Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Redhead, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Redhead
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Redhead
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Redhead
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Redhead
Aythya americana
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
329 - 1088 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
29 40 38 10
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.45 (-6.95 - 4.03)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 2.66 (0.48 - 4.89)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.330.08  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.010.17 0.33   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.5 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.2 0.01 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.13 

Characteristics and Range Sometimes confused with the slightly larger Canvasback, the Redhead is the more common breeder of the two species in British Columbia. Although females generally make their own nests, they have the distinction of regularly laying eggs in the nests of other Redheads or those of other species, especially their close relative the Canvasback. Restricted to North America, the Redhead breeds mainly in prairie potholes and marshes in southwestern Canada and western United States, with scattered disjunct populations elsewhere (Woodin and Michot 2002). Wintering birds are concentrated in coastal wetlands of the Gulf of Mexico, but can be found across much of much of western North America north to southern British Columbia.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Breeding of Redhead is concentrated in the Central Interior, Southern Interior, Southern Interior Mountains and Boreal Plains ecoprovinces, with a few records in other interior regions. The Probability of Observation map shows a similar pattern. Redhead breeding is concentrated in the 500-1,500 m elevation range. The geographical breeding distribution and elevation range from the Atlas closely match those in The Birds of British Columbia, suggesting no major change in distribution since the 1980s.

Redheads are highly flexible in diet, foraging methods and habitat (Woodin and Michot 2002). While breeding they eat aquatic invertebrates (mainly insects and snails) and the tubers, seeds and other parts of aquatic plants. They feed by diving, upending or taking food at the surface, in a wide range of aquatic habitats, generally 1-3 m deep. Females build nests over water in dense emergent vegetation, e.g., Cattail (Typha latifolia), or bulrush (Scirpus) species, usually close to open deeper water. Around Riske Creek in British Columbia, Savard et al. (1994) found no strong indicators of habitat preferences by breeding Redheads, apart from avoidance of the shallower ponds.

Conservation and Recommendations With a widespread and large population, the Redhead is not considered to be at risk. Although widely fluctuating, the continental population of the Redhead is generally above half a million breeding birds (Woodin and Michot 2002) and has averaged over 1 million birds since 2007 (CWS Waterfowl Committee 2013). There has also been some range expansion (e.g., into Alaska) during this period (Woodin and Michot 2002). The Atlas data will be useful for tracking changes in abundance or distribution of this apparently adaptable species in British Columbia.

Alan E. Burger

Recommended citation: Burger, A.E. 2015. Redhead in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=REDH&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Fuligule à tête rouge, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Fuligule à tête rouge
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Fuligule à tête rouge
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Fuligule à tête rouge
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Fuligule à tête rouge
Aythya americana

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
329 - 1088 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
29 40 38 10
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.45 (-6.95 - 4.03)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 2.66 (0.48 - 4.89)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.330.08  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.010.17 0.33   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.5 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.2 0.01 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.13 

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Parfois confondu avec le fuligule à dos blanc un peu plus grand, le fuligule à tête rouge est la plus commune des deux espèces reproductrices de la Colombie-Britannique. Bien que les femelles construisent leurs propres nids, elles se distinguent par le fait qu'elles pondent leurs oeufs dans les nids d'autres têtes rouges ou d'autres espèces, surtout ceux de leur proche parent, le fuligule à dos blanc. Restreint à l'Amérique du Nord, le fuligule à dos rouge se reproduit principalement dans des fondrières de prairies et dans les marais du sud-ouest du Canada et de l'ouest des États-Unis et on retrouve aussi des populations isolées éparpillées autre part (Woodin et Michot 2002). Les oiseaux hivernants se concentrent dans les terres humides côtières du golfe du Mexique, mais peuvent être retrouvés dans la majorité de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord jusqu'au sud de la Colombie-Britannique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La reproduction du Fuligule à tête rouge se concentre dans les écoprovinces Intérieur centre, Intérieur sud, Montagnes intérieures du sud et Plaines boréales; plusieurs relevés ayant aussi été effectués dans d'autres régions intérieures. La carte des probabilités d'observation indique un schéma similaire. La reproduction du Fuligule à tête rouge se concentre dans la plage d'altitudes de 500 à 1 500 m. La distribution géographique de sa reproduction et la plage d'altitudes indiquées dans l'Atlas correspondent de près à celles notées dans The Birds of British Columbia, ce qui donne à penser qu'il n'y a eu aucun changement dans sa distribution depuis les années 1980.

Le Fuligule à tête rouge est très souple en ce qui concerne son alimentation, ses méthodes d'alimentation et son habitat (Woodin et Michot 2002). En période de reproduction, il mange des invertébrés aquatiques (principalement des insectes et des escargots) et des tubercules, semences et d'autres parties de plantes aquatiques. Il se nourrit en plongeant, en se suspendant ou en attrapant de la nourriture à la surface, dans un vaste éventail d'habitats aquatiques, généralement de 1 à 3 m de profondeur. Les femelles construisent des nids sur l'eau dans une dense végétation émergente, p. ex., des massettes (Typha latifolia), ou des scirpes (Scirpus), généralement à proximité d'eaux libres plus profondes. Aux alentours de Riske Creek en Colombie-Britannique Savard et coll. (1994) n'ont trouvé aucun indicateur solide de ses preférences en matière d'habitat, excepté le fait que le Fuligule à tête rouge évite les étangs moins profonds.

Conservation et recommandations Avec une grande population répandue, le fuligule à tête rouge n'est pas considéré comme menacé. Bien qu'elle fluctue beaucoup, la population continentale est généralement à plus d'un demi-million d'oiseaux reproducteurs (Woodin et Michot 2002) et est d'en moyenne plus d'un million d'oiseaux depuis 2007 (Comité de la sauvagine du SCF 2013). Son territoire s'est aussi agrandi, comme en Alaska, au cours de cette période (Woodin et Michot 2002). Les données de l'Atlas seront utiles afin de suivre les changements dans l'abondance ou la répartition en Colombie-Britannique de cette espèce apparemment adaptative.

Alan E. Burger

Citation recommandée: Burger, A.E. 2015. Fuligule à tête rouge dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=REDH&lang=fr [27 févr. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley