Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Wilson's Phalarope, H. Loney Dickson
Photo © H. Loney Dickson

Photo: H. Loney Dickson
Breeding evidence - Wilson's Phalarope
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Wilson's Phalarope
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Wilson's Phalarope
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Wilson's Phalarope
Phalaropus tricolor
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1319 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
8 33 42 6
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1973 - 2012 -4.65 (-14.1 - 3.51)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.06 (-2.97 - 2.11)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.05 0.350.17  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
   0.05   
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
 0.28 0.1   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.05  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.6   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.1 0.270.07

Characteristics and Range The Wilson's Phalarope is the largest of three species of phalarope, all of which exhibit dramatic reversed sexual dimorphism, the female being larger and more colourful than the male, and playing the lead role in courtship, with the male providing all of the parental care. The Wilson's Phalarope breeds across the interior of central-western North America from southeast Alaska and the Boreal Taiga Plains in the north-west, east to the Great Lakes and south to the southern Great Plains and Sierra Nevada. It is a very long-distance migrant, wintering in western and southern South America (Colwell and Jehl 1994).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Although The Birds of British Columbia noted a northward range expansion during the 20th Century within British Columbia, and a range expansion was also noted in Alaska-Yukon (Colwell and Jehl 1994), Atlas data suggest a stabilization of that expansion rather than a continuing increase. The Atlas results tended to reconfirm breeding at previously known locations. The Atlas recorded possible breeding in the Georgia Depression, with multiple females chasing males; this courtship behavior is known to occur at migration stopovers. However, historically, breeding did occur at the Iona Island sewage ponds in the Fraser River delta (Campbell et al. 1990).

Best-known to British Columbian birders who visit shallow interior wetlands, the Wilson's Phalarope is nowhere an abundant bird provincially. This is reflected in the low Probabilities of Observation in even the areas of most likely occurrence. The highest probability of finding the species was along the lower sections of the Chilcotin and Thompson valleys. The Birds of British Columbia noted the centre of breeding abundance to be in the southern Okanagan, which may no longer be the case. Most Atlas records consisted of small groups of birds (up to three pairs per site).

The Wilson's Phalarope is a bird of shallow freshwater wetlands, flooded fields, and wet sedge meadows. It accepts some human-altered habitats, often nesting along the outer edges of lightly used paths, dikes and lanes next to wetlands, and in sewage farms with shallow ponds.

Conservation and Recommendations There are no major conservation concerns for this species in the province or more widely in Canada, where it shows a stable long-term population trend (Environment Canada 2011). Future atlassing will help clarify whether the range expansion during the 20th Century has stabilized. Further surveys might target the far northwest of British Columbia, adjacent to the recently established population in southeast Alaska.

Chris R. Siddle

Recommended citation: Siddle, C.R. 2015. Wilson's Phalarope in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WIPH&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Phalarope de Wilson, H. Loney Dickson
Photo © H. Loney Dickson

Photo: H. Loney Dickson
Indices de nidification - Phalarope de Wilson
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Phalarope de Wilson
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Phalarope de Wilson
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Phalarope de Wilson
Phalaropus tricolor

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1319 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
8 33 42 6
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1973 - 2012 -4.65 (-14.1 - 3.51)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.06 (-2.97 - 2.11)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.05 0.350.17  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
   0.05   
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
 0.28 0.1   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.05  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.6   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.1 0.270.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Phalarope de Wilson est la plus grande des trois espèces de Phalarope, qui toutes présentent un dimorphisme sexuel inversé spectaculaire, car la femelle est plus grande et plus colorée que le mâle et joue le rôle dominant lors de la parade nuptiale, tandis que le mâle assure tous les soins parentaux. Le Phalarope de Wilson se reproduit dans tout l'intérieur du centre-ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, depuis le sud-est de l'Alaska et les plaines de la Taïga boréale dans le nord-ouest, vers l'est jusqu'aux Grands Lacs et vers le sud jusqu'aux grandes Plaines du sud et la Sierra Nevada. Il migre sur de très grandes distances et hiverne dans l'ouest et le sud de l'Amérique du Sud (Colwell et Jehl 1994).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Bien que The Birds of British Columbia ait relevé une expansion vers le nord de l'aire de répartition pendant le 20e siècle en Colombie-Britannique, on a également constaté une expansion de l'aire en Alaska-Yukon (Colwell et Jehl 1994) et les données de l'Atlas donnent à penser qu'il y a eu une stabilisation de cette expansion plutôt qu'une augmentation continue. Les résultats de l'Atlas tendaient à reconfirmer que la reproduction avait lieu à des endroits précédemment connus. L'Atlas a relevé une reproduction possible dans la dépression de Georgia, car plusieurs femelles chassaient des mâles; on sait que ce comportement nuptial se produit à des haltes migratoires. Cependant, la reproduction a précédemment eu lieu aux bassins d'égout de l'île Iona dans le delta du fleuve Fraser (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Le Phalarope de Wilson, qui est très bien connu des ornithologues amateurs de Colombie-Britannique qui visitent les marais intérieurs peu profonds, n'est abondant nulle part dans la province. Cela se retrouve dans les faibles probabilités d'observation , même dans les zones où l'occurrence est le plus probable. La plus forte probabilité de trouver l'espèce est le long des parties inférieures des vallées des rivières Chilcotin et Thompson. The Birds of British Columbia relève que le centre de l'abondance de reproduction se trouve dans le sud de la vallée de l'Okanagan, ce qui peut ne plus être le cas. La plupart des relevés de l'Atlas consistent en petits groupes d'oiseaux (jusqu'à trois couples par site).

Le Phalarope de Wilson est un oiseau des marais d'eau douce, des champs inondés et des cariçaies humides. Il accepte certains habitats modifiés par l'homme, et niche souvent le long du bord extérieur de chemins peu utilisés, de digues et de voies à côté de marais, et dans les stations d'épuration des eaux ayant des bassins peu profonds.

Conservation et recommandations Il n'y a pas d'importantes préoccupations en matière de conservation pour cette espèce dans la province ou plus généralement au Canada, où elle affiche une tendance de population à long terme stable (Environnement Canada 2011). De futurs inventaires contribueront à clarifier si l'expansion de l'aire de répartition pendant le 20e siècle s'est stabilisée. Des relevés supplémentaires pourraient cibler l'extrême nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, mitoyen de la population récemment établie dans le sud-est de l'Alaska.

Chris R. Siddle

Citation recommandée: Siddle, C.R. 2015. Phalarope de Wilson dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WIPH&lang=fr [07 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley