Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Upland Sandpiper, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Breeding evidence - Upland Sandpiper
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Upland Sandpiper
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Upland Sandpiper
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Upland Sandpiper
Bartramia longicauda
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
409 - 985 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
3 6 13 8
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.619 (-2.75 - 0.864)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.10.04     
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.1  0.04   
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.04  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range For prairie residents, the cryptically-coloured, dove-headed Upland Sandpiper perched on a fence post is a common sight, and its long, whistling call is a familiar sound. It is a quintessential grassland species and, unusually for a shorebird, shows no affinity for wet areas. The core of the Upland Sandpiper's breeding range is in the northern and central Great Plains. It is sparsely distributed eastward through the Great Lakes to the Atlantic Coast where remnant grasslands or other suitable habitats exist. Separate isolated populations exist farther west to Alaska (Houston et al. 2011). It is a very long-distance migrant, spending the winter in central South America.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Upland Sandpiper is found primarily in the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince in northeastern British Columbia There was one record from the Chilcotin Plateau, which probably represents a very small but persistent population, since the species has been reported from that general area several times in recent decades (e.g. Hooper 1997). Upland Sandpiper was also reported in successive years from a single 10-km square along the Liard River in the Northern Boreal Mountains. Whether this represents a southern extension of the far northwest breeding area or is merely an isolated occurrence is unknown. Interestingly, there are no Atlas records from the Fort Nelson lowlands, East Kootenay, or Okanagan areas where they have been found or suspected to nest in the past (Campbell et al. 1990, Ramsay and Cannings 2003).

The Upland Sandpiper is a rare and sparsely distributed bird in British Columbia, illustrated by the low Probabilities of Observation in the Peace River lowlands, its core range in the province. It can easily be overlooked, and is probably slightly more widespread than the Atlas data suggest. Ramsay and Cannings (2003) estimated the British Columbia Population to number 50-1,000 individuals.

In the Boreal Plains, natural grasslands and prairie habitat are limited to tiny fragments on un-farmable slopes. Upland Sandpipers have adapted fairly well to the agricultural landscape that now dominates the area. Hayfields and lightly-grazed pasture land provide suitable habitat. The birds may occasionally use crop fields, but nesting success is likely poor, as a result of multiple equipment passes for tilling, seeding, and spraying. In the Chilcotin area, Upland Sandpipers were found in lightly grazed natural grassland habitat (Hooper 1997).

Conservation and Recommendations Once tremendously common in prairie landscapes, the Upland Sandpiper also spread into newly created agricultural land as forests were cleared by settlers. Populations were decimated by hunting in the late 1800s, from which they never fully recovered. Ultimately, the more significant impact was the loss of breeding habitat through plowing and cultivation of natural prairie grassland (Houston et al. 2011). Breeding Bird Survey data indicate a long-term decline, and the Upland Sandpiper is Red-listed in British Columbia because of its very small population here. Although agricultural development is the primary threat to habitat in the bird's core grassland range, light agriculture in the form of hayfields and livestock pasture can create habitat. There is probably more suitable habitat in northeastern British Columbia now than at any time in the past. However, this land is privately-owned, and land-use decisions are driven by tradition and market forces.

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. Upland Sandpiper in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=UPSA&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Maubèche des champs, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Indices de nidification - Maubèche des champs
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Maubèche des champs
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Maubèche des champs
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Maubèche des champs
Bartramia longicauda

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
409 - 985 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
3 6 13 8
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.619 (-2.75 - 0.864)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.10.04     
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.1  0.04   
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.04  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Pour les résidents des prairies, il est courant de voir la Maubèche des champs, avec sa tête de colombe et sa coloration cryptique, perchée sur le poteau d'une clôture, et d'entendre son long sifflement familier. C'est une espèce qui vit de préférence dans les prairies et, ce qui est inhabituel pour un oiseau de rivage, ne montre aucune affinité pour les milieux humides. L'aire de reproduction de la Maubèche des champs se trouve principalement dans le nord et le centre des Grandes Plaines. L'oiseau est peu répandu à l'est, des Grands Lacs à la côte Atlantique, là où il y a des prairies et d'autres habitats appropriés. Des populations isolées existent plus à l'ouest jusqu'en Alaska (Houston et coll. 2011). Il migre sur de très longues distances, passant l'hiver dans le centre de l'Amérique du Sud.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Maubèche des champs se trouve principalement dans les Plaines boréales du nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Un relevé a été fait sur le plateau Chilcotin, où se trouve probablement une population très réduite mais persistante, car l'espèce a été observée plusieurs fois dans cette région au cours des dernières décennies (p. ex. Hooper 1997). Plusieurs années de suite, la Maubèche des champs a été observée dans une seule zone de 10 km2 le long de la rivière Liard, dans les montagnes boréales du Nord. Il n'est pas certain que ces observations représentent une extension vers le sud de l'aire de reproduction de l'extrême nord-ouest, ou que ce soit une occurrence isolée. Fait intéressant à noter, il n'y a pas de données de l'Atlas dans les basses-terres du Fort Nelson, dans le district East Kootenay et dans la vallée de l'Okanagan, où l'oiseau a été observé ou est censé avoir niché dans le passé (Campbell et coll. 1990, Ramsay et Cannings 2003).

La Maubèche des champs est un oiseau rare dont la population est disséminée en Colombie-Britannique, ce que démontre la faible probabilité d'observation dans les basses terres de Peace River, qui est son territoire principal dans la province. L'oiseau peut aisément passer inaperçu et est peut-être légèrement plus répandu que les données de l'Atlas le laissent entendre. Ramsay et Cannings (2003) ont estimé que la population de la Colombie-Britannique se situait entre 50 et 1 000 exemplaires.

Dans les Plaines boréales, les régions herbagères naturelles et l'habitat des prairies se réduisent à de minuscules fragments sur des pentes non cultivables. La Maubèche des champs s'est relativement bien adaptée au paysage agricole qui domine maintenant la région. Les prairies de fauche et les pâturages légèrement exploités fournissent un habitat approprié. Les oiseaux peuvent occasionnellement utiliser des champs en culture, mais le succès de la nidification est vraisemblablement faible, en raison des nombreuses passes de la machinerie agricole pour le labourage, l'ensemencement et la pulvérisation. Dans la région de Chilcotin, la Maubèche des champs a été observée dans les régions herbagères naturelles légèrement exploitées (Hooper 1997).

Conservation et recommandations Auparavant terriblement répandue dans le paysage des Prairies, la Maubèche des champs s'est également installée sur les terres agricoles nouvellement créées alors que les colons ont procédé au déboisement des forêts. Les populations ont été décimées par la chasse à la fin des années 1800 et ne s'en sont jamais remises. L'impact le plus considérable fut ultimement la perte de l'habitat d'élevage en raison du labourage et de la culture des pâturages naturels des Prairies (Houston et coll. 2011). Le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs révèle un déclin qui remonte à loin, alors que la Maubèche des champs est inscrite sur la liste rouge en Colombie-Britannique. En raison de sa très faible population dans cette province. Même si le développement agricole représente la principale menace qui guette l'habitat dans la zone centrale des pâturages que fréquente cette espèce, l'agriculture légère sous forme de prairies de fauche et de pâturages pour le bétail peut donner lieu à la création d'un habitat. Il existe probablement maintenant un habitat plus convenable dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique que ce qu'on n'a jamais connu par le passé. Cependant, ces terres appartiennent à des intérêts privés et les décisions en ce qui a trait à l'aménagement du territoire relèvent de la tradition et des forces du marché.

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Maubèche des champs dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=UPSA&lang=fr [10 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley