Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Violet-green Swallow, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Breeding evidence - Violet-green Swallow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Violet-green Swallow
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Violet-green Swallow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Violet-green Swallow
Tachycineta thalassina
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1773 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
443 173 488 415
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.052 (-1.21 - 1.4)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 0.062 (-1.25 - 1.48)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.070.05 0.280.26 0.31
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.070.06 0.050.36 0.22
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.290.12 0.28  0.18

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.050.180.41
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.250.10.37
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.31 0.050.09
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.36 0.050.14

Characteristics and Range This small, sleek swallow is distinguished from the closely-related Tree Swallow by its short tail, white rump patches, and white cheeks. It is perhaps the most adaptable of our swallows, amenable to nesting in or on a great variety of human structures. The breeding range of this species extends along the Pacific coast from the Boreal Forest to the Sierra Madre, and inland across the Western Cordillera to the eastern limits of the Rocky Mountains. It winters in Central America (Brown et al. 2011).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The breeding distribution of this species has changed little since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997. The irregular decline in records from south to north across the province noted by Campbell et al. (1997) is still evident, perhaps reflecting, a northward decline in observers. Atlas data suggest that numbers of swallows may have increased recently in some local areas, such as the Rocky Mountain Trench and the far northwest of the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, but this could simply reflect increased observer effort.

This species is most common across southern British Columbia south of 51░N, from the Georgia Depression to the Rocky Mountains, although there is much local variability in Probability of Observation. PObs values are highest in the valleys and lowlands and considerably lower on the intervening uplands. The Violet-green Swallow is most abundant at elevations below 250 m. It is most numerous in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince, as previously noted in The Birds of British Columbia. Further north, the pattern of moderately high Pobs values suggests that the species occupies patches of suitable landscape across all ecoprovinces except the eastern Taiga Plains and northern Boreal Plains. This species is associated with a variety of biogeoclimatic zones in both coastal and interior regions.

The Violet-green Swallow's nesting habitat requirements are somewhat similar to those of the Tree Swallow but, unlike the Tree Swallow, this species usually nests in rock cavities on cliffs, commonly forming colonies of 20 pairs or more. A secondary cavity nester, it also adopts holes in trees adjacent to open country where there are lakes and wetlands that produce abundant flying insects. It readily adapts to human landscapes, commonly nesting in nooks and crannies in buildings and other structures. It also uses nest boxes, although perhaps less willingly than the Tree Swallow (Brown et al. 2011). Campbell et al. (1997) reported 75% of recorded nests were in human habitats.

Conservation and Recommendations Breeding Bird Survey data show a stable long-term trend, and the species is not currently of conservation concern, although aerial insectivores generally are showing stronger declines than most other bird groups (NABCI Canada 2012). The House Sparrow (and perhaps the European Starling) frequently displaces the Violet-green Swallow from nest sites. This bird may benefit from nest box installation programs.

J.M. Ryder

Recommended citation: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Violet-green Swallow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=VGSW&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Hirondelle à face blanche, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Indices de nidification - Hirondelle à face blanche
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Hirondelle à face blanche
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Hirondelle à face blanche
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Hirondelle à face blanche
Tachycineta thalassina

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1773 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
443 173 488 415
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.052 (-1.21 - 1.4)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 0.062 (-1.25 - 1.48)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.070.05 0.280.26 0.31
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.070.06 0.050.36 0.22
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.290.12 0.28  0.18

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.050.180.41
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.250.10.37
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.31 0.050.09
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.36 0.050.14

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Cette petite Hirondelle aux lignes pures se distingue de l'Hirondelle bicolore, dont elle est une proche parente, par sa queue courte, ses taches blanches sur le croupion et ses joues blanches. Elle est peut-être la plus adaptable de nos hirondelles, et n'hésite pas à nicher dans ou sur une grande variété de structures humaines. L'aire de reproduction de cette espèce s'étend le long de la côte du Pacifique, depuis la forêt boréale jusqu'à la Sierra Madre, et vers l'intérieur des terres, par-dessus la Cordillère nord-américaine jusqu'aux limites orientales des Montagnes Rocheuses. Elle hiverne en Amérique centrale (Brown et coll. 2011).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La distribution de reproduction de cette espèce a peu changé depuis que The Birds of British Columbia a été publié. La baisse irrégulière des relevés du sud au nord dans toute la province, constatée par Campbell et coll. (1997), est toujours manifeste, et rend peut-être compte d'une baisse vers le nord des observations. Les données de l'Atlas donnent à penser que le nombre d'hirondelles peut avoir augmenté récemment dans certaines zones locales, notamment le sillon des Rocheuses et l'extrême nord-ouest de l'écoprovince Intérieur sud, mais cela pourrait simplement témoigner d'une augmentation de l'effort d'observation.

L'espèce est la plus commune dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique au sud du 51e degré de latitude nord, depuis la dépression de Georgia jusqu'aux Montagnes Rocheuses, bien qu'il y ait beaucoup de variabilité locale de la probabilité d'observation. Les valeurs de PObs sont les plus élevées dans les vallées et les basses terres. Elles sont considérablement plus faibles dans les hautes terres entre les deux. L'Hirondelle à face blanche est la plus abondante à des altitudes inférieures à 250 m. Elle est toujours la plus nombreuse dans l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia, comme il a été relevé précédemment dans The Birds of British Columbia. Plus au nord, le schéma de valeurs de PObs modérément élevées donne à penser que l'espèce occupe des parcelles de terrain propices dans toutes les provinces, sauf dans les plaines de la Taïga orientales et les plaines boréales septentrionales. Cette espèce est associée à une grande variété de zones biogéoclimatiques, tant dans les régions côtières qu'intérieures.

Les besoins en habitat de nidification de l'Hirondelle à face blanche sont quelque peu semblables à ceux de l'Hirondelle bicolore, mais contrairement à cette dernière, cette espèce niche habituellement dans des anfractuosités de rocher sur des falaises, formant habituellement des colonies de 20 couples ou davantage. Nicheuse de cavités secondaires, elle adopte également des trous dans les arbres adjacents à un paysage découvert dans lequel il y a des lacs et des marais qui produisent une abondance d'insectes volants. Elle s'adapte facilement aux paysages humains, nichant habituellement dans des renfoncements et des recoins de bâtiments et d'autres structures. Elle utilise également des nichoirs, mais peut-être avec un peu plus de réticence que l'Hirondelle bicolore (Brown et coll. 2011). Campbell et coll. (1997) ont fait état que 75 % des nids relevés se trouvaient dans des habitats humains.

Conservation et recommandations Les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs montrent qu'il y a une tendance stable à long terme, et l'espèce n'est pas à l'heure actuelle préoccupante sur le plan de la conservation, bien que les insectivores aériens en général affichent des baisses plus prononcées que la plupart des autres groupes d'oiseaux (ICOAN Canada 2012). Le Moineau domestique (et peut-être l'Étourneau sansonnet) déplace fréquemment l'Hirondelle à face blanche de ses sites de nidification. Cet oiseau peut profiter des prochains programmes d'installation de nichoirs.

J.M. Ryder

Citation recommandée: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Hirondelle à face blanche dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=VGSW&lang=fr [24 févr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley