Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Mallard, Dusty Veideman
Photo © Dusty Veideman

Photo: Dusty Veideman
Breeding evidence - Mallard
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Mallard
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Mallard
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Mallard
Anas platyrhynchos
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1317 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
623 268 411 275
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.46 (-2.9 - 0.98)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.23 (-2.2 - -0.361)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.330.06 0.190.22 0.44
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.330.04 0.060.47 0.1
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.180.3 0.19  0.36

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.060.110.59
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.40.050.26
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.26 0.010.07
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.390.540.090.2

Characteristics and Range The Mallard is the ancestor of nearly all domestic duck breeds, and the most familiar duck to the public worldwide having been introduced to many urban settings. It is also the most common duck across its native global range, which spans much of the northern hemisphere (Drilling et al. 2002). In North America it is a resident and short- to medium-distance migrant, breeding across northern and central parts of the continent and wintering as far south as northern Mexico.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Mallard is a widespread breeding bird in British Columbia, with distinct clusters of breeding in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince, the Chilcotin-Cariboo and Thompson-Nicola-Okanagan wetland systems, the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench and the Peace River lowlands. This distribution has not changed appreciably since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990. At that time, the centre of abundance was the Chilcotin-Cariboo in the Central Interior Ecoprovince. Atlas Probability of Observation and abundance data suggest that the Georgia Depression and adjacent coastal fjords in the Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces are now of similar importance. The Mallard occurs over a wide elevation range, but is most abundant below 500 m.

The Mallard is at home in all types of freshwater wetlands, from artificial urban ponds to remote natural lakes and slower-flowing watercourses. It nests in a wide variety of habitats from woodlands to Cattail (Typha latifolia) marshes to the fringes of pools in busy city parks, usually situating its nest on the ground, a platform, or near the base of a tree, and concealing the nest with vegetation. The Mallard has an unusually long nesting season, which can extend from February to November on British Columbia's south coast (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations There are no major conservation concerns in British Columbia for this adaptable and resilient duck. Its preference for low elevation wetlands may result in increased vulnerability for interior breeders, if wetlands in dry interior regions become smaller in size and fewer in number through projected climate change (Bunnell et al. 2013). It is the single most important game duck in British Columbia; here and elsewhere, hunting is effectively managed (Campbell et al. 1990, Drilling et al. 2002).

Peter J.A. Davidson

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Mallard in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=MALL&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Canard colvert, Dusty Veideman
Photo © Dusty Veideman

Photo: Dusty Veideman
Indices de nidification - Canard colvert
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Canard colvert
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Canard colvert
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Canard colvert
Anas platyrhynchos

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1317 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
623 268 411 275
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.46 (-2.9 - 0.98)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.23 (-2.2 - -0.361)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.330.06 0.190.22 0.44
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.330.04 0.060.47 0.1
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.180.3 0.19  0.36

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.060.110.59
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.40.050.26
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.26 0.010.07
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.390.540.090.2

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Canard colvert est l'ancêtre de presque toutes les races de canard domestiques et, ayant été introduit dans de nombreux milieux urbains, le canard le plus connu du public à travers le monde. Il est également le canard le plus commun dans l'ensemble de son aire de répartition naturelle mondiale, qui englobe une bonne partie de l'hémisphère nord (Drilling et coll. 2002). Il réside en Amérique du Nord, parcourt des distances courtes à moyennes pendant sa migration, se reproduit dans les parties septentrionales et centrales du continent et hiverne aussi loin au sud que le nord du Mexique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Canard colvert est un oiseau nicheur répandu en Colombie-Britannique, affichant des grappes distinctes de reproduction dans l'écoprovince de la dépression de Géorgie, les systèmes des zones humides Chilcotin-Cariboo et Thompson-Nicola-Okanagan, le sillon des montagnes Rocheuses du sud et les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix. L'aire de répartition n'a pas beaucoup changé depuis la parution de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990, période durant laquelle le centre d'abondance était le bassin Chilcotin-Cariboo dans l'écoprovince du Centre intérieur. Les données relatives aux probabilités d'observation et à l'abondance de l'Atlas suggèrent que la dépression de Géorgie et les fjords côtiers adjacents des écoprovinces des Côtes et montagnes sont désormais semblables. Le Canard colvert est présent sur une vaste tranche d'altitude, mais est plus abondant en dessous de 500 m.

Le Canard colvert se sent à l'aise dans tous les types de terres humides d'eau douce, des étangs urbains artificiels aux lacs naturels reculés et aux cours d'eau à faible débit. Il niche dans une grande variété d'habitats, des forêts et des marais de quenouilles aux abords des piscines dans les parcs urbains occupés (Typha latifolia), installant habituellement son nid sur le sol, sur une plateforme ou près de la base d'un arbre et dissimulant le nid avec de la végétation. La saison de nidification du Canard colvert est inhabituellement longue, et peut s'étendre de février à novembre sur la côte sud de la Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations Il n'y a pas d'importantes préoccupations en matière de conservation en Colombie-Britannique pour ce canard résilient qui s'adapte bien. Sa préférence pour des terres humides à basse altitude peut augmenter la vulnérabilité des nicheurs intérieurs si la taille et le nombre des terres humides dans les régions intérieures sèches diminuent à la suite de changements climatiques prévus (Bunnell et coll. 2013). Il est le gibier le plus important en Colombie-Britannique; ici et ailleurs, la chasse est gérée de façon efficace (Campbell et coll. 1990, Drilling et coll. 2002).

Peter J.A. Davidson

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Canard colvert dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=MALL&lang=fr [20 oct. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley