Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Forster's Tern, Brent Wellander
Photo © Brent Wellander

Photo: Brent Wellander
Breeding evidence - Forster's Tern
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Forster's Tern
Sterna forsteri

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
537 - 537 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Data deficient
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 1 0 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.26 (-8.07 - 7.99)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range Forster's Tern is the smallest and palest of the three white Sterna terns found in British Columbia. It is a short to medium distance migrant, almost entirely restricted to North America for both breeding and wintering.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Forster's Tern is a relatively recent addition to the breeding bird fauna of British Columbia with the first breeding noted in 1980 (Goossen et al. 1982), although it was likely present since 1974 (Campbell et al. 1990). Forster's Tern breeds only in the south-east portion of the province, on two adjacent freshwater bodies, Duck and Leach Lakes in the Kootenay River valley. This population is disjunct from the rest of the breeding population. Non-breeders have been found in summer in southern and northeastern British Columbia. During the Atlas period there was one additional location identified in the upper Columbia River valley with breeding evidence given as "possible". There may be additional undiscovered breeding populations in British Columbia, but if so they are likely remote or small. The single breeding location is consistent with the information on this species in The Birds of British Columbia published in 1990, suggesting that Forster's Tern has undergone little or no change in its British Columbia range over the past 20 years.

There have been up to 12 nesting pairs on the two adjacent lakes, with up to 46 adults present (Campbell et al. 2008). During the Atlas period breeding was not confirmed but considered probable. There was one count of 30 made on June 24, 2008.

Forster's Terns in British Columbia nest on mats of vegetation in marshy, vegetated areas on lake edges, and feed out in open water. This is typical for other breeding locations (McNicholl et al. 2001). Campbell et al. (2008) indicate that colonization of the Duck Lake site is likely due to active management of water levels, which creates suitable habitat. The habitat there is influenced by a system of dykes and pumps that work to manage the wetlands for drought and flood cycles aiming to enhance wildlife production by encouraging emergent vegetation.

Conservation and Recommendations This species is likely dependent on active management of water levels in the Creston Valley to maintain suitable habitat for this nesting. The impact of changes in water management on breeding success and numbers should be monitored.

Leah Ramsay and David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Ramsay, L. And Fraser D.F. 2015. Forster's Tern in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=FOTE&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Sterne de Forster, Brent Wellander
Photo © Brent Wellander

Photo: Brent Wellander
Indices de nidification - Sterne de Forster
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Sterne de Forster
Sterna forsteri

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
537 - 537 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Data deficient
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 1 0 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.26 (-8.07 - 7.99)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Sterne de Forster est la plus petite et la plus pâle des trois Sternes blanches Sterna que l'on trouve en Colombie-Britannique. Elle migre sur des distances courtes à moyennes, qui sont presque entièrement limitées à l'Amérique du Nord, pour la reproduction et l'hivernage.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Sterne de Forster est un ajout relativement récent à la faune d'oiseaux nicheurs de la Colombie-Britannique; la première reproduction a été relevée en 1980 (Goosen et coll. 1982), mais l'espèce est probablement été depuis 1974 (Campbell et coll. 1990). La Sterne de Forster ne niche que dans la partie sud-est de la province, sur deux plans d'eau douce adjacents, les lacs Duck et Leach dans la vallée de la rivière Kootenay. Cette population est isolée du reste de la population nicheuse. On a trouvé des non-nicheurs en été dans le sud et le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Pendant la période de l'Atlas, on a relevé un endroit supplémentaire dans la haute vallée de la rivière Columbia, en signalant une preuve de reproduction « possible ». Il pourrait y avoir des populations nicheuses non découvertes supplémentaires en Colombie-Britannique, mais si tel est le cas, elles sont probablement isolées ou de petite taille. Le lieu de reproduction unique correspond aux renseignements sur cette espèce figurant dans The Birds of British Columbia, ce qui donne à penser que la Sterne de Forster a subi peu ou pas de changements de son aire de répartition en Colombie-Britannique au cours des 20 dernières années.

Il y a eu jusqu'à 12 couples nicheurs sur les deux lacs adjacents, avec jusqu'à 46 adultes présents (Campbell et coll. 2008). Durant la période de l'Atlas, la reproduction n'a pas été confirmée mais était considérée comme probable. On a recensé 30 oiseaux le 24 juin 2008.

En Colombie-Britannique, les Sternes de Forster nichent sur des tapis de végétation dans des aires marécageuses végétalisées au bord de lacs et se nourrissent en eau libre. Ceci est typique pour d'autres lieux de reproduction (McNicholl et coll. 2001). Campbell et coll. (2008) indiquent que la colonisation des sites du lac Duck est probablement due à une gestion active des niveaux d'eau, ce qui crée un habitat propice. L'habitat y est influencé par un système de digues et de pompes qui fonctionnent pour gérer les terres humides pendant les cycles de sécheresse et d'inondation afin d'améliorer la production faunique en encourageant la végétation émergente.

Conservation et recommandations Cette espèce est fortement dépendante d'une gestion énergique des niveaux d'eau dans la vallée de la rivière Creston afin de maintenir un habitat propice à sa nidification. L'impact des changements de la gestion de l'eau sur la réussite de la reproduction et les nombres devraient être surveillés.

Leah Ramsay and David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Ramsay, L. And Fraser D.F. 2015. Sterne de Forster dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=FOTE&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley