Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Flammulated Owl, Chris Charlesworth
Photo © Chris Charlesworth

Photo: Chris Charlesworth
Breeding evidence - Flammulated Owl
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Flammulated Owl
Probability of observation

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Flammulated Owl
Psiloscops flammeolus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
405 - 1621 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
COSEWIC: Special Concern
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
3 11 40 1
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.25   
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
   0.25   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.25   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Flammulated Owl is a tiny, insectivorous owl found in drier montane coniferous forests from southern British Columbia south through the mountains of western North America to Nicaragua. Its small size, cryptic coloration, and soft, ventriloqual "boo-boot" calls make it difficult to detect, and much of what we know about its biology has been elucidated only in the last 25 years. It is highly migratory over most of its breeding range, wintering in the pine forests of Mexico and Central America.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Flammulated Owls breed in mid-elevation forests in the drier valleys of the Southern Interior, Central Interior, and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces. Within those regions they are usually found in the Interior Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zone, with scattered reports from localized appropriate habitat in the Ponderosa Pine, Bunchgrass, and Interior Cedar-Hemlock zones. In British Columbia, Flammulated Owls are generally found at elevations between 500 and 1,000 m. The distribution mapped by the Atlas adds to the range reported in The Birds of British Columbia published in 1990, particularly in the dry forests along the Fraser River and adjacent valleys in the eastern flanks of the Coast Mountains, but this represents increased effort rather than an actual range extension.

Atlas data do not provide enough information for population estimates, meaningful Probability of Observation figures, or abundance in various regions; the British Columbia population has been estimated at 1,200-2,000 breeding birds (COSEWIC 2010).

Throughout its range, the species is found in drier coniferous and mixed forests characterized by Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii), Ponderosa Pine (Pinus ponderosa), Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides) and oaks (Quercus species) (Linkhart and Mccallum 2013); habitat use in British Columbia is similar but without the emphasis on aspen or oak. It rarely uses pure pine forests in British Columbia, preferring older, open Douglas-fir forests with scattered veteran Ponderosa Pines (COSEWIC 2010). The Flammulated Owl nests in tree cavities excavated by woodpeckers, particularly those made by Northern Flickers, but it readily uses artificial nest boxes as well.

Conservation and Recommendations The Flammulated Owl is strongly associated with older forests because of its requirement for woodpecker cavities in large dead or dying trees for nesting, and forest openings for foraging. There are concerns that forest harvest, pine beetle epidemics and catastrophic forest fires have all negatively impacted habitat quality for this species in recent decades, and consequently it is listed as a species of Special Concern in the federal Species at Risk Act, and Blue-listed in British Columbia (COSEWIC 2010). Continued monitoring through nocturnal owl surveys and future Atlas projects will be important to assess the status of this small owl.

Richard J. Cannings

Recommended citation: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Flammulated Owl in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=FLOW&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Petit-duc nain, Chris Charlesworth
Photo © Chris Charlesworth

Photo: Chris Charlesworth
Indices de nidification - Petit-duc nain
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Petit-duc nain
Probabilité d'observation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Petit-duc nain
Psiloscops flammeolus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
405 - 1621 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
COSEWIC: Special Concern
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
3 11 40 1
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.25   
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
   0.25   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.25   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le petit-duc nain est un petit hibou insectivore retrouvé dans les forêts de conifères subalpines plus sèches de la Colombie-Britannique vers le sud à travers les montagnes de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord au Nicaragua. Sa petite taille, sa coloration cryptique et ses cris ventriloques doux de « bou-bout » le rendent difficile à détecter et beaucoup de ce que l'on connaît de sa biologie a seulement été déduit au cours de 25 dernières années. Il est très migratoire dans la majorité de son aire de reproduction, hivernant dans les forêts de pins du Mexique et de l'Amérique Centrale.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Petit-duc nain niche dans des forêts à moyenne altitude dans les vallées plus sèches des écoprovinces Intérieur sud, Intérieur centre et Montagnes intérieures du sud. Dans ces régions, on le retrouve habituellement dans la zone biogéoclimatique du Douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur, mais des relevés plus dispersés ont aussi été effectués dans un habitat approprié localisé dans les zones du pin ponderosa, de la prairie et des cèdres et des pruches de l'intérieur. En Colombie-Britannique, le Petit-duc nain se trouve généralement à des altitudes situées entre 500 et 1 000 m. La répartition cartographiée par l'Atlas ajoute certaines régions à celle dépeinte dans l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990, particulièrement dans les forêts sèches le long du fleuve Fraser et dans les vallées adjacentes dans les flancs est de la chaîne Côtière, mais cela s'explique par l'accroissement des efforts de relevés plutôt que par une réelle extension de son aire.

Les données de l'Atlas ne fournissent pas suffisamment d'information pour pouvoir faire des estimations de la population, obtenir des chiffres significatifs sur la probabilité d'observation, ou sur l'abondance dans différentes régions; la population de l'espèce en Colombie-Britannique a été estimée à 1 200-2 000 oiseaux nicheurs (COSEPAC 2010).

Dans l'ensemble de son aire, l'espèce est observée dans des forêts de conifères et mixtes plus sèches caractérisées par la présence de douglas verts (Pseudotsuga menziesii), de pins ponderosa (Pinus ponderosa), de peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides) et de chênes (Quercus) (Linkhart et Mccallum 2013); l'utilisation de l'habitat en Colombie-Britannique est similaire; toutefois, l'accent n'est pas autant mis sur le tremble et le chêne. L'oiseau utilise rarement des pinèdes pures en Colombie-Britannique, preférant des forêts ouvertes et anciennes de douglas vert, comportant quelques pins ponderosa vétérans de façon éparse (COSEPAC 2010). Le Petit-duc nain niche dans des cavités d'arbre creusées par des pics, en particulier celles du Pic flamboyant, mais il utilise tout aussi facilement des nichoirs artificiels.

Conservation et recommandations Le petit-duc nain est associé très étroitement aux forêts plus vieilles puisqu'il nécessite des cavités creusées par les pics dans de grands arbres morts ou mourants afin d'y faire son nid et des clairières pour s'y alimenter. Il existe des préoccupations que les récoltes forestières, les épidémies de dendroctones et les feux de forêt catastrophiques ont tous eu des effets néfastes sur la qualité des habitats pour cette espèce dans les dernières décennies, cette espèce est donc une espèce de préoccupation particulière en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril et figure sur la liste bleue de la Colombie-Britannique (COSEPAC 2010). La surveillance continue par des études sur les hiboux nocturnes et les projets de l'Atlas seront importants afin d'évaluer le statut de ce petit hibou.

Richard J. Cannings

Citation recommandée: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Petit-duc nain dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=FLOW&lang=fr [02 juil. 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley