Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Gray Catbird, Dusty Veideman
Photo © Dusty Veideman

Photo: Dusty Veideman
Breeding evidence - Gray Catbird
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Gray Catbird
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Gray Catbird
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Gray Catbird
Dumetella carolinensis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1802 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
78 79 205 130
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.16 (2.34 - 5.91)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.118 (-0.656 - 0.505)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.01 0.10.11 0.15
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
   0.010.15  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.110.07 0.1   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.010.08 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.150.060.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.1   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.12  0.06

Characteristics and Range The Gray Catbird is a frequent summer visitor to southern British Columbia, although not as common a backyard bird in our province as it is across the eastern half of North America. It is the only member of the genus Dumetella, which means "small thicket", its favoured habitat. It is prone to skulk, but draws attention to itself through its wide-ranging and often fairly loud vocal mimicry. The Gray Catbird imitates the sounds of many other birds as well as commonly uttering its well-known, cat-like call notes. It winters from the Southern Coastal Plains into Central America and the Caribbean, and rarely South America (Smith et al. 2011).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Gray Catbird breeds across the southern half of British Columbia, its distribution centred on the river valleys of the Southern Interior and the Southern Interior Mountains. It occurs more sparingly in the Central Interior, Georgia Depression and southern Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces. Atlas confirmation of breeding in the upper Skeena River catchment and probable breeding in the Peace River lowlands suggest that the species has been spreading northward since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997.

The strongly dendritic pattern of the Gray Catbird's Probability of Observation map elaborates on the distribution, showing that the species is most likely to be found in valley bottoms, mainly in the Okanagan, Columbia, Kootenay and Duncan river valleys. Atlas point count data support this, showing the highest abundance in the 250-500 m elevation band. The core of British Columbia's population remains in the valley systems of the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces, as noted in Campbell et al. (1997). Since the Gray Catbird has loud and characteristic vocalizations during the breeding season and nests at fairly low elevations that coincide with human settlement, it is likely that Atlas survey efforts accurately reflect the bird's true distribution and abundance.

Found in thickets and brushy edge habitats, the Gray Catbird hides its nest in the centre of dense, leafy shrubs. The bird is uncommon in forest, much preferring wide edge habitat in riparian areas, and extensive shrubbery and blackberry (Rubus species) tangles along dikes, rail and fence lines, lanes, and gullies. It will occasionally nest in gardens and around fields and orchards. It is seldom found far from cover (Campbell et al. 1997). These microhabitat features better define where the Gray Catbird is found than broad habitat types.

Conservation and Recommendations Not considered to be at risk, populations of Gray Catbird have likely benefitted from forest clearing and subsequent regeneration of shrubby second growth, and the creation of bushy edges along transportation corridors. Although the Gray Catbird has shown population decreases in parts of eastern North America, Breeding Bird Survey data from British Columbia show a long term increasing trend. Future atlassing will be important in documenting whether this trend and apparent range expansion continue.

Chris R. Siddle

Recommended citation: Siddle, C.R. 2015. Gray Catbird in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=GRCA&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Moqueur chat, Dusty Veideman
Photo © Dusty Veideman

Photo: Dusty Veideman
Indices de nidification - Moqueur chat
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Moqueur chat
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Moqueur chat
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Moqueur chat
Dumetella carolinensis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1802 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
78 79 205 130
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.16 (2.34 - 5.91)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.118 (-0.656 - 0.505)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.01 0.10.11 0.15
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
   0.010.15  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.110.07 0.1   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.010.08 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.150.060.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.1   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.12  0.06

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Moqueur chat est un visiteur estival fréquent du sud de la Colombie-Britannique, bien qu'il ne soit pas aussi commun dans les arrière-cours de notre province qu'il l'est dans l'ensemble de la moitié est de l'Amérique du Nord. C'est le seul membre du genre Dumetella, ce qui signifie « petit taillis », son habitat préféré. Il est porté à être furtif, mais il attire l'attention sur sa présence par ses imitations vocales qui portent loin et qui sont souvent assez sonores. Le Moqueur chat imite le son de nombreux autres oiseaux, et lance communément son cri bien connu qui ressemble à un miaulement. Il hiverne depuis les plaines côtières du sud jusqu'en Amérique centrale et aux Caraïbes, mais rarement en Amérique du Sud (Smith et coll. 2011).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Moqueur chat niche dans la moitié sud de la Colombie-Britannique, sa distribution étant centrée sur les vallées fluviales des écoprovinces Intérieur sud et Montagnes intérieures du sud. Il se trouve en plus petit nombre dans les écoprovinces Intérieur centre, Dépression de Georgia et Côtes et montagnes du sud. La confirmation de la nidification de l'Atlas dans le bassin versant du cours supérieur de la rivière Skeena et la nidification probable dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix donnent à penser que l'espèce s'est répandue vers le nord depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1997.

Le schéma fortement dendritique de la carte de probabilités d'observation du Moqueur chat a peaufiné la distribution, montrant que l'espèce se trouve le plus probablement au fond des vallées, principalement dans les vallées des rivières Okanagan, Columbia, Kootenay et Duncan. Les données du dénombrement par point de l'Atlas étayent cette hypothèse, montrant que la plus forte abondance se situe dans la tranche d'altitude de 250 à 500 mètres. Le gros de la population de la Colombie-Britannique reste dans les systèmes de vallée des écoprovinces Intérieur sud et Montagnes intérieures du sud, comme il est noté dans Campbell et coll. (1997). Comme le Moqueur chat a des vocalisations puissantes et caractéristiques pendant la saison de reproduction et qu'il niche à des altitudes assez basses qui coïncident avec les établissements humains, il est probable que les efforts de relevé de l'Atlas rendent compte exactement de la véritable distribution et abondance de l'oiseau.

Le Moqueur chat, que l'on trouve dans des halliers et habitats broussailleux, cache son nid au centre d'arbrisseaux denses et feuillus. L'oiseau est peu commun en forêt, car il préfère de loin les habitats largement ouverts dans des zones riveraines et d'importants enchevêtrements d'arbrisseaux et de ronces (espèces Rubus) le long de digues ou de chemins de fer et de clôtures, de chemins et de ravines. Il niche à l'occasion dans des jardins et autour de champs et de vergers. On le trouve rarement loin d'une couverture (Campbell et coll. 1997). Ces caractéristiques du microhabitat définissent mieux l'endroit où l'on trouve le Moqueur chat que des types d'habitat généraux.

Conservation et recommandations Les populations de Moqueur chat, qui n'est pas considéré comme étant en péril, ont probablement profité du déboisement et de la régénération subséquente de seconde venue arbustive, et de la création de bordures buissonnantes le long des couloirs de transport. Bien que le Moqueur chat ait enregistré des diminutions de la population dans des parties de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord, les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs de la Colombie-Britannique indiquent une tendance à l'augmentation à long terme. De futurs relevés de l'Atlas sont importants pour documenter si cette tendance et l'apparente expansion de l'aire de répartition se poursuivent.

Chris R. Siddle

Citation recommandée: Siddle, C.R. 2015. Moqueur chat dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=GRCA&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley