Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Rhinoceros Auklet, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Breeding evidence - Rhinoceros Auklet
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Rhinoceros Auklet
Cerorhinca monocerata

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 46 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
4
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
7 2 33 4
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
      6.13
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    2.39  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
      11.31

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   2.39
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 11.31  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Rhinoceros Auklet breeds across the temperate North Pacific, from California to Japan, with an estimated 50% of the global population breeding on islands in British Columbia (Gaston and Deschesne 1996). Winter distribution is poorly described, although a southerly movement is generally apparent. This medium-sized, nocturnal, burrow-nesting auk, more closely related to the puffins than the auklets, is named for the prominent "horn" that develops on top of its bill during the breeding season. A generalist feeder with mouth parts adapted for catching and holding invertebrates and fish, it pursues prey using its smallish wings for underwater propulsion.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Breeding colonies occur in continental-shelf waters from the Salish Sea, along the west coast of Vancouver Island, and north to Haida Gwaii. Abundance peaks adjacent to the Central and North coasts (Campbell et al. 1990), with the largest colonies found at Pine and Storm islands in southern Queen Charlotte Sound. The species can be encountered in marine waters virtually anywhere off the British Columbia coast during the breeding season.

Breeding colonies are located mainly on remote islands that are unlikely to have human visitors. There are 8 island groups designated as Important Bird Areas in British Columbia that support breeding colonies of Rhinoceros Auklets (IBA Canada 2015); few were visited during the Atlas period, due to their remoteness. Birds are commonly encountered on the water in the vicinity of and even away from colonies; birds encountered in 10-km squares that included potential breeding habitat but no known colonies were identified as possible breeders.

The Rhinoceros Auklet breeds both on forested and non-forested islands, either under canopy or in the open. It digs nesting burrows that can be several metres long in deep, vegetated soil. The species forages mainly over the continental shelf, often in multi-species assemblages preying on sand lance and herring schools, and only rarely seaward of the shelf break.

Conservation and Recommendations British Columbia has a high global responsibility for conserving the Rhinoceros Auklet; all major colonies are afforded a high level protection in provincial ecological reserves, national parks, or conservancies. It is among the bird species most commonly caught in salmon gill-nets set off the British Columbia coast (Smith and Morgan 2005). Vulnerable to introduced predators, several colonies in British Columbia have been exterminated by Raccoons (Procyon lotor) and American Mink (Mustela vison); invasive alien predator control efforts at infected and at-risk colonies should continue. This is a sentinel species for monitoring long-term trends in marine contaminants in British Columbia (Elliott and Elliot 2013).

Mark Hipfner

Recommended citation: Hipfner, M. 2015. Rhinoceros Auklet in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RHAU&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Macareux rhinocéros, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Indices de nidification - Macareux rhinocéros
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Macareux rhinocéros
Cerorhinca monocerata

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 46 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
4
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
7 2 33 4
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
      6.13
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    2.39  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
      11.31

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   2.39
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 11.31  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Macareux rhinocéros se reproduit dans les eaux tempérées du Pacifique Nord, de la Californie au Japon, et en particulier sur les îles de la Colombie-Britannique, qui regroupent environ la moitié de la population mondiale (Gaston et Deschesne 1996). Sa répartition hivernale est mal connue, bien qu'un mouvement vers le sud soit généralement apparent. Ce macareux nocturne de taille moyenne, nichant dans des terriers, doit son nom à la « corne » qui pousse sur son bec pendant la saison des amours. Cet omnivore aux pièces buccales adaptées à la capture des invertébrés et des poissons poursuit ses proies sous l'eau en utilisant ses ailes assez petites comme propulseurs.

Répartition, abondance et habitat On trouve des colonies de nidification dans les eaux du plateau continental de la mer des Salish, le long de la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver et, au nord, aux îles Haida Gwaii. Son abondance culmine dans les environs des côtes Centrale et Nord (Campbell et coll. 1990), les plus grandes colonies se trouvant sur les îles Pine et Storm, au sud du détroit de la Reine-Charlotte. Cette espèce peut être rencontrée dans les eaux marines pratiquement n'importe où au large de la côte britanno-colombienne pendant la saison de reproduction.

Les colonies de nidification se trouvent principalement sur les îles les plus éloignées, qui sont peu susceptibles d'attirer des visiteurs. Huit archipels de la Colombie-Britannique qui sont désignés comme des zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux accueillent des colonies de Macareux rhinocéros (ZICO Canada 2015); peu d'entre ces îles ont été visitées durant la période de préparation de l'Atlas, étant donné leur éloignement. Les oiseaux sont habituellement rencontrés sur l'eau dans les environs des colonies, ou même loin de celles-ci; certains oiseaux rencontrés dans un rayon de 10 km carrés ayant un habitat potentiel de nidification mais aucune colonie connue ont été identifiés comme des nicheurs potentiels.

Le Macareux rhinocéros peut nicher sur des îles boisées ou non boisées, sous canopée ou à ciel ouvert. Il creuse des chambrettes de nidification qui peuvent couvrir plusieurs mètres de long dans les sols densément végétalisés. L'espèce cherche sa nourriture principalement sur le plateau continental, souvent en assemblages de plusieurs espèces, chassant les bancs de lançons et de harengs, et ne s'aventure que rarement au large du rebord continental.

Conservation et recommandations De façon globale, la Colombie-Britannique assume une responsabilité considérable lorsqu'il s'agit de conserver le Macareux rhinocéros. Toutes les colonies majeures bénéficient d'un niveau élevé de protection dans les réserves écologiques provinciales, les parcs nationaux ou les aires de conservation. Il s'agit d'une des espèces d'oiseaux qui se retrouvent le plus souvent dans les filets maillants pour saumons qu'on installe au large des côtes de la Colombie-Britannique (Smith et Morgan 2005). Plusieurs colonies vulnérables aux prédateurs introduits ont été exterminées par le raton laveur (Procyon lotor) et le vison d'Amérique (Mustela vison); les efforts de lutte contre les espèces envahissantes prédatrices au sein des colonies infestées et en péril devraient se poursuivre. Il s'agit là d'une espèce sentinelle afin de surveiller les tendances à long terme des contaminants marins en Colombie-Britannique (Elliott et Elliot 2013).

Mark Hipfner

Citation recommandée: Hipfner, M. 2015. Macareux rhinocéros dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RHAU&lang=fr [07 déc. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley