Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Merlin, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Breeding evidence - Merlin
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Merlin
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Merlin
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Merlin
Falco columbarius
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1494 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
117 125 356 85
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.77 (2.39 - 7.27)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 3.08 (1.65 - 4.35)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.110.01 0.080.06 0.05
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.110.04 0.010.06 0.05
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.060.06 0.08  0.05

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.020.050.09
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.04 0.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.11 0.03 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.060.110.050.06

Characteristics and Range The Merlin is a small falcon of forested areas with openings, which tends to call frequently with a loud, shrill "kee kee kee" around the nest, and is consequently often easily observed in breeding habitat. The Merlin was formerly called the Pigeon Hawk because it can resemble a pigeon in flight. It is sexually dimorphic like most raptors, with the brown female larger than the slaty-blue male. The Merlin breeds throughout the northern forests and prairie habitats of Europe, Asia and North America, generally migrating short to medium distances south to winter. Two of 3 North American sub-species breed in British Columbia: the darker "Black Merlin" (F. c. suckleyi) is largely resident in the more humid Pacific Northwest regions and the paler, migratory "Boreal" or "Taiga Merlin" ( F. c. columbarius) breeds in the drier interior (Warkentin et al. 2005).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Atlas survey results demonstrate that the Merlin occupies a similarly large breeding distribution now to that known when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, but with more extensive breeding season records particularly in the north. These latter records are likely due to the greater survey effort during the period of the Atlas.

The Merlin is nowhere numerous in British Columbia, but the higher Probability of Observation values are on the plateaus of the Sub-Boreal Interior and Central Interior ecoprovinces, in the Peace and Fort Nelson river lowlands in the Boreal Plains and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces, and along the major river valleys of the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces. The Merlin is a bird of low to mid-elevations, and most frequently encountered below 750 m, although it breeds up to 1500 m in the Central Interior.

In British Columbia, the Merlin breeds in many coniferous and deciduous forest types with nearby water and open spaces, including urban areas. The high breeding frequency in urban areas is a recent phenomenon and represents a significant change in the province over the last 40 years (Cannings 2015). Nests are typically in coniferous trees such as spruces (Picea), pines (Pinus), and Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii), and uncommonly in deciduous trees such as poplar (Populus) species. Merlins usually use the abandoned nests of other bird species such as crows, ravens, magpies, or hawks, but occasionally will nest in large cavities excavated by Pileated Woodpeckers, or on cliffs (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations The Merlin has recovered from the pesticide-related declines that impacted birds of prey across North America in much of the middle and latter parts of the 20th Century, and Breeding Bird Survey data in British Columbia and Canada show a strongly increasing population trend since 1970 (Environment Canada 2014). While the Merlin may continue to be susceptible to environmental contaminants such as pesticides and the loss of large trees in some nesting habitats, its recent population increases in urban areas suggest that it will likely continue to persist with healthy populations.

Brian Starzomski

Recommended citation: Starzomski, B. 2015. Merlin in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=MERL&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Faucon émerillon, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Indices de nidification - Faucon émerillon
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Faucon émerillon
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Faucon émerillon
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Faucon émerillon
Falco columbarius

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1494 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
117 125 356 85
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.77 (2.39 - 7.27)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 3.08 (1.65 - 4.35)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.110.01 0.080.06 0.05
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.110.04 0.010.06 0.05
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.060.06 0.08  0.05

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.020.050.09
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.04 0.08
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.11 0.03 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.060.110.050.06

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le faucon émerillon est un petit faucon des régions boisées à ouvertures qui a tendance à pousser fréquemment son cri fort et strident de « kikiki » autour de son nid et est donc plus facile à observer plus fréquemment dans son habitat de reproduction. En anglais, il est surnommé « merlin ». Différents écrivains de fiction et spécialistes de la légende arthurienne n'ont pas manqué de souligner une analogie entre cet oiseau et Merlin l'enchanteur. Comme la majorité des rapaces, il existe un dimorphisme sexuel chez cette espèce puisque la femelle gris-roux est plus large et plus lourde que le mâle gris-bleu. Le faucon émerillon se reproduit partout dans les habitats de forêts nordiques et de prairies de l'Europe, de l'Asie et de l'Amérique du Nord et migre généralement de courtes à moyennes distances vers le sud vers ses aires d'hivernage. Deux des trois sous-espèces de l'Amérique du Nord se reproduisent en Colombie-Britannique : le « faucon émerillon de Suckley » plus foncé (F. c. suckleyi) réside principalement dans les régions plus humides du Pacific Northwest et l'espèce nominale plus pâle et migratoire (F. c. columbarius) se reproduit dans les terres intérieures plus sèches (Warkentin et coll. 2005).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Les résultats des relevés de l'Atlas ont démontré une répartition de la reproduction aussi vaste que celle connue lorsque l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1990; l'Atlas offre toutefois des relevés plus denses pour la saison de reproduction, en particulier dans le nord. Ces derniers relevés ont probablement été obtenus grâce à l'intensification des efforts durant la période de l'Atlas.

Le Faucon émerillon ne se trouve nulle part en grand nombre en Colombie-Britannique; cependant, les valeurs de probabilité d'observation les plus élevées sont notées sur les plateaux des écoprovinces Intérieur subboréal et Intérieur centre, dans les basses terres des rivières de la Paix et Fort Nelson dans les écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga, et le long des principales vallées riveraines des écoprovinces Intérieur sud et Montagnes intérieures du sud. Le Faucon émerillon est un oiseau de basse à moyenne altitude, et observé le plus souvent à une altitude inférieure à 750 m, bien qu'il puisse nicher jusqu'à 1 500 m d'altitude dans l'Intérieur centre.

En Colombie-Britannique, le Faucon émerillon niche dans de nombreux types de forêts de conifères et de feuillus situées près de plans d'eau et d'espaces ouverts, y compris dans des régions urbaines. La fréquence élevée de sa reproduction dans les zones urbaines est un phénomène récent et a représenté un changement important dans la province au cours des 40 dernières années (Cannings 2015). Ses nids se trouvent habituellement dans des conifères tels que l'épicéa (Picea), le pin (Pinus), et le douglas vert (Pseudotsuga menziesii), et plus rarement dans des feuillus tels que le peuplier (Populus). Le Faucon émerillon utilise généralement les nids abandonnés d'autres espèces d'oiseaux comme le corbeau, le grand corbeau, la pie bavarde ou l'épervier, mais nichera occasionnellement dans de grandes cavités creusées par le grand pic, ou sur des falaises (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations Les populations de faucon émerillon se sont remises des déclins causés par les pesticides qui ont eu des répercussions sur toutes les populations de rapaces de l'Amérique du Nord au cours de la majorité du milieu et des années plus tardifs du 20e siècle. On observe de hautes tendances d'augmentation depuis 1970 pour les populations canadiennes et de la Colombie-Britannique d'après les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (Environnement Canada 2014). Bien que le faucon émerillon continue d'être sensible aux contaminants de l'environnement comme les pesticides et à la perte de grands arbres dans certains de ses habitats de nidification, les augmentations récentes de ses populations de régions urbaines sous-entendent que l'espèce continuera probablement de persister avec des populations viables.

Brian Starzomski

Citation recommandée: Starzomski, B. 2015. Faucon émerillon dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=MERL&lang=fr [04 juil. 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley