Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Lewis's Woodpecker, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Lewis's Woodpecker
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Lewis's Woodpecker
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Lewis's Woodpecker
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Lewis's Woodpecker
Melanerpes lewis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
217 - 1219 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
BCRISC: Red (Georgia Depression population)
COSEWIC: Threatened
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
92 18 32 23
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.796 (-5.78 - 3.72)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.895 (-5.92 - 3.58)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.060.19  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.160.5 0.06   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.09 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.05   

Characteristics and Range Looking like a small crow with a red face and pink undersides and a habit of foraging for flying insects with acrobatic flights, the Lewis's Woodpecker is the province's most unusual woodpecker. Its breeding range is restricted to parts of western North America, approximately matching the distribution of Ponderosa Pine (Pinus ponderosa), extending from southern British Columbia through some western cordilleras and plateaus to southern New Mexico and California (Vierling et al. 2013). Most birds that breed in the northern half of this range migrate short distances to winter farther south.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, the current primary range is in the valleys of the dry southern interior. Breeding has expanded farther north in the Central Interior and the Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, but there is no Atlas evidence of breeding in coastal areas. The species has not recolonized the coast since its collapse there in the 1940-1960's (Campbell et al. 1990, COSEWIC 2010, Siddle and Davidson 1991). Surveys for this species by volunteers and provincial and federal governments in preparation for a management plan, combined with the bird's visible nature, meant that Atlas coverage was excellent and confirmed breeding was found in 77% of 10-km squares with Lewis's Woodpecker observation, one of the highest proportions of confirmed breeding found for any species during the Atlas.

The core of the provincial population is in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince: highest Probabilities of Observation and abundance are in the central-southern Okanagan and Similkameen valleys, the Thompson-Nicola and middle Fraser valleys. An area of similar abundance but slightly lower Pobs values is found in the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench. The total number of breeding Lewis's Woodpeckers in the province is 315-460 pairs (Environment Canada 2014).

Atlas records are all from below 1,230 m in elevation and the majority are below 1,000 m, and almost entirely from the Ponderosa Pine, Interior Douglas-fir and Bunchgrass biogeoclimatic zones. The Lewis's Woodpecker favours open Ponderosa Pine woodland including recent burns, sparsely treed grassy slopes and riparian strips of Black Cottonwood (Populus trichocarpa) with exposed snags.

Conservation and Recommendations A management plan has been developed for Lewis's Woodpecker (Environment Canada 2014) that outlines best management practices, develops goals and lists strategies for recovering the species. The objective of the plan is to increase the British Columbia population to 600 pairs by 2040. The species is listed as a species at risk under the British Columbia Forest and Range Practices Act and over 2,200 ha in 88 areas have been set aside as Wildlife Habitat Areas for this species (British Columbia Ministry of Environment 2015).

David F. Fraser and Leah Ramsay

Recommended citation: Fraser, D.F. and Ramsay, L. 2015. Lewis's Woodpecker in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LEWO&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pic de Lewis, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Pic de Lewis
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Pic de Lewis
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Pic de Lewis
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pic de Lewis
Melanerpes lewis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
217 - 1219 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
BCRISC: Red (Georgia Depression population)
COSEWIC: Threatened
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
92 18 32 23
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.796 (-5.78 - 3.72)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.895 (-5.92 - 3.58)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.060.19  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.160.5 0.06   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.09 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.05   

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Ressemblant à une petite corneille avec un visage rouge et un ventre rose et ayant l'habitude de se nourrir d'insectes volants en effectuant des vols acrobatiques, le Pic de Lewis est le pic-bois le plus inusité de la province. Son aire de nidification se limite à certaines parties de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, ce qui correspond environ à la répartition du pin ponderosa (Pinus ponderosa), s'étendant du sud de la Colombie-Britannique jusque dans certaines cordillères de l'ouest ainsi que de plateaux jusqu'au sud du Nouveau-Mexique et de la Californie (Vierling et coll. 2013). La plupart des oiseaux qui nichent dans la moitié nord de cette aire de répartition migrent sur de courtes distances afin d'hiverner plus au sud.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, l'aire de répartition principale actuelle de l'espèce se situe dans les vallées de la zone intérieure aride du sud. Bien que l'aire de nidification se soit étendue plus au nord dans les écoprovinces du Centre intérieur et des Montagnes du sud intérieur depuis la parution de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990, l'Atlas n'indique aucun indice de nidification dans les zones côtières. L'espèce n'a pas recolonisé la côte depuis son effondrement dans les années 1940 à 1960 (Campbell et coll. 1990, COSEWIC 2010, Siddle et Davidson 1991). Des enquêtes menées sur cette espèce par des bénévoles et les gouvernements fédéral et provincial dans le cadre de la préparation d'un plan de gestion, combinées avec la nature visible de ces oiseaux, ont démontré que la couverture de l'Atlas était excellente et ont confirmé que les mentions de nidification du Pic de Lewis se trouvaient dans 77 % des parcelles de 10 km, l'une des proportions les plus élevées de l'aire de nidification observée pour toute espèce recensée dans l'Atlas.

Le noyau de la population provinciale se trouve dans l'écoprovince du Sud intérieur : les plus fortes probabilités d'observation et l'abondance de l'espèce se trouvent dans les vallées de l'Okanagan et de la Similkameen du centre-sud de la province et les vallées de Thompson-Nicola et du Moyen-Fraser. On retrouve une zone d'abondance similaire, mais affichant des valeurs de probabilité d'observation légèrement inférieures, dans le sillon des montagnes Rocheuses du sud. Le nombre total de Pics de Lewis nicheurs dans la province varie entre 315 et 460 couples (Environnement Canada 2014).

Les relevés d'Atlas se situent tous à moins de 1230 m d'altitude et la majorité des individus de l'espèce vivent à moins de 1000 m, presque entièrement dans les zones biogéoclimatiques du pin ponderosa, du sapin de Douglas et de graminées cespiteuses. Le Pic de Lewis préfère les forêts claires de pins ponderosa, don't les brûlis récents, les pentes herbeuses peu boisées et les bandes riveraines de peupliers de l'Ouest (Populus trichocarpa) comportant des chicots exposés.

Conservation et recommandations Un plan de gestion a été élaboré pour le Pic de Lewis (Environnement Canada 2014) qui expose des pratiques exemplaires de gestion, définit des objectifs et énumère des stratégies de rétablissement de l'espèce. Le plan vise à augmenter de 600 couples la population de la Colombie-Britannique d'ici 2040. L'espèce est inscrite sur la liste des espèces en péril en vertu de la Forest and Range Practices Act de la Colombie-Britannique et plus de 2 200 ha dans 88 régions ont été réservés à titre de zones d'habitat faunique pour cette espèce (ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique 2015).

David F. Fraser and Leah Ramsay

Citation recommandée: Fraser, D.F. and Ramsay, L. 2015. Pic de Lewis dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=LEWO&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley