Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Northern Pygmy-Owl, Dusty Veideman
Photo © Dusty Veideman

Photo: Dusty Veideman
Breeding evidence - Northern Pygmy-Owl
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Northern Pygmy-Owl
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Northern Pygmy-Owl
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Northern Pygmy-Owl
Glaucidium gnoma
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1479 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue (swarthi subspecies)
Global importance
of B.C. population:
5
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
12 52 196 21
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.39 (-5.56 - 3.29)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -1.52 (-5.93 - 2.92)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.0 0.050.04 0.07
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
   0.00.09 0.1
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.010.07 0.05  0.05

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.0 0.1
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.070.06 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.06 0.01 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.03  0.08

Characteristics and Range Its diminutive size and diurnal habitats make the Northern Pygmy-Owl unique among the owl fauna of British Columbia. Despite its size, it is a fierce predator on birds and small mammals, often taking prey larger than itself. It is easily recognized by its round owl face, small size and relatively long tail. A pair of spots on the back of the head mimics large eyes, perhaps leading other birds to think that it is keeping an eye on them even when looking away. A calling pygmy-owl will often attract a large, agitated flock of small birds; this mobbing effect has led to the practice of many birders to whistle like a pygmy-owl while in a quiet forest, thus bringing out many chickadees, nuthatches and other small birds that might have otherwise gone unseen. The Northern Pygmy-Owl is resident in the western cordilleras of North America from southeastern Alaska and northwestern British Columbia south to Central America. There is no evidence of latitudinal migration but individuals often descend to valley bottoms in winter.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Northern Pygmy-Owls are found throughout the forests of British Columbia, except absent from Haida Gwaii and the Taiga Plains. The overall distribution is very similar to that reported by The Birds of British Columbia in 1990. The cluster of reports on northern Vancouver Island comes from targeted surveys, and may account for the higher Probability of Observation there. The data are too sparse to reveal details of altitudinal or habitat preferences; the species is found in all forest types within its British Columbia range, but generally prefers more open forests (Holt and Peterson 2000). Population density is almost surely lower in the northern half of the province. The lack of records from valley bottoms in the Lower Mainland is probably a result of forest clearing and urbanization in that area.

Pygmy-owls feed on a wide variety of small prey, especially small rodents and songbirds, and nest in tree cavities excavated by woodpeckers (Campbell et al. 1990, Holt and Peterson 2000).

Conservation and Recommendations The Blue-listed subspecies G. g. swarthi is endemic to Vancouver Island. Breeding Bird Survey results suggest that Northern Pygmy-Owl populations have declined in Canada since 1973, but data are few, so there is low confidence in this trend calculation. Logging practices that remove snags from the landscape can exclude pygmy-owls from those areas because of the owls' need for woodpecker cavities for nesting (Holt and Peterson 2000).

Richard J. Cannings

Recommended citation: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Northern Pygmy-Owl in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NPOW&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Chevêchette des Rocheuses, Dusty Veideman
Photo © Dusty Veideman

Photo: Dusty Veideman
Indices de nidification - Chevêchette des Rocheuses
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Chevêchette des Rocheuses
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Chevêchette des Rocheuses
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Chevêchette des Rocheuses
Glaucidium gnoma

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1479 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue (swarthi subspecies)
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
5
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
12 52 196 21
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.39 (-5.56 - 3.29)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -1.52 (-5.93 - 2.92)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.0 0.050.04 0.07
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
   0.00.09 0.1
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.010.07 0.05  0.05

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.0 0.1
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.070.06 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.06 0.01 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.03  0.08

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La petite taille et l'habitat diurne de la chevêchette des Rocheuses font en sore qu'elle est unique parmi la faune des hiboux de la Colombie-Britannique. Malgré sa petite taille, elle est un prédateur féroce d'oiseaux et de petits mammifères, prenant des proies plus larges qu'elle-même. Elle est facile à reconnaître par son visage de hibou rond, sa petite taille et sa queue relativement longue. Une paire de taches derrière sa tête imitent de grands yeux, portant probablement les autres oiseaux à croire qu'elle les observe même lorsqu'elle regarde de l'autre direction. Le cri d'une chevêchette des Rocheuses attirera une grande volée agitée de petits oiseaux : cet effet de houspillage a entraîné la pratique de nombreux observateurs d'oiseaux à siffler comme une chevêchette des Rocheuses lorsqu'ils se retrouvent dans une forêt calme, attirant ainsi de nombreuses mésanges, de sittelles et d'autres petits oiseaux qui auraient été restés cachés. La chevêchette des Rocheuses est un résident permanent des cordillères de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, du sud-est de l'Alaska et du nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique à l'Amérique Centrale. Il n'existe aucune indication de migration latitudinale, mais des individus descendent souvent dans le fond des vallées en hiver.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Chevêchette naine est présente dans toutes les forêts de la Colombie-Britannique, mais est toutefois absente de l'archipel Haida Gwaii et des Plaines de la Taïga. Sa distribution générale est très similaire à celle indiquée par The Birds of British Columbia en 1990. La grappe d'enregistrements dans le nord de l'île de Vancouver résulte de relevés ciblés, et peut expliquer en partie les valeurs de probabilité d'observation plus élevées à cet endroit. Les données sont trop rares pour pouvoir tirer des conclusions sur les preférences d'altitudes ou d'habitats; l'espèce est observée dans tous les types de forêts de son aire en Colombie-Britannique, mais elle prefère généralement les forêts plus ouvertes (Holt et Peterson 2000). La densité de population est presque certainement plus basse dans la partie nord de la province. Le manque de relevés dans les fonds de vallée dans les basses terres continentales résulte probablement du déboisement et de l'urbanisation dans cette région.

La Chevêchette naine se nourrit d'une grande variété de petites proies, en particulier des petits rongeurs et oiseaux chanteurs, et elle niche dans des cavités d'arbres creusées par des pics (Campbell et coll. 1990, Holt et Peterson 2000).

Conservation et recommandations L'espèce se trouvant sur la liste bleue, G. swarthi, est endémique à l'île de Vancouver. Les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs sous-entendent que les populations de chevêchette des Rocheuses sont en déclin depuis 1973 au Canada, mais les données sont peu nombreuses ce qui rend le calcul de cette tendance peu fiable. Les méthodes d'exploitation forestière qui éliminent les chicots de branches du paysage peuvent exclure la chevêchette des Rocheuses de ces régions puisque ces hiboux ont besoin de cavités de pics pour la nidification (Holt et Peterson 2000).

Richard J. Cannings

Citation recommandée: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Chevêchette des Rocheuses dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NPOW&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley