Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Western Meadowlark, Jared Hobbs
Photo © Jared Hobbs

Photo: Jared Hobbs
Breeding evidence - Western Meadowlark
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Western Meadowlark
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Western Meadowlark
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Western Meadowlark
Sturnella neglecta
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
222 - 1436 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red (Georgia Depression population)
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
68 104 201 200
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.02 (-4.86 - 0.007)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.77 (-2.91 - -1.2)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.07 0.450.21  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
   0.07   
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.170.2 0.45   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.070.44 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.24 0.12 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.58 0.130.07

Characteristics and Range The Western Meadowlark is an iconic species of the North American West. Its loud, melodic song and bright plumage are an integral part of grasslands across the Great Plains and western intermontane valleys. Like many grassland species, it is boldly patterned below with a yellow breast, black necklace and white outer tail feathers, but from above it is so cryptically plumaged that it is scarcely discernable amid the dry bunchgrass. The Western Meadowlark breeds in dry grasslands and other open habitats from central British Columbia east to the Great Lakes and south to the high plateaus of north-central Mexico. Northern breeders migrate a relatively short distance to the southern parts of the breeding range and beyond to the Gulf States and central Mexico.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, the Western Meadowlark breeds in interior grasslands and pastures from the Peace River area southwards. The distribution shown by Atlas data is similar to that shown in The Birds of British Columbia published in 2001. Breeding was confirmed at one location on the coast during the Atlas period; meadowlarks were last reported to breed on the coast in 1986 (Campbell et al. 2001). The northward expansion of meadowlarks from the Cariboo-Chilcotin Plateau into the Prince George area, and from central Alberta into the Peace River area, both in the last half of the 20th Century (Campbell et al. 2001) appears to have stabilized: the Atlas results show no further expansion in these areas, although there is some evidence of infilling with more reports from the upper Fraser River valley.

The Probability of Observation model and abundance data show that it is most common in the Southern Interior ecoprovince, matching the findings of The Birds of British Columbia published in 2001. It is most abundant in three biogeoclimatic zones: Ponderosa Pine, Bunchgrass and Interior Douglas-fir. The Western Meadowlark can be found up to 1,500 m elevation in clearcuts, but the vast majority of breeding territories are below 1,000 m, and most of those are between 500 and 750 m, likely reflecting the elevation of much of the interior plateaus where this species is common.

The Western Meadowlark is a consummate grassland species, requiring relatively large areas of grassland or pasture. Nests are placed on the ground, well hidden under a clump of grass.

Conservation and Recommendations Like all grassland bird species in North America, Western Meadowlark populations have declined significantly since the Breeding Bird Survey began monitoring populations in 1970. The species has lost more than half its Canadian population in that time period. The population trend in British Columbia is similar but slightly less steep than the national trend. The causes of this decline have not been directly studied, but are likely a combination of habitat loss and degradation, both on the breeding grounds in Canada and the wintering grounds in the United States and Mexico.

Richard J. Cannings

Recommended citation: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Western Meadowlark in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WEME&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Sturnelle de l'Ouest, Jared Hobbs
Photo © Jared Hobbs

Photo: Jared Hobbs
Indices de nidification - Sturnelle de l'Ouest
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Sturnelle de l'Ouest
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Sturnelle de l'Ouest
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Sturnelle de l'Ouest
Sturnella neglecta

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
222 - 1436 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red (Georgia Depression population)
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
68 104 201 200
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.02 (-4.86 - 0.007)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.77 (-2.91 - -1.2)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.07 0.450.21  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
   0.07   
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.170.2 0.45   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.070.44 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.24 0.12 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.58 0.130.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La sturnelle de l'Ouest est une espèce emblématique de l'ouest nord-américain. Son chant fort et mélodieux et son plumage vif sont une partie intégrale des Grandes Prairies et des vallées intermontagneuses de l'ouest. Comme de nombreuses autres espèces des prairies elle est adornée d'un patron vif sur son ventre, d'une poitrine jaune, d'un collier noir et de plumes de queue extérieures blanches, mais du dessus son plumage est si cryptique qu'elle est rarement discernée parmi les graminées cespiteuses sèches. La sturnelle de l'ouest se reproduit dans les prairies sèches et d'autres habitats découverts du centre de la Colombie-Britannique vers les Grands Lacs et aux hauts plateaux du nord central du Mexique. Les reproducteurs du nord migrent une distance relativement courte vers les parties du sud de leur aire de reproduction et au-delà vers les états du Golfe du Mexique est le centre du Mexique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, la Sturnelle de l'Ouest niche dans les prairies et pâturages de l'intérieur, depuis la région de la rivière de la Paix en direction du sud. La distribution indiquée par les données de l'Atlas est similaire à celle présentée dans The Birds of British Columbia publié en 2001. Preuve de la reproduction a été confirmé à un endroit sur la cote pendant que la période de l'Atlas; la reproduction de la Sturnelle a été signalée à cet endroit pour la dernière fois en 1986 (Campbell et coll. 2001). L'expansion vers le nord des sturnelles depuis le plateau Cariboo-Chilcotin jusqu'à la région de Prince George, et depuis le centre de l'Alberta jusqu'à la région de la rivière de la Paix, ayant eu lieu durant la seconde moitié du 20e siècle (Campbell et coll. 2001) semble s'être stabilisée : les résultats de l'Atlas ne montrent aucune autre expansion dans ces régions, bien que certaines lacunes aient été comblées par un nombre accru de relevés dans la vallée du cours supérieur du Fraser.

Le modèle des probabilités d'observation et les données sur l'abondance indiquent que l'espèce est plus commune dans l'écoprovince Intérieur sud, ce qui correspond aux conclusions de l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 2001. Elle est plus abondante dans trois zones biogéoclimatiques, celles du pin ponderosa, de la prairie et du Douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur. La Sturnelle de l'Ouest peut être observée jusqu'à 1 500 m d'altitude dans des zones de coupe à blanc, mais la grande majorité des territoires de reproduction se situent sous les 1 000 m, et la plupart de ces territoires se trouvent entre 500 et 750 m d'altitude, ce qui correspond vraisemblablement à l'altitude de la majeure partie des plateaux intérieurs où cette espèce est commune.

La Sturnelle de l'Ouest est une espèce emblématique des prairies, nécessitant des zones de prairies ou de pâturages relativement larges. Elle construit son nid à même le sol, en le cachant bien sous une touffe d'herbes.

Conservation et recommandations Comme toutes les espèces d'oiseaux de prairies de l'Amérique du Nord, les populations de sturnelle de l'ouest ont connu un grand déclin depuis que le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs a commencé à surveiller les populations en 1970. L'espèce a perdu plus de la moitié de sa population canadienne au cours de cette période. La tendance de la population en Colombie-Britannique est semblable, mais un peu moins raide que la tendance nationale. Les causes de ce déclin n'ont pas été étudiées directement, mais sont probablement une combinaison de la perte et la dégradation d'habitats des aires de reproduction au Canada et les aires d'hivernage des États-Unis et du Mexique.

Richard J. Cannings

Citation recommandée: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Sturnelle de l'Ouest dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WEME&lang=fr [07 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley