals that originate from the larger breeding colonies to the south (Washington) and north (Alaska).

Mark Hipfner

Recommended citation: Hipfner, M. 2015. Common Murre in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COMU&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Guillemot marmette, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Indices de nidification - Guillemot marmette
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Guillemot marmette
Uria aalge

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 0 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
1 0 2 2
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Guillemot marmette, bien qu'il ne soit pas une espèce nicheuse commune en Colombie-Britannique, est l'un des oiseaux de mer les plus répandus et abondants dans l'hémisphère Nord (Ainley et coll. 2014). Cet oiseau de mer foncé et trapu a du mal à décoller de la surface de l'océan et doit se maintenir en l'air avec de courts battements d'ailes rapides. Cependant, il est dans son élément sous l'eau, où il utilise ses ailes plutôt petites pour se propulser à des profondeurs allant jusqu'à 100 mètres à la poursuite de petits poissons. Très social et faisant montre d'un vaste répertoire de comportements, le Guillemot marmette niche sur des rochers au sommet plat et sur des corniches de falaises nues, à des densités qui peuvent dépasser 50 couples au mètre carré. On le trouve à longueur d'année dans les eaux du plateau continental, presque n'importe où au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat On sait que le Guillemot marmette ne s'est reproduit qu'à six endroits en Colombie-Britannique, dont deux seulement abritaient des centaines (îles Kerouard) ou des milliers (île Triangle) de couples nicheurs (Hipfner 2005). On a également signalé une nidification à l'île Sartine, 15 km à l'ouest de l'île Triangle, et à trois endroits le long de la côte sud-ouest de l'île de Vancouver (dont un ou davantage pourraient avoir été utilisés entre 2008 et 2012). La rareté des sites de nidification en Colombie-Britannique pourrait rendre compte d'un manque d'habitat convenable, et de l'incapacité pour cette espèce qui niche en zone ouverte de composer avec les perturbations créées par le Pygargue à tête blanche.

Cet alcidé est commun sur l'eau, mais les lieux de nidification sont éloignés et inaccessibles. La colonie de plusieurs milliers de couples nicheurs sur l'île Triangle, la plus périphérique des îles Scott, est active et observée chaque année par les biologistes du Service canadien de la faune. Les observations ne sont pas annuelles aux îles Kerouard, à la pointe sud de Haida Gwaii, où de 200 à 300 couples nichent. La perturbation par les aigles a influé profondément sur la présence de la colonie à l'île Triangle (Hipfner et coll. 2011), et probablement aussi aux îles Kerouard, et c'est peut-être une des raisons pour lesquelles ces sites de nidification éventuellement convenable ne sont pas colonisés.

Le Guillemot marmette est présent pendant toutes les saisons dans les eaux productives du plateau continental au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Il niche exclusivement sur les îles éloignées, où il utilise le bord des falaises ou des rochers à sommet plat sur des promontoires qui donnent directement accès à l'océan.

Conservation et recommandations Les principales colonies nicheuses en Colombie-Britannique sont bien protégées : les îles Triangle et Sartine sont des réserves écologiques provinciales et font partie de la Réserve nationale de faune marine des îles Scott proposée; les îles Kerouard font partie de la réserve de parc national et site du patrimoine haida Gwaii Haanas. Le Guillemot marmette est l'oiseau le plus souvent victime de prises accidentelles dans les pêches commerciales au filet qui opèrent le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique (Smith et Morgan 2005), et il s'agit de l'espèce qu'on trouve le plus souvent recouverte de pétrole lors de relevés d'oiseaux échoués sur les plages (Hamel et coll. 2009). La majorité des cas de mortalité impliquent probablement des individus qui provenaient de colonies de nidification plus importantes au sud (État de Washington) et au nord (Alaska).

Mark Hipfner

Citation recommandée: Hipfner, M. 2015. Guillemot marmette dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COMU&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley