Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Long-billed Curlew, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Long-billed Curlew
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Long-billed Curlew
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Long-billed Curlew
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Long-billed Curlew
Numenius americanus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
225 - 1110 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
COSEWIC: Special Concern
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
24 39 51 27
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.17 (-0.203 - 8.49)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.25 (-1.73 - 1.42)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.210.13  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
      0.16
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.140.12 0.19   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.18 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.16   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.08 0.070.12

Characteristics and Range The Long-billed Curlew is North America's largest shorebird, with an extraordinarily long bill adapted for extracting worms from grasslands and pastures, and shrimp and crabs from tidal flats. It is one our earlier-returning, shorter-distance migrants. Its aerial displays, mournful yodelling song, and rich cinnamon plumage brighten early spring days across the Prairie, Great Basin and inter-montane valley regions of western North America. It winters along the Pacific Coast and the southern plains south to Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. Over the past 150 years, the Long-billed Curlew population in North America has declined and its range has contracted, initially driven by harvest for consumption, and then by agricultural intensification and urban expansion (Dugger and Dugger 2002). However, in British Columbia, it is a different story: the curlew has actually been expanding across the province over that time period.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, its breeding range is restricted to valley floors and open grasslands of the central-southern interior. The Atlas documented an apparent northward and westward range expansion since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, with new clusters of breeding season records along the Fraser River in the Rocky Mountain Trench, around the Fraser-Nechako river confluence west to Burns Lake, and on the western Chilcotin Plateau. Local increases are apparent along the middle Fraser River also, e.g. near the Fraser-Bridge river confluence, but the Atlas records show fewer breeding season locations in the North Okanagan and Shuswap regions, suggesting a local decline there.

The centre of abundance remains in the Fraser Plateau region of the Central Interior Ecoprovince, highlighted by the most extensive high Probability of Observation values, and suggested by the small sample of point counts. The Southern Interior Mountains (Creston Valley and Robson Valley sections of the Rocky Mountain Trench) and Sub-boreal Interior (Fraser-Nechako region) ecoprovinces support less extensive but similarly high Pobs values.

The Long-billed Curlew nests in shorter vegetation, preferring open grassland with few trees and lower densities of tall grasses and shrubs, e.g., sagebrush (Artemisia species) (Dugger and Dugger 2002). Locally, however, it also nests in crops; recent work in Alberta reported high use of a cropland-dominated landscape nearby to native grassland (Devries et al. 2010). During the Atlas survey period, nests were not found in crops, but curlews were observed displaying and with fledged young in Alfalfa (Medicago sativa) and hay fields adjacent to native grassland or shrubland; Campbell et al. (1990) note that wetter areas and hayfields are used for chick rearing.

Conservation and Recommendations The species has been listed as Special Concern by COSEWIC since 1992 and the federal Species at Risk Act since 2005, primarily due to range contractions, small population size, and ongoing concerns about habitat loss and degradation on both breeding and wintering grounds (Environment Canada 2013). The apparent range expansion in British Columbia is encouraging, and should continue to be monitored. The use of cropland as a breeding habitat in British Columbia should be a research priority.

Peter J.A. Davidson and Nancy Mahony

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. and N. Mahony. 2015. Long-billed Curlew in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LBCU&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Courlis à long bec, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Courlis à long bec
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Courlis à long bec
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Courlis à long bec
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Courlis à long bec
Numenius americanus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
225 - 1110 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
COSEWIC: Special Concern
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
24 39 51 27
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.17 (-0.203 - 8.49)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.25 (-1.73 - 1.42)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.210.13  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
      0.16
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.140.12 0.19   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.18 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.16   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.08 0.070.12

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Courlis à long bec est le plus grand échassier d'Amérique du Nord, doté d'un bec extraordinairement long, adapté pour extraire les vers dans les prairies et les pâturages, et les crevettes et les crabes sur les replats de marée. C'est un migrateur à courte distance et l'un des premiers arrivants printaniers. Ses parades aériennes, son chant tyrolien mélancolique et son riche plumage de cannelle égayent les premiers jours du printemps à travers les Prairies, le Grand Bassin des États-Unis et les régions vallonneuses et intermontagneuses de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord. Il hiverne le long de la côte du Pacifique et sur les plaines du sud de la péninsule du Yucatán. Au cours des 150 dernières années, la population du Courlis à long bec en Amérique du Nord a diminué et son aire de répartition a rétréci, en raison d'abord de l'industrialisation de l'agriculture, puis de l'intensification de l'agriculture et de l'expansion urbaine (Dugger et Dugger 2002). Cependant, en Colombie-Britannique, c'est une autre histoire : le courlis s'est au contraire étendu partout dans la province au cours de cette période.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, son territoire de reproduction se limite aux fonds de vallée et aux prairies de la zone centrale méridionale intérieure. Les relevés de l'Atlas ornithologique indiquent qu'une expansion de ce territoire vers le nord et vers l'ouest s'est produite depuis les recherches de Campbell et coll. (1990), de nouvelles populations de nidification ayant été observées le long du fleuve Fraser dans le sillon des Rocheuses, au confluent du fleuve et de la rivière Nechako à l'ouest de Burns Lake, ainsi que sur la partie occidentale du plateau Chilcotin. Une hausse localisée des groupements est apparente le long de la portion centrale du fleuve Fraser, plus précisément à proximité de la jonction avec la rivière Bridge. Les relevés de l'Atlas indiquent cependant une diminution des aires de nidification saisonnière dans les régions de l'Okanagan du nord et de Shuswap, ce qui laisse entrevoir un déclin à cet endroit.

Les aires les plus nombreuses se situent dans la région du plateau du Fraser de l'écoprovince intérieure centrale, ce que corroborent les valeurs élevées les plus étendues de probabilités d'observation ainsi que les données sur l'abondance consignées lors des dénombrements ponctuels. Ces valeurs et données sont moins étendues mais aussi élevées dans les montagnes du sud de l'intérieur (soit les sections de la vallée de Creston et de la vallée Robson du sillon des Rocheuses) et les écoprovinces de l'intérieur subboréal (de la région au confluent du Fraser et de la rivière Nechako).

Le Courlis à long bec niche dans les prairies peu arborées, de préférence à herbes courtes, où poussent peu de hautes graminées et d'arbustes, notamment l'armoise argentée (de l'espèce Artemisia) (Dugger et Dugger 2002). À certaines occasions, il niche aussi dans des zones cultivées. Une utilisation importante des terres à prédominance agricole a été observée à proximité des prairies indigènes (Devries et coll. 2010). La période du relevé n'a pas permis de repérer de nids bien que des spécimens aient été observés en compagnie de jeunes à l'envol dans des champs de luzerne cultivée (Medicago sativa) et dans des champs de foin adjacents aux prairies indigènes et aux terres arbustives; Campbell et coll. (1990) signalent que les oiseaux élèvent leurs petits dans les zones humides et les prés de fauche.

Conservation et recommandations Le COSEPAC considère cette espèce comme étant spécialement préoccupante depuis 1992 et en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril depuis 2005, et ce, principalement en raison de la contraction de son aire de distribution, de la taille réduite de sa population et des préoccupations continues que suscitent la perte de l'habitat et la dégradation des aires de nidification et d'hivernage (Environnement Canada 2013). L'expansion apparente de son aire en Colombie-Britannique est encourageante, de sorte qu'on devrait continuer de la surveiller. L'utilisation des terres cultivées en tant qu'habitat de nidification en Colombie-Britannique devrait constituer une priorité de la recherche.

Peter J.A. Davidson and Nancy Mahony

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. and N. Mahony. 2015. Courlis à long bec dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LBCU&lang=fr [02 juil. 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley