Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Sandhill Crane, North and South Photography
Photo © North and South Photography

Photo: North and South Photography
Breeding evidence - Sandhill Crane
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Sandhill Crane
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Sandhill Crane
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Sandhill Crane
Grus canadensis
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1260 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
64 106 141 95
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 8.85 (5.22 - 12.7)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 5.67 (3.42 - 7.94)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.05 0.150.13 0.33
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
 0.14 0.020.09 0.09
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.130.14 0.15  0.37

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.05  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.33 0.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.18   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.140.1

Characteristics and Range Sandhill Cranes are one of the most dramatic and delightful birds whose spectacular migrations and prehistoric rolling call have delighted people for centuries. They are marvelous harbingers of spring as they stream overhead through British Columbia's interior valleys and north along the coast, calling through the night, a reminder that winter is nearing its end. After arriving on their traditional nesting grounds, they feed calmly before pairs disperse to breed. Sandhill Cranes can be residents or long-distance migrants within North America. The cultural significance of Sandhill Cranes is highlighted by one Haida interpretation for the name Delkatla, meaning 'place of cranes dancing'; Delkatla Wildlife Sanctuary in Haida Gwaii is one of their traditional breeding grounds.

Three migratory subspecies likely occur in British Columbia. For conservation and management purposes, they are divided into separate populations that follow traditional migratory routes: the Pacific Population that migrates up and down the Pacific Coast is comprised of Lesser Sandhill Cranes (G. c. canadensis); the Central Valley Population is mostly comprised of the interior Greater Sandhill Crane (G. c. tabida) that breed from California north to British Columbia (where it breeds in the interior, lower Fraser Valley and northern Vancouver Island); and the Mid-Continent Population that migrates across the Pacific, Central and Mississippi flyways, occurring locally in northeastern British Columbia. The Mid-Continent Population was believed to comprise a mixture of Lessers, Greaters and Canadian Sandhill Cranes (G. c. rowani), but recent genetic work has questioned the validity of the latter in this population (CFWMGBTC 2006, Gerber et al. 2014).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Sandhill Cranes are quite widespread in central, northeastern and some coastal regions of the province, and along the length of British Columbia's Rocky Mountain Trench. Atlas evidence supports the distribution known when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990 and as predicted in Gebauer (2004), except for the Skeena and Nass river basins where no breeding birds were observed during the Atlas surveys. The Central Interior (especially the wetland-studded Cariboo Plateau), Taiga Plains, Boreal Plains, and Coast and Mountain ecoprovinces all showed quite extensive areas where this crane is most likely to be found.

The areas of highest abundance of breeding Sandhill Cranes in British Columbia are Haida Gwaii and adjacent mainland areas. They are more widespread but at a lower abundance on the Central Interior plateaus and the Peace and Fort Nelson river lowlands.

Sandhill Cranes nest near river estuaries and low-lying coastal wetlands, and in the interior at low-mid elevations in undisturbed wet grasslands, freshwater bogs, marshes, meadows, muskeg and wet tundra.

Conservation and Recommendations While there were conservation concerns for some populations in the past, Sandhill Crane populations in North America have increased greatly since the 1970s, including in British Columbia; as such the species is no longer considered at risk in the province, as was the case until recently. Habitat alteration, including wetland loss and development projects, and human disturbance remain local threats; being reliant on selected breeding, staging and winter sites adds to the crane's intrinsic vulnerability. Standard surveys of core breeding areas are still needed to better determine the subspecies numbers and nesting sites in the province (Gebauer 2004).

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Recommended citation: Hearne, M.E. 2015. Sandhill Crane in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SACR&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Grue du Canada, North and South Photography
Photo © North and South Photography

Photo: North and South Photography
Indices de nidification - Grue du Canada
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Grue du Canada
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Grue du Canada
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Grue du Canada
Grus canadensis

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1260 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
64 106 141 95
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 8.85 (5.22 - 12.7)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 5.67 (3.42 - 7.94)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.05 0.150.13 0.33
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
 0.14 0.020.09 0.09
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.130.14 0.15  0.37

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.05  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.33 0.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.18   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.140.1

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La grue du Canada est l'un des oiseaux les plus spectaculaires et ravissant dont les migrations impressionnantes et le cri roulant préhistorique ont enchanté les gens pendant des siècles. Elle est une fantastique messagère du printemps puisqu'elles ruissellent dans les vallées de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique et au nord le long de la côte, criant au cours de la nuit, un rappel que l'hiver tire à sa fin. Après leur arrivée dans leur territoire de nidification traditionnel, elles se nourrissent calmement avant que les paires se dispersent pour se reproduire. La grue du Canada peut être un résident permanent ou des migrateurs de longues distances à l'intérieur de l'Amérique du Nord. L'importance culturelle de la grue du Canada est soulignée par une interprétation Haida du nom Delkatla, d'où le nom du refuge faunique Delkatla de l'archipel Haida Gwaii, qui veut dire : « lieu où les grues dansent »; ce lieu est l'une des aires de reproduction traditionnelles.

Trois sous-espèces migratoires sont probablement retrouvées en Colombie-Britannique. Aux fins de conservation et de gestion, elles sont divisées en trois populations séparées qui suivent les itinéraires migratoires traditionnels : la population du Pacifique qui migre du nord au sud de la côte Pacifique est composée de la grue du Canada naine (G. c. canadensis); la population de la vallée centrale est principalement composée de la grue du Canada géante (G. c. tabida) qui se reproduit de la Californie à la Colombie-Britannique (dans l'intérieur, la vallée du bas Fraser et le nord de l'île de Vancouver); et la population du mi-continent qui migre dans les voies migratoires du Pacifique, du Centre et du Mississippi et on la retrouve aussi dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. On croyait que la population mi-continentale était composée d'un mélange de grues du Canada (G. c. rowani), de naines et de géantes, mais des études génétiques récentes ont remis en question la validité de la première dans cette population (CFWMGBTC 2006, Gerber et coll. 2014).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Grue du Canada est assez répandue dans les régions du centre, du nord-est et dans certaines régions côtières de la province, et tout le long du sillon des Rocheuses de la Colombie-Britannique. Les éléments de preuve de l'Atlas confirment la distribution connue lorsque l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1990 et celle prédite dans Gebauer (2004), à l'exception des bassins des rivières Skeena et Nass où aucun oiseau nicheur n'a été observé durant les relevés de l'Atlas. Les écoprovinces Intérieur centre (en particulier le plateau Cariboo ponctué de zones humides), Plaines de la Taïga, Plaines boréales, et Côtes et montagnes comprennent toutes de vastes zones où il y a de fortes chances d'observer cette grue.

Les régions affichant la plus forte abondance de grues du Canada nicheuses en Colombie-Britannique sont l'archipel Haida Gwaii et les zones continentales adjacentes. Elle est plus répandue, mais de façon moins abondante dans les plateaux de l'intérieur centre et dans les basses terres de la rivière Fort Nelson.

La Grue du Canada niche près d'estuaires de rivières et dans les basses terres humides côtières, et dans l'intérieur, à des altitudes basses et moyennes, dans des prairies humides non perturbées, des tourbières d'eau douce, des marais, des prés, des fondrières et la toundra humide.

Conservation et recommandations Bien qu'il existait des préoccupations de conservation pour certaines populations dans le passé, les populations de grues du Canada en Amérique du Nord ont beaucoup augmenté depuis les années 1970, y compris en Colombie-Britannique et donc, l'espèce n'est plus considérée menacée dans la province, ce qui était le cas jusqu'à récemment. Les changements aux habitats, y compris la perte de terres humides et les projets de développement, et les perturbations humaines demeurent des menaces locales; la dépendance sur la reproduction sélective et les aires d'hivernage et de rassemblement rajoutent à la vulnérabilité intrinsèque de la grue. Les études normales d'aires de reproduction principales sont toujours nécessaires afin de mieux déterminer les nombres des populations des sous-espèces et aussi les sites de nidification de la province (Gebauer 2004).

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Citation recommandée: Hearne, M.E. 2015. Grue du Canada dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SACR&lang=fr [04 juil. 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley