Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Franklin's Gull, Nick Saunders
Photo © Nick Saunders

Photo: Nick Saunders
Breeding evidence - Franklin's Gull
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Franklin's Gull
Leucophaeus pipixcan

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 0 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
N/A
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 0 0 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Franklin's Gull is a relatively common visitor to the northern Prairies. Colonies breed in large marshes and numbers can fluctuate dramatically depending on local water conditions. The majority of the breeding range is in Canada, where the population was estimated at more than 500,000 birds in 2007. The Franklin's Gull is one of only two species of North American gull that migrate south of the equator; it winters primarily along the west coast of South America (Burger and Gochfeld 2009).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat During the first half of the 20th Century the Franklin's Gull was considered a casual visitor to British Columbia, but numbers increased steadily and by the 1980s it had become common in the northeast (Siddle 2010), especially the Peace River lowlands. This trend was coincident with a general westward range expansion (Burger and Gochfeld 2009). Despite courtship behaviour occurring within apparently suitable habitat, there is no evidence that the species has actually nested in the Peace River area (Phinney 1998), however, Campbell et al. (2001) report a nesting record from Kotcho Lake in the Taiga Plains in 1984. There are Atlas breeding season records from fifteen 10-km squares, all but one in the Peace River region, but no evidence of breeding (all records are coded X, so do not appear on the distribution map). The other record, of two birds, perhaps a pair, is from Mulvaney Lake on the Nechako Plateau.

The Franklin's Gull is known to nest in the Parkland Natural Region of adjacent Alberta (Federation of Alberta Naturalists 2007). The unconfirmed assumption is that birds seen in nearby British Columbia are part of this population. It is not clear whether they are non-breeding wanderers, or breeding birds that commute between nesting sites in Alberta and feeding sites in British Columbia.

The Franklin's Gull uses a variety of habitats in northeastern British Columbia: large, open water lakes, marshes, ploughed fields, parking lots and garbage dumps. Large flocks are often seen circling high in the air, only their distinctive call betraying their presence. Flocks may also be seen at lower altitude, in rapid, direct flight to and from the nesting colonies in adjacent Alberta.

Conservation and Recommendations Although no breeding evidence is documented for the Atlas period, it would be useful to know whether the Taiga Plains nesting site is still active, and to clarify the breeding status of the thousands of birds that visit the Peace River lowlands every year: are they active breeders commuting to and from the Alberta colonies, or simply non-breeding wanderers? Given the species' recent range expansion and the availability of apparently suitable habitat in northeastern British Columbia, the Franklin's Gull may yet become an established breeder in the province.

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. Franklin's Gull in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=FRGU&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Mouette de Franklin, Nick Saunders
Photo © Nick Saunders

Photo: Nick Saunders
Indices de nidification - Mouette de Franklin
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Mouette de Franklin
Leucophaeus pipixcan

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 0 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
N/A
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 0 0 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Mouette de Franklin est une visiteuse assez fréquente dans le nord des Prairies. Les colonies nichent dans de grands marais et leur nombre peut varier de façon importante selon les conditions hydriques locales. La majorité de son aire de répartition se trouve au Canada, où sa population a été estimée à plus de 500 000 oiseaux en 2007. La Mouette de Franklin est l'une des deux seules espèces de mouettes de l'Amérique du Nord à migrer au sud de l'équateur; elle hiverne principalement le long du littoral ouest de l'Amérique du Sud (Burger et Gochfeld 2009).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Durant la première moitié du 20e siècle, la Mouette de Franklin était considérée comme une visiteuse occasionnelle de la Colombie-Britannique, mais son nombre a augmenté de façon constante et, dans les années 1980, elle était devenue commune dans le nord-est (Siddle 2010), particulièrement dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix. Cette tendance est arrivée au même moment qu'une expansion générale de l'aire de répartition vers l'ouest (Burger et Gochfeld 2009). Malgré son comportement de pariade dans un habitat qui semble propice, il n'existe aucune preuve indiquant que l'espèce a réellement niché dans la région de la rivière de la Paix (Phinney 1998). Cependant, l'ouvrage de Campbell et coll. (2001) fait état d'un cas de nidification au lac Kotcho dans les Plaines de la taïga en 1984. L'Atlas comprend des relevés de nidification dans 15 parcelles de 10 km, qui sont tous situés dans la région de la rivière de la Paix sauf un; cependant, il ne contient aucune preuve de nidification (tous les cas détectés portent le code X, alors ils n'apparaissent pas sur la carte de répartition). L'autre cas relevé, qui portait sur deux oiseaux, peut-être un couple, était situé au lac Mulvaney sur le plateau Nechako.

La Mouette de Franklin est connue pour nicher dans la région de forêt-parc en bordure de l'Alberta (Federation of Alberta Naturalists 2007). L'hypothèse non confirmée est que les oiseaux observés à proximité de la Colombie-Britannique feraient partie de cette colonie. Il n'est pas certain s'il s'agissait d'oiseaux errants qui n'étaient pas en nidification ou d'oiseaux en nidification qui se déplaçaient entre leurs sites de nidification en Alberta et leurs sites d'alimentation en Colombie-Britannique.

La Mouette de Franklin occupe différents milieux dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique : les grands lacs ouverts, les marais, les champs labourés, les parcs de stationnement et les dépotoirs. De grandes volées d'oiseaux sont souvent observées décrivant des cercles haut dans le ciel, et c'est leur cri distinctif qui trahit leur présence. Il est également possible d'apercevoir des volées à basse altitude se déplacer de façon rapide et directe vers leur colonie de nidification non loin en Alberta, ou en revenir.

Conservation et recommandations Bien qu'aucune preuve de nidification ne soit consignée pour la période de l'Atlas, il serait utile de savoir si le site de nidification des Plaines de la taïga est encore actif et de préciser le statut de nidification des milliers d'oiseaux qui visitent les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix chaque année : s'agit-il de nidificateurs actifs qui se déplacent vers les colonies en Alberta ou en reviennent; ou s'agit-il simplement d'oiseaux errants qui ne sont pas en nidification? Compte tenu de la récente expansion de l'aire de répartition de l'espèce et de la disponibilité d'habitats qui semblent convenables dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique, la Mouette de Franklin pourrait devenir un oiseau nicheur établi dans la province.

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Mouette de Franklin dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=FRGU&lang=fr [04 juil. 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley