Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Red-tailed Hawk, Mike Yip
Photo © Mike Yip

Photo: Mike Yip
Breeding evidence - Red-tailed Hawk
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Red-tailed Hawk
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Red-tailed Hawk
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Red-tailed Hawk
Buteo jamaicensis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1835 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
261 242 1054 348
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.05 (0.502 - 3.55)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.808 (0.246 - 1.33)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.070.03 0.10.07 0.07
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.070.03 0.020.07 0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.080.07 0.1  0.07

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.080.030.090.05
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.080.070.07
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.12 0.08 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.090.060.070.07

Characteristics and Range The Red-tailed Hawk is one of the most common birds of prey in British Columbia, and has one of the most recognizable calls of any bird: a high-pitched scream that has become a symbol of rural and wilderness areas. The "red-tail" is a large hawk, both a sit-and-wait ambush predator that perches on roadside light standards, fence posts, or trees; and a soaring hunter that is a familiar sight floating on thermals above open areas. Its range includes virtually all of North America south of the treeline (Preston and Beane 2009). Across the northern part of this range, including much of British Columbia, it is a breeding visitor, migrating short distances south to overwinter. Three of the twelve subspecies occur in British Columbia: the distinctive dark Harlan's Hawk B. j. harlani, which breeds in the far north and is considered by some to be a distinct species; B. j. alascensis of coastal regions; and the most widespread, B. j. calurus of the interior.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Red-tailed Hawks are widespread across southern, central and northeastern British Columbia, but more sparsely distributed in coastal and northern regions. The range has not changed appreciably since The Birds of British Columbia was published, but the Atlas surveys have filled many breeding season distribution gaps, especially in central-northern regions of the province. The densest clusters of records are in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince, the dry interior, the valleys of southeastern British Columbia, the more open areas of the central interior, and the Peace River lowlands.

The highest Probability of Observation for Red-tailed Hawks is in the Boreal and Taiga Plains, Southern Interior, and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces. Atlas point count data, however, suggest PObs values are not a consistent proxy for abundance of Red-tailed Hawks, with low abundance on point counts across the Boreal and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces. Highest abundance was in the Southern Interior, Southern Interior Mountains, and Central Interior ecoprovinces, a change from Campbell et al. (1990) who considered it to reach its highest breeding density in the Fraser Lowlands. It is least common as a breeder in regions like Haida Gwaii, Vancouver Island, and the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince.

The Red-tailed Hawk appears to be slightly more common at lower elevation (250-500 m, corresponding to the altitude of valley floors in the southern interior), although it breeds across a wide elevation range in many habitats.

Conservation and Recommendations Red-tailed Hawk populations in British Columbia and Canada have shown a healthy long-term increase as indicated by Breeding Bird Survey data (Environment Canada 2014). This is another species that has benefited from land clearing across North America over the last 200 years, clearing that created a mix of open grassland (for hunting) and nearby woodlands (for nesting). Some Red-tailed Hawks have even adapted to breed in suburban and urban environments (Preston and Beane 2009), and often successfully overwinter in these areas. Threats may include lead poisoning due to ingestion of shot when feeding on carrion, pesticide use in agricultural regions, and collisions with high-voltage transmission lines.

Brian Starzomski

Recommended citation: Starzomski, B. 2015. Red-tailed Hawk in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RTHA&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Buse à queue rousse, Mike Yip
Photo © Mike Yip

Photo: Mike Yip
Indices de nidification - Buse à queue rousse
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Buse à queue rousse
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Buse à queue rousse
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Buse à queue rousse
Buteo jamaicensis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1835 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
261 242 1054 348
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.05 (0.502 - 3.55)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 0.808 (0.246 - 1.33)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.070.03 0.10.07 0.07
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.070.03 0.020.07 0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.080.07 0.1  0.07

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.080.030.090.05
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.080.070.07
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.12 0.08 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.090.060.070.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La buse à queue rousse est l'un des rapaces les plus communs au Canada et possède l'un des cris les plus reconnaissables au Canada : un cri aigu qui est devenu un symbole des régions rurales et sauvages. La buse à queue rousse est un grand faucon, un chasseur à l'affût qui se perche sur les lampadaires, les poteaux de clôtures ou les branches d'arbres et un chasseur en envol qui est régulièrement aperçu flottant sur les courants thermiques au-dessus des espaces ouverts. Son territoire comprend presque toute l'Amérique du Nord au sud de la lisière des arbres (Preston et Beane 2009). Dans la partie nordique de son territoire, comprenant la majorité de la Colombie-Britannique, il est un visiteur reproducteur, migrant vers le sud de courtes distances afin d'y hiverner. Trois des douze sous-espèces sont retrouvées en Colombie-Britannique : la distincte et foncée buse de Harlan (B. j. harlani) qui se reproduit dans le Grand Nord et est considéré par certain comme étant une espèce séparée; B. j. alascensis des régions côtières; et la plus répandue, B. j. calurus dans l'intérieur.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Buse à queue rousse est répandue dans tout le sud, le centre et le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique, mais est répartie de façon plus éparse dans les régions côtières et du nord. Son aire n'a pas changé de façon notable depuis la publication de l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia; toutefois, les relevés de l'Atlas ont comblé de nombreuses lacunes quant à la distribution de la saison de reproduction, en particulier dans les régions du centre-nord de la province. Les grappes de relevés les plus denses sont observées dans l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia, l'intérieur sec, les vallées du sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique, les régions plus ouvertes de l'intérieur centre et les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix.

Les écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga, Intérieur sud et Montagnes intérieures du sud affichent la probabilité d'observation la plus élevée pour la Buse à queue rousse. Les données des dénombrements par point de l'Atlas semblent démontrer toutefois que les valeurs des Pobs ne permettent pas d'effectuer une approximation consistante de l'abondance de la Buse à queue rousse, laquelle est faible lors des dénombrements par point dans les écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga. L'abondance la plus forte a été notée dans les écoprovinces Intérieur sud, Montagnes intérieures du sud et Intérieur centre, ce qui représente une variation par rapport à ce qu'avaient indiqué Campbell et coll. (1990) qui étaient d'avis que la plus grande densité de cet oiseau nicheur se trouvait dans les basses terres du Fraser. L'espèce est moins commune en tant qu'oiseau nicheur dans des régions telles que Haida Gwaii, l'île de Vancouver et l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du nord.

La Buse à queue rousse semble être légèrement plus commune à des altitudes plus basses (de 250 à 500 m, ce qui correspond à l'altitude des fonds de vallée dans l'intérieur sud), bien qu'elle niche dans une vaste plage d'altitudes, dans de nombreux habitats.

Conservation et recommandations Les populations de buse à queue rousse de la Colombie-Britannique et au Canada ont démontré une augmentation saine à long terme comme indiqué par le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (Environnement Canada 2014). Ceci est une autre espèce qui a bénéficié du défrichage dans l'ensemble de l'Amérique du Nord au cours des dernières 200 années et ces activités ont créé un mélange de prairies ouvertes (pour la chasse) et de régions boisées rapprochées (pour la nidification). Les buses à queue rousse se sont adaptées à se reproduire dans des environnements suburbains et urbains (Preston et Beane 2009) et réussissent souvent à hiverner dans ces régions. Les menaces peuvent comprendre l'empoisonnement au plomb causé par l'ingestion de chevrotines lorsque les oiseaux se nourrissent de charogne, l'utilisation de pesticides dans les régions agricoles, et les collisions avec des lignes de transmission de haute tension.

Brian Starzomski

Citation recommandée: Starzomski, B. 2015. Buse à queue rousse dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RTHA&lang=fr [10 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley