Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Lesser Scaup, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Breeding evidence - Lesser Scaup
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Lesser Scaup
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Lesser Scaup
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Lesser Scaup
Aythya affinis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
13 - 1408 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
61 166 120 39
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 5.68 (1.65 - 9.61)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.25 (-4.71 - 1.09)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.760.1 0.530.66  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.760.03 0.1  0.32
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.210.77 0.53   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.380.10.33 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.23
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.52   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 2.441.090.36

Characteristics and Range It takes a practiced eye to separate the Lesser Scaup, male or female, from its close relative the Greater Scaup. This similarity not only frustrates many birders but leads to reduced information on the population size, trends and distributions of the two species; many census counts simply combine the scaup species. Across its range, the Lesser Scaup is generally more common than the Greater Scaup. Restricted to North America, the breeding range of the Lesser Scaup spans the Boreal Forest east to the Great Lakes, the northern Prairies, and the Great Basin (Austin et al. 1998). Many Lesser Scaup winter around the Gulf of Mexico, but large numbers also winter along the Pacific and Atlantic coasts, and on ice-free waters in the continental interior.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Lesser Scaup is a widespread breeder in the province, unlike its close relative the Greater Scaup which has not been confirmed to breed here. The distribution of Lesser Scaup breeding records from the Atlas surveys match those in Campbell et al. (1990) quite closely, suggesting there has been no appreciable change in distribution. The main clusters of nesting occur across the Chilcotin and Cariboo plateaus into the Thompson River drainage, in the Peace River lowlands, and in the northwest Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince. Although this species is common during winter in coastal regions, it does not breed there; two Atlas records along the Skeena River valley probably represent late migrating birds.

The most extensive area of high Probability of Observation match the distribution cluster across the Central Interior and Southern Interior ecoprovinces. The PObs modelling also predicts high PObs values in the upper Stikine River catchment, an area poorly sampled by Atlas surveyors due to its remoteness. The elevation range confirms that given by Campbell et al. (1990): highest abundance occurs in the 500-1,500 m range, although the Atlas sample size for abundance analysis was small, and the Lesser Scaup is not well sampled by randomized point counts because of its localized wetland occurrence.

Most Lesser Scaup were found breeding in the Interior Douglas-fir and Boreal White and Black Spruce biogeoclimatic zones. Wetland characteristics are the most important determinants of breeding. Nests are usually in vegetation close to favoured foraging areas in semi-permanent or permanent ponds, marshes, and small lakes (Campbell et al. 1990, Austin et al. 1998). Lesser Scaup often nest on islands, sometimes in loose aggregations.

Conservation and Recommendations The Lesser Scaup is considered the most abundant diving duck in North America with over 5 million birds in past years (Austin et al. 1998). Since the 1970s, counts of scaup (the two species cannot be differentiated in aerial surveys) show significant declines across the breeding range, although there has been some recovery since 2004 (Fast et al. 2011, CWS Waterfowl Committee 2013). Declines appear to be due to reduced breeding recruitment, possibly linked to increased drought conditions, wildfires, logging of boreal forests, and acid rain, but contamination from winter food might also affect body condition and hence breeding success (Austin et al. 1998). Future Atlas surveys in British Columbia will therefore be valuable in tracking changes in scaup breeding distribution and densities.

Alan E. Burger

Recommended citation: Burger, A.E. 2015. Lesser Scaup in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LESC&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Petit Fuligule, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Indices de nidification - Petit Fuligule
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Petit Fuligule
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Petit Fuligule
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Petit Fuligule
Aythya affinis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
13 - 1408 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
61 166 120 39
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 5.68 (1.65 - 9.61)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.25 (-4.71 - 1.09)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.760.1 0.530.66  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.760.03 0.1  0.32
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.210.77 0.53   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.380.10.33 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.23
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.52   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 2.441.090.36

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Il faut un oeil aguerri pour distinguer le Petit Fuligule, mâle ou femelle, de son proche parent, le Fuligule milouinan. Cette ressemblance ne crée pas de la frustration que pour les nombreux ornithologues amateurs, mais se solde par une information réduite sur la taille, les tendances et les répartitions de la population des deux espèces; de nombreux dénombrements de la population se contentent de combiner les espèces de fuligule. Sur l'ensemble de son aire de répartition, le Petit Fuligule est habituellement plus commun que le Fuligule milouinan. L'aire de nidification du Petit Fuligule, qui se trouve uniquement en Amérique du Nord, englobe la forêt boréale, vers l'est jusqu'aux Grands Lacs, le nord des Prairies et le Grand Bassin (Austin et coll. 1998). De nombreux petits fuligules hivernent autour du golfe du Mexique, mais ils hivernent également en grand nombre le long des côtes du Pacifique et de l'Atlantique et sur les eaux libres de glace dans l'intérieur du continent.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Petit Fuligule est un nicheur répandu dans la province, contrairement à son proche parent, le Fuligule milouinan, dont la nidification n'a pas été confirmée ici. La distribution des relevés de nidification du Petit Fuligule à partir des relevés de l'Atlas correspond de très près à ceux dans Campbell et coll. (1990), ce qui donne à penser qu'il n'y a pas eu de changements appréciables de la distribution. Les principales grappes de nidification se trouvent sur les plateaux Chilcotin et Cariboo jusque dans le bassin de drainage de la rivière Thompson, dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix et dans le nord-ouest de l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du nord. Bien que cette espèce soit commune pendant l'hiver dans les régions côtières, elle n'y niche pas; deux relevés de l'Atlas le long de la vallée de la rivière Skeena représentent probablement des oiseaux qui migrent tardivement.

La région la plus vaste de forte probabilité d'observation correspondait à la grappe de distribution dans les écoprovinces Intérieur centre et Intérieur sud. La modélisation de la PObs prédisait également des valeurs de PObs élevées dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Stikine, une région médiocrement échantillonnée par les enquêteurs de l'Atlas en raison de son éloignement. La tranche d'altitude confirme celle donnée par Campbell et coll. (1990) : la plus forte abondance se trouve dans la tranche de 500 à 1 500 mètres, bien que la taille de l'échantillon de l'Atlas ait été trop petite pour l'analyse de l'abondance, et le Petit Fuligule n'est pas bien échantillonné au moyen des dénombrements par point à cause de sa présence localisée sur les terres humides.

On a trouvé la plupart des petits Fuligules en train de nicher dans les zones biogéoclimatiques intérieure à douglas et boréale à épinette blanche et épinette noire. Les caractéristiques des terres humides sont les déterminants les plus importants de la nidification. Les nids se trouvent habituellement dans de la végétation proche de zones de recherche de nourriture préférées dans des étangs, des marais et des petits lacs semi-permanents ou permanents (Campbell et coll. 1990, Austin et coll. 1998). Le Petit Fuligule niche souvent sur des îles, parfois en regroupements épars.

Conservation et recommandations Le Petit Fuligule est considéré comme le canard plongeur le plus abondant en Amérique du Nord, avec plus de cinq millions d'oiseaux au cours des dernières années (Austin et coll. 1998). Depuis les années 1970, les dénombrements de fuligules (les deux espèces ne peuvent pas être différenciées lors de relevés aériens) indiquent des baisses considérables dans l'ensemble de l'aire de nidification, bien qu'il y ait eu quelques rétablissements depuis 2004 (Fast et coll. 2011, Comité sur la sauvagine du SCF 2013). Les déclins semblent être imputables à une réduction du recrutement de nidification, éventuellement liés à une augmentation de conditions de sécheresse, aux feux de forêt, à l'abattage de forêts boréales et aux pluies acides, mais la contamination de l'alimentation d'hiver peut également toucher l'état corporel et, partant, le succès de reproduction (Austin et coll. 1998). De futurs relevés de l'Atlas en Colombie-Britannique seront donc précieux pour suivre les changements de la distribution de nidification et des densités du fuligule.

Alan E. Burger

Citation recommandée: Burger, A.E. 2015. Petit Fuligule dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LESC&lang=fr [10 juil. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley