Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Pacific Wren, Jess Findlay
Photo © Jess Findlay

Photo: Jess Findlay
Breeding evidence - Pacific Wren
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Pacific Wren
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Pacific Wren
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Pacific Wren
Troglodytes pacificus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 2174 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
N/A
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
216 362 1124 832
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.57 (-3.58 - -0.348)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.56 (-3.57 - -0.346)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.080.02 0.140.13 0.43
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.080.09 0.010.27 0.13
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.150.07 0.11  0.55

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.10.05 0.22
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.370.490.130.17
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.09 0.110.16
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.070.050.12

Characteristics and Range The Pacific Wren, one of our smallest songbirds, never fails to impress when it sings its astonishingly loud, long and complex song. Even more impressive is that it has been estimated that a male may have a repertoire of over one hundred songs (Van Horne 1995). This song is a familiar sound in many of British Columbia's forests. The Pacific Wren was recently split from the similar Winter Wren, which replaces it from northeastern British Columbia across eastern North America. A narrow area of overlap in British Columbia was important in the study that separated the two species due to differences in song types and appearance (Toews and Irwin 2008). Pacific Wren songs are higher pitched and more staccato than those of the Winter Wren. The Pacific Wren's range extends from coastal Alaska south to southern California, and east through the Rocky Mountains (Toews and Irwin 2012).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Pacific Wren is widespread across southern and central British Columbia except on the driest interior plateaus. Our knowledge of the species' range in northern British Columbia is improved by the Atlas, and the northeastern extent of the range in British Columbia clarified to reach its limit in the eastern foothills of the Rocky Mountains adjacent to the Peace River lowlands, where it overlaps with Winter Wren (Toews and Irwin 2008). Records of Pacific or Winter Wren reported to the Atlas without sufficiently robust supporting identification information are omitted from the Atlas. In the aforementioned zone of overlap, records with doubt regarding the identification of the wren species were omitted from analyses, but are available in the Atlas dataset.

Probability of Observation and Atlas point count data show the main centre of abundance is in the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince, including island systems, and secondarily the Georgia Depression, where Campbell et al. (1997) indicated that the highest numbers of Pacific (then Winter) Wren occurred. Other areas of moderate abundance based on Atlas data include wetter areas of the Sub-Boreal Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces.

In most of British Columbia it is a widespread inhabitant of most forests, particularly older and moister forest types, especially in the Coastal Western Hemlock biogeoclimatic zone. The species is most abundant at lower elevations (below 250 m), also a finding of Waterhouse et al. (2002a). In drier parts of British Columbia the species is found in riparian forests.

Conservation and Recommendations This species is at its highest densities in wetter and older forests with considerable structure in terms of logs, snags and debris on the forest floor. Some studies indicate that younger forest stands can be useful to the species where these characters are retained or created (Waterhouse et al. 2002b). Harvested forest stands are less suitable (Bryant et al. 1993, Waterhouse and Harestad 2002). British Columbia has a high global responsibility for this species and guidelines for forest operations for this species that have been developed elsewhere (Altman 1999, 2005) should be evaluated for use in this province.

David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Fraser, D.F. 2015. Pacific Wren in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PAWR&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Troglodyte de Baird, Jess Findlay
Photo © Jess Findlay

Photo: Jess Findlay
Indices de nidification - Troglodyte de Baird
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Troglodyte de Baird
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Troglodyte de Baird
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Troglodyte de Baird
Troglodytes pacificus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 2174 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
N/A
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
216 362 1124 832
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.57 (-3.58 - -0.348)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.56 (-3.57 - -0.346)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.080.02 0.140.13 0.43
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.080.09 0.010.27 0.13
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.150.07 0.11  0.55

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.10.05 0.22
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.370.490.130.17
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.09 0.110.16
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.070.050.12

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Troglodyte de Baird, l'un de nos plus petits oiseaux chanteurs, ne manque jamais d'impressionner par son chant étonnamment fort, long et complexe. Ce qui est le plus impressionnant est qu'on estime qu'un mâle peut avoir un répertoire de plus d'une centaine de chants (Van Horne 1995). Ce chant est un son bien connu dans de nombreuses forêts de la Colombie-Britannique. On a récemment fait une distinction entre le Troglodyte de Baird et le Troglodyte des forêts qui lui ressemble et le remplace du nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique jusque dans l'est de l'Amérique du Nord. Une zone de chevauchement étroite en Colombie-Britannique était importante dans l'étude qui a séparé les deux espèces en raison des différences dans les types de chant et l'apparence (Toews et Irwin 2008). Les chants du Troglodyte de Baird sont plus aigus et saccadés que ceux du Troglodyte des forêts. L'aire de répartition du Troglodyte de Baird s'étend de la côte sud de l'Alaska jusque dans le sud de la Californie, ainsi qu'à l'est à travers les montagnes Rocheuses (Toews et Irwin 2012).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Troglodyte de Baird est répandu dans le sud et le centre de la Colombie-Britannique, sauf dans les plateaux intérieurs les plus secs. Nous connaissons mieux l'aire de répartition de l'espèce dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique grâce à l'Atlas, qui précise que l'extrémité nord de l'aire de répartition dans la Colombie-Britannique atteint sa limite dans les contreforts orientaux des montagnes Rocheuses adjacentes aux basses terres de la rivière de la Paix, où son territoire chevauche celui du Troglodyte des forêts (Toews et Irwin 2008). En l'absence de solides renseignements à l'appui liés à l'identification d'individus, l'Atlas omet les mentions du Troglodyte de Baird ou du Troglodyte des forêts qui lui sont signalées. Dans la zone de chevauchement susmentionnée, les mentions qui ne permettent pas d'identifier assurément les espèces de troglodyte ont été exclues des analyses, mais sont disponibles dans l'ensemble de données de l'Atlas.

Les données relatives aux probabilités d'observation et aux dénombrements ponctuels de l'Atlas indiquent que le principal centre d'abondance se situe dans l'écoprovince des Côtes et montagnes, incluant les systèmes insulaires, et en second lieu la dépression de Géorgie où Campbell et coll. (1997) ont indiqué que l'on y observait le plus grand nombre de Troglodytes de Baird (puis de Troglodytes des forêts). D'autres régions d'abondance modérée fondées sur les données de l'Atlas comprennent les zones plus humides des écoprovinces de l'Intérieur subboréal et des Montagnes intérieures du sud.

Dans la majeure partie de la Colombie-Britannique, le Troglodyte de Baird est répandu dans la plupart des forêts, particulièrement dans les types de forêts plus anciennes et humides et spécialement dans la zone biogéoclimatique côtière de la pruche de l'Ouest. L'étude de Waterhouse et coll. (2002a) a également montré que l'espèce est plus abondante à de plus basses altitudes (en dessous de 250 m). Dans les parties plus sèches de la Colombie-Britannique, on trouve l'espèce dans les forêts riveraines.

Conservation et recommandations Les densités les plus élevées des populations de cette espèce se trouvent dans les forêts plus humides et anciennes ayant une structure considérable en matière de troncs, de chicots et de débris sur le sol forestier. Quelques études indiquent que des peuplements forestiers plus jeunes peuvent être utiles à l'espèce où ces caractéristiques sont conservées ou créées (Waterhouse et coll. 2002b). Les peuplements forestiers exploités lui conviennent moins (Bryant et coll. 1993, Waterhouse et Harestad 2002). La Colombie-Britannique assume une grande responsabilité mondiale de cette espèce. De plus, les recommandations des opérations forestières pour cette espèce qui ont été élaborées ailleurs (Altman 1999, 2005) devraient faire l'objet d'une évaluation en vue de leur utilisation dans cette province.

David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Fraser, D.F. 2015. Troglodyte de Baird dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PAWR&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley