Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Spotted Towhee, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Spotted Towhee
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Spotted Towhee
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Spotted Towhee
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Spotted Towhee
Pipilo maculatus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 2116 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
246 143 350 440
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.965 (0.161 - 2.12)High
Canada1973 - 2012 0.896 (0.017 - 2.13)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.220.14 0.4
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.51  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.210.03 0.22  0.15

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.120.56
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.340.080.22
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.23 0.08 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.22   

Characteristics and Range This large handsome sparrow with rusty flanks, long tail, and cat-like call is a well-known presence in gardens and parks, especially on the south coast in winter when it is commonly seen at feeders or foraging on the ground alongside its smaller relatives. In summer, its breeding range extends throughout the mountains of western North America from southern British Columbia to the uplands of Central America and includes the southernmost parts of the Canadian Prairies and the western margin of the United States Great Plains (Greenlaw 1996).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Spotted Towhee breeds across the southern third of the province, south of 52░N. Comparison of the Atlas results with The Birds of British Columbia suggest that the summer range of this species has changed little over the past 14 years. The Atlas filled gaps in distribution in parts of the southern interior, e.g., along the Fraser River, and around Shuswap Lake; these pockets of denser records may simply reflect the systematic collection of Atlas data for a fairly common species.

Probability of Observation varies with elevation. The Spotted Towhee is most likely to be found below 250 m in major valleys, and least likely to be found on the intervening uplands. It is most abundant in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince, as noted in The Birds of British Columbia and confirmed by Atlas point count data which show that abundance here is twice as high as in any other ecoprovince. Upper limits of the towhee's breeding range rise gradually eastward from 700 m near the coast to about 1,250 m in the interior, perhaps reflecting the gradual eastward rise of timberline and spring snowline. Precise upper elevation limits for Spotted Towhee are difficult to establish with certainty due to potential confusion with Hermit Thrush, which gives a very similar, cat-like mewing call. Reports of calling towhees above 1,500 m can almost certainly be attributed to this high-elevation thrush.

This species nests on the ground in dense shrubbery and thickets associated with forest edges, including clear-cuts and regenerating forest, as well as hedgerows and brushy patches in agricultural areas, parks and suburban gardens. On the coast, it is much more common in the Coastal Douglas-fir than the Coastal Western Hemlock biogeoclimatic zone. In the interior, this species prefers the Interior Douglas-fir and Interior Cedar-Hemlock biogeoclimatic zones, and Ponderosa Pine parkland in which it likely selects the narrow riparian thickets that follow gullies and small watercourses across dry hillsides.

Conservation and Recommendations Trends in the Spotted Towhee population are relatively stable, and are well captured by Breeding Bird Survey and Christmas Bird Count monitoring efforts. This species' conservation status was reassessed from unknown to provincially secure in 2010, in part due to new information from the Atlas.

J.M. Ryder

Recommended citation: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Spotted Towhee in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SPTO&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Tohi tacheté, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Tohi tacheté
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Tohi tacheté
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Tohi tacheté
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Tohi tacheté
Pipilo maculatus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 2116 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
246 143 350 440
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.965 (0.161 - 2.12)High
Canada1973 - 2012 0.896 (0.017 - 2.13)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.220.14 0.4
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.51  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.210.03 0.22  0.15

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.120.56
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.340.080.22
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.23 0.08 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.22   

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Ce grand et beau tohi aux flancs brun roux, à longue queue, et dont le cri ressemble au miaulement d'un chat, est un hôte bien connu des jardins et des parcs, particulièrement sur la côte sud en hiver, quand on le voit habituellement à des mangeoires ou en train de chercher de la nourriture au sol à côté de ses congénères de plus petite taille. En été, son aire de nidification s'étend dans toutes les montagnes de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, depuis le sud de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu'aux hautes terres de l'Amérique centrale, et englobe la partie la plus méridionale des Prairies canadiennes et le bord ouest des grandes plaines des États-Unis (Greenlaw 1996).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Tohi tacheté niche dans tout le tiers sud de la province, au sud du 52° N. La comparaison des résultats de l'Atlas avec The Birds of British Columbia donne à penser que l'aire de répartition estivale de cette espèce a peu changé au cours des 14 dernières années. L'Atlas comble des lacunes de distribution dans des parties du sud de l'intérieur, p. ex., le long du fleuve Fraser et autour du lac Shuswap; ces poches de relevés plus denses sont peut-être seulement la conséquence de la collecte systématique des données de l'Atlas pour une espèce assez commune.

La probabilité d'observation variait avec l'altitude. Il était plus probable de trouver le Tohi tacheté à moins de 250 mètres d'altitude dans la plupart des vallées, et le moins probable dans les hautes terres intermédiaires. Il était le plus abondant dans l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia, comme cela a été relevé dans The Birds of British Columbia et confirmé par les données du dénombrement par point de l'Atlas, qui ont indiqué que l'abondance à cet endroit était deux fois plus forte que dans toute autre écoprovince. Les limites supérieures de l'aire de nidification du Tohi se sont élevées progressivement vers l'est, passant de 700 mètres près de la côte jusqu'à environ 1 250 mètres dans l'intérieur, ce qui rend peut-être compte de l'élévation progressive vers l'est de la limite de végétation des arbres et de la limite printanière des neiges. Les limites précises de l'altitude maximale à laquelle vit le Tohi tacheté étaient difficiles à déterminer avec certitude, parce qu'on pouvait éventuellement le confondre avec la Grive solitaire, don?t le cri qui ressemble à un miaulement est très semblable. Les cris de tohi relevés au-dessus de 1 500 mètres peuvent presque certainement être attribués à cette grive de haute altitude.

Cette espèce niche sur le sol, dans des arbustes et des halliers denses associés à l'orée des forêts, y compris les coupes à blanc et les forêts en régénération, ainsi que dans des haies et des parcelles broussailleuses dans les régions agricoles, les parcs et les jardins suburbains. Sur la côte, elle est bien plus commune dans la zone bioclimatique côtière à douglas que dans la zone biogéoclimatique côtière à pruches de l'Ouest. Dans l'intérieur, cette espèce préfère les zones géoclimatiques intérieures à douglas et à thuya et pruches, ainsi que les forêts-parcs de pins Ponderosa dans lesquelles elle choisit probablement les étroits halliers riverains qui longent les ravins et les petits cours d'eau à travers les collines sèches.

Conservation et recommandations Les tendances de la population du Tohi tacheté sont relativement stables et il en est bien tenu compte grâce aux efforts déployés dans le cadre du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs et du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël. Le statut de conservation de cette espèce a été réévalué d'inconnu à provincialement sûr en 2010, en partie par suite des nouveaux renseignements provenant de l'Atlas.

J.M. Ryder

Citation recommandée: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Tohi tacheté dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SPTO&lang=fr [02 juil. 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley