Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Surf Scoter, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Breeding evidence - Surf Scoter
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Surf Scoter
Melanitta perspicillata

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1090 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
0 3 12 10
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1990 - 2012 -5.66 (-21.0 - 13.8)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.2      
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.2      
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.2  

Characteristics and Range The Surf Scoter is a familiar sight in winter when over half a million birds congregate along the British Columbia coast, but only a handful of these remain to breed in the province. It breeds and winters almost exclusively in North America (fewer than 100 pairs breed in northeastern Russia; BirdLife International 2014). The bulk of the population breeds in boreal regions from western Alaska to Labrador (Savard et al. 1998). Despite its abundance, relatively little is known about its breeding biology.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, breeding has been confirmed only in the Peace River district (British Columbia Conservation Data Centre 2014), where The Birds of British Columbia reported seven breeding records prior to 1990. The five years of atlassing produced no confirmed breeding records, but the species was reported from 10 locations within the Boreal Plains and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces, corresponding to the known breeding range. Two locations had probable breeding (pairs). Surf Scoters were also reported in four locations in the far northwest: a pair at one site indicated probable breeding, the other three had possible breeding evidence. The data are too sparse to reliably show changes to the breeding range within the province, but the failure to confirm breeding may correspond to the disturbing decline of this species in much of North America (Savard et al. 1998, BirdLife International 2014).

Data in Campbell et al. (1990) and the Atlas database suggest a breeding population of fewer than 100 pairs in the province; it is unlikely that a major breeding concentration has been overlooked.

The Surf Scoter breeds on small bodies of fresh water in boreal forests or tundra, where it feeds chiefly on mollusks, insects, crustaceans, worms, and plant material, captured by diving (Savard et al. 1998, BirdLife International 2014).

Conservation and Recommendations Population declines in most parts of the species range have been reported for several decades, especially among birds that winter on the Pacific Coast, although the causes for these declines are not clear (Savard et al. 1998; BirdLife International 2014). British Columbia supports an insignificant portion of the global breeding population, but it is a major wintering ground, and research to determine causes of the population decline must include this province. The species is the focus of intensive research on the wintering grounds by the Canadian Wildlife Service and Centre for Wildlife Ecology, Simon Fraser University, and other Sea Duck Joint Venture partners across North America.

Alan E. Burger

Recommended citation: Burger, A.E. 2015. Surf Scoter in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SUSC&lang=en [18 Dec 2017]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Macreuse à front blanc, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Indices de nidification - Macreuse à front blanc
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Macreuse à front blanc
Melanitta perspicillata

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1090 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
0 3 12 10
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1990 - 2012 -5.66 (-21.0 - 13.8)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.2      
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.2      
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.2  

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Macreuse à front blanc donne un spectacle familier en hiver, lorsque plus d'un demi-million d'oiseaux se rassemblent le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, mais seule une poignée de ceux-ci restent pour se reproduire dans la province. Elle se reproduit et hiverne presque exclusivement en Amérique du Nord (<100 couples nichent dans le nord-est de la Russie; BirdLife International 2014). Le gros de la population se reproduit dans les régions boréales, depuis l'ouest de l'Alaska jusqu'au Labrador (Savard et coll. 1998). Malgré son abondance, on sait relativement peu de choses sur sa biologie reproductrice.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, on n'a confirmé la reproduction que dans le district de la rivière de la Paix (B.C. Conservation Data Centre 2014), oùThe Birds of B.C. a signalé sept relevés de reproduction avant 1990. Les cinq années d'établissement de l'Atlas n'ont produit aucun relevé de reproduction confirmée, mais l'on a signalé l'espèce à 10 endroits dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales de la taïga, ce qui correspond à l'aire de reproduction connue. La reproduction a probablement eu lieu à deux endroits (couples). On a également signalé des Macreuses à front blanc à quatre endroits dans l'extrême nord-ouest (un couple à un endroit indiqué de reproduction probable), les trois autres présentaient des preuves d'une éventuelle reproduction. Les données sont trop clairsemées pour indiquer de façon fiable qu'il y a eu des changements de l'aire de nidification dans la province, mais l'absence de confirmation de la reproduction peut correspondre à l'inquiétante baisse de cette espèce dans une grande partie de l'Amérique du Nord (Savard et coll. 1998; BirdLife International 2014).

Les données dans Campbell et coll. (1990) et la base de données de l'Atlas donnent à penser qu'il y a une population nicheuse de moins de 100 couples dans la province; il est peu probable qu'une importante concentration de nidification ait été omise.

La Macreuse à front blanc se reproduit sur un de petits plans d'eau douce dans les forêts boréales ou e la toundra, où elle se nourrit principalement de mollusques, d'insectes, de crustacés, de vers et de matières végétales, qu'elle prend en plongeant (Savard et coll. 1998; BirdLife International 2014).

Conservation et recommandations On a signalé des baisses de la population dans la plupart des parties occupées par cette espèce depuis plusieurs décennies, particulièrement chez les oiseaux qui hivernent sur la côte du Pacifique, bien que les causes de ces baisses ne soient pas claires (Savard et coll. 1998; BirdLife International 2014). La Colombie-Britannique héberge une portion insignifiante de la population reproductrice mondiale, mais elle est un important terrain d'hivernage, et la recherche menée pour déterminer les causes de la diminution de la population doivent inclure cette province. L'espèce est le point de mire d'une recherche intensive sur les terrains d'hivernage menée par le Service canadien de la faune et le Centre for Wildlife Ecology de l'Université Simon Fraser et d'autres partenaires du projet conjoint sur les Canards de mer dans toute l'Amérique du Nord.

Alan E. Burger

Citation recommandée: Burger, A.E. 2015. Macreuse à front blanc dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SUSC&lang=fr [10 juil. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley