Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Nashville Warbler, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Nashville Warbler
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Nashville Warbler
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Nashville Warbler
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Nashville Warbler
Oreothlypis ruficapilla
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
12 - 1656 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
65 108 335 256
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.44 (2.17 - 17.6)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 1.18 (-0.138 - 8.19)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.190.13 0.08
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.130.08 0.2  0.07

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.13 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.070.020.15
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.23 0.1 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.1  0.07

Characteristics and Range The sprightly Nashville Warbler is a medium to long-distance migrant and unique among North American warblers in having two widely separated breeding populations, one in the east spanning the Canadian Shield and Appalachian Mountains, the other in the west in the Cascades, Rocky Mountains and Sierra Nevada (Lowther and Williams 2011). It winters in the Mexican Sierra Madre and Central America, including the Pacific Slope of Mexico. Its wintering range overlaps with two closely related warblers of dry wooded country: the Virginia's Warbler (O. virginiae) and the Colima Warbler (O. crissalis), which some believe may be conspecific with Nashville Warbler (Curson et coll. 1994, Lowther and Williams 2011).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Breeding is mostly confined to areas east of the Coast Mountains and south of 52░N, extending into some lower valleys of the southern Coast Mountains. This distribution has changed little since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001, except that no birds were found on Vancouver Island during the Atlas. Isolated possible Atlas breeding locations were noted just south of 56░N, in the Nass and Peace River drainages.

The probability of observing a Nashville Warbler reflects the clusters in distribution, and is highest in the valley systems of the West Kootenay and the Fraser River south of Chilcotin Junction, the North Thompson drainage and the South Okanagan. Point count data confirm that the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces still support the core of the provincial population, which occurs in highest abundance in the Interior Douglas-fir and Interior Cedar-Hemlock biogeoclimatic zones, and from 250-750 m, with abundance values tailing off steeply above that elevation. This expands somewhat on Campbell et al. (2001), who noted most breeding evidence was from 350-450 m, but that breeding was suspected up to 1,000 m.

The Nashville Warbler nests on or close to the ground in mixed or coniferous forests with an open canopy and a shrubby understory. Open, deciduous shrub-covered hillsides and riparian margins are also used. Typical shrubs include Saskatoon (Amelanchier alnifolia), Lewis's Mock-orange (Philadelphus lewisii), Ocean Spray (Holodiscus discolor), alder (Alnus) and willow (Salix) species, and Chokecherry (Prunus virginiana).

Conservation and Recommendations Nashville Warblers are not of conservation concern in British Columbia, where global responsibility for conservation stewardship is low and Breeding Bird Survey data suggest an increasing population trend, albeit with low reliability. The species' ability to adapt to second-growth forests, cleared areas with shrub growth, and other recovering disturbed sites suggests that specific conservation strategies in British Columbia may not be warranted.

Rick Howie

Recommended citation: Howie, R. 2015. Nashville Warbler in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NAWA&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Paruline à joues grises, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Paruline à joues grises
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Paruline à joues grises
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Paruline à joues grises
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Paruline à joues grises
Oreothlypis ruficapilla

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
12 - 1656 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
65 108 335 256
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 4.44 (2.17 - 17.6)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 1.18 (-0.138 - 8.19)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.190.13 0.08
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.130.08 0.2  0.07

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.13 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.070.020.15
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.23 0.1 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.1  0.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La vivace Paruline à joues grises est un oiseau migrateur qui parcourt des distances qui vont de moyennes à grandes et elle est unique parmi les parulines d'Amérique du Nord parce qu'elle compte deux populations nicheuses largement séparées, l'une dans l'est qui occupe le Bouclier canadien et les Appalaches, l'autre dans l'ouest dans les monts Cascades, les montagnes Rocheuses et la Sierra Nevada (Lowther et Williams 2011). Elle hiverne dans la Sierra Madre mexicaine et en Amérique centrale, y compris sur le versant pacifique du Mexique. Son aire d'hivernage chevauche celle de deux parulines qui sont étroitement apparentées et qui habitent un paysage boisé et sec : la Paruline de Virginia (O. virginiae) et la Paruline de Colima (O. crissalis), dont certains pensent qu'elle est conspécifique de la Paruline à joues grises (Curson et coll. 1994, Lowther et Williams 2011).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Pendant la période de relevé de l'Atlas, la nidification était surtout restreinte à des zones à l'est des montagnes côtières et au sud du 52° N, et s'étendait dans quelques basses vallées des montagnes côtières du sud. Cette distribution a peu changé depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia, sauf qu'aucun oiseau n'a été trouvé sur l'île de Vancouver pendant la période de relevé de l'Atlas. D'éventuels lieux de reproduction isolés de l'Atlas ont été relevés juste au sud du 56° N, dans les bassins de drainage des rivières Nass et de la Paix.

La probabilité d'observer une paruline à joues grises rendait compte des grappes de distribution et était la plus forte dans les systèmes de vallées de la rivière West Kootenay et du fleuve Fraser au sud de Chilcotin Junction, le bassin de drainage de la rivière North Thompson et le sud de l'Okanagan. Les données du dénombrement par point ont confirmé que les écoprovinces Intérieur nord et Montagnes intérieures du sud abritent toujours le gros de la population provinciale, don?t la plus forte abondance se trouve dans les zones géoclimatiques intérieures à douglas et à thuya et pruches, et entre 250 et 750 mètres, les valeurs d'abondance fléchissant rapidement au-dessus de cette altitude. Ceci étoffe quelque peu Campbell et coll. (2001), qui ont relevé que la plupart des preuves de nidification provenaient de 350 à 450 mètres, mais que l'on soupçonnait une nidification jusqu'à 1 000 mètres.

La Paruline à joues grises niche sur le sol ou près de celui-ci dans des forêts mixtes ou de conifères, avec une canopée ouverte et un sous-étage frutescent. Elle occupe également des flancs de colline dégagés couverts d'arbustes à feuilles caduques et des bords riverains. Les arbustes typiques comprennent l'Amélanchier à feuilles d'aulne (Amelanchier alnifolia), le Seringat de Lewis (Philadelphus lewisii), l'Holodisque discolore (Holodiscus discolor), des espèces d'aulnes (Alnus) et de saules (Salix) et le Cerisier de Virginie (Prunus virginiana).

Conservation et recommandations La Parulines à joues grises n'est pas préoccupante sur le plan de la conservation en Colombie-Britannique, où la responsabilité mondiale pour l'intendance de conservation est faible, et les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs donnent à penser que la tendance de la population est à la hausse, mais sans grande fiabilité. La capacité de l'espèce à s'adapter aux forêts de seconde venue, aux zones déboisées dans lesquelles poussent des arbustes, et à d'autres sites perturbés en cours de rétablissement donne à penser que des stratégies de conservation particulières ne sont peut-être pas justifiées en Colombie-Britannique.

Rick Howie

Citation recommandée: Howie, R. 2015. Paruline à joues grises dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NAWA&lang=fr [07 déc. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley