Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Western Screech-Owl, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Western Screech-Owl
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Western Screech-Owl
Probability of observation

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Western Screech-Owl
Megascops kennicottii

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1327 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue (kennicottii subspecies)
BCRISC: Red (macfarlanei subspecies)
COSEWIC: Threatened (kennicottii)
COSEWIC: Threatened (macfarlanei )
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
28 27 109 2
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
      0.05
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.1  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
      0.03

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.05  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Western Screech-Owl is a smallish owl that calls with repeated hollow whistles, not screeches. Its larger size and yellow eyes set it apart from the Flammulated Owl. A generalist predator, it feeds on almost any small animal. The species is resident from the coast of southern Alaska and the valleys of the southern interior of British Columbia south in mountainous western North America to central Mexico. It was formerly considered conspecific with the Eastern Screech-Owl, but different vocalizations and subtly different physical characteristics resulted in the recognition of two distinct species. There are two subspecies in British Columbia: M. k. kennicottii on the coast (brownish grey, occasionally very reddish brown) and the somewhat larger M. k. macfarlanei (distinctly greyish) in valleys of southern British Columbia east of the Coast and Cascade mountains.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Western Screech-Owls are found below about 1,000 m in forests along the coast in the Georgia Depression and Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces (except Haida Gwaii) and in the valleys of the Southern Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces. They are found in both the Coastal Douglas-fir and Coastal Western Hemlock biogeoclimatic zones on the coast; interior birds are found in the Bunchgrass, Ponderosa Pine, Interior Douglas-fir and Interior Cedar-Hemlock zones. The Atlas indicates a broader distribution in the interior (particularly along the Fraser River and adjacent valleys near Lillooet, the southern portions of the Kootenay and Columbia valleys, and the Flathead River valley) and a contraction of range on the coast (particularly in the lower Fraser River valley and southeastern Vancouver Island) when compared with the distribution shown in The Birds of British Columbia published in 1990. For the interior range, this reflects the significant increase in inventory effort for the interior subspecies in the past decade, while the change on the coast probably reflects a real decrease there since the 1990s.

Most Atlas data came from targeted surveys in certain areas, so it is difficult to assess the abundance of the species across the province. The interior population is estimated to be 350-500 adult birds, while that on the coast is thought to number less than 10,000 adults (COSEWIC 2012).

Western Screech-Owls use a wide variety of wooded and forested habitats, but clearly favour riparian woodlands over most of their range (Cannings and Angell 2001). On the British Columbia coast, territories are often centred on stream courses lined with Bigleaf Maple (Acer macrophyllum), while in the interior, screech-owls are strongly tied to riparian woodlands dominated by Black Cottonwood (Populus trichocarpa), Water Birch (Betula occidentalis) and Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides).

Conservation and Recommendations The small population of the interior subspecies and historic loss of riparian habitat led to it being listed as Endangered under the federal Species at Risk Act; subsequent inventory effort greatly increased the known range and population there, resulting in a down-listing to Threatened (COSEWIC 2012). South coastal populations have decreased dramatically since the 1990s, perhaps as a result of predation by the expanding Barred Owl; that subspecies was initially listed as Special Concern under the Species at Risk Act; but was uplisted to Threatened because of those population declines (COSEWIC 2012). Continued inventory of screech-owls is needed, especially on the central and northern coast where the species is poorly known.

Richard J. Cannings

Recommended citation: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Western Screech-Owl in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WSOW&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Petit-duc des montagnes, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Petit-duc des montagnes
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Petit-duc des montagnes
Probabilité d'observation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Petit-duc des montagnes
Megascops kennicottii

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1327 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue (kennicottii subspecies)
BCRISC: Red (macfarlanei subspecies)
COSEWIC: Threatened (kennicottii)
COSEWIC: Threatened (macfarlanei )
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
28 27 109 2
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
      0.05
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.1  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
      0.03

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.05  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le petit-duc des montagnes est un hibou assez petit qui crie en sifflets vides répétés et non en cris. Sa plus grande taille et ses yeux jaunes le rendent à part du petit-duc nain. Un prédateur généraliste, il se nourrit de presque tous les petits animaux. L'espèce est un résident permanent de la côte du sud de l'Alaska et des vallées du sud de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique vers le sud dans l'ouest montagneux de l'Amérique du Nord et du centre du Mexique. Il était anciennement considéré comme conspécifique au petit-duc maculé, mais de différentes vocalisations et des caractéristiques physiques différentes ont porté à la reconnaissance de deux espèces différentes. Il existe deux sous-espèces en Colombie-Britannique : M. k. kennicottii sur la côte (gris-brun, parfois très marron) et l'un peu plus grand M. k. macfarlanei dans les vallées du sud de la Colombie-Britannique à l'est des montagnes Côtières et des monts Cascades.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Petit-duc des montagnes est observé à une altitude inférieure à environ 1000 m, dans des forêts le long de la côte dans les écoprovinces Dépression de Georgia et Côtes et montagnes (à l'exception de Haida Gwaii) et dans les vallées des écoprovinces Intérieur sud et Montagnes intérieures du sud. Sur la côte, on le trouve dans les zones biogéoclimatiques du douglas taxifolié et de la pruche de l'Ouest de la région côtière; dans les terres intérieures, on trouve l'oiseau dans les zones biogéoclimatiques de la prairie, du pin ponderosa, du douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur et des cèdres et des pruches de l'intérieur. L'Atlas indique une répartition plus large dans l'intérieur (en particulier le long du Fraser et des vallées adjacentes près de Lillooet, les parties sud des vallées du Kootenay et du Columbia et la vallée de la rivière Flathead) et une contraction de son aire sur la côte (en particulier dans la vallée du bas Fraser et le sud-est de l'île de Vancouver) par rapport à la distribution présentée dans The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990. En ce qui concerne son aire à l'intérieur, la répartition plus large est due à un important accroissement des efforts d'inventaire pour la sous-espèce de l'intérieur au cours de la dernière décennie, tandis que le changement sur la côte est sans doute attribuable à une réelle diminution de l'espèce à cet endroit depuis les années 1990.

La plupart des données de l'Atlas provenaient de relevés ciblés dans certaines régions; il est donc difficile d'évaluer l'abondance de l'espèce à l'échelle de la province. La population de l'intérieur est estimée entre 350 et 500 oiseaux adultes, tandis que celle de la côte est évaluée à quelque 10 000 adultes (COSEPAC 2012).

Le Petit-duc des montagnes utilise une variété d'habitats boisés et forestiers, mais a une preférence nette pour les forêts riveraines dans la majeure partie de son aire (Cannings et Angell 2001). Sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, les territoires se concentrent souvent le long de cours d'eau entourés d'érables à grandes feuilles (Acer macrophyllum), tandis qu'à l'intérieur, le Petit-duc des montagnes est fortement lié aux régions boisées riveraines dominées par des peupliers de l'Ouest (Populus trichocarpa), des bouleaux fontinaux (Betula occidentalis) et des peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides).

Conservation et recommandations En raison de sa petite taille et de la perte d'habitat riverain dans le passé, la sous-espèce de l'intérieur a déjà été inscrite comme en voie de disparition à la Loi sur les espèces en péril; les efforts subséquents d'inventaire ont grandement augmenté la répartition et la population connues dans cette région, d'où un nouveau classement dans la catégorie de risque moins élevé d'espèce menacée (COSEPAC 2012). Les populations côtières du sud ont diminué considérablement depuis les années 1990, peut-être causé par la prédation de la chouette rayée envahissante; cette sous-espèce était initialement une espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, mais a été augmenté à menacée en raison de ces déclins de population (COSEPAC 2012). Un inventaire continu du petit-duc des montagnes est nécessaire, surtout sur les côtes centrales et du nord où l'espèce n'est pas bien connue.

Richard J. Cannings

Citation recommandée: Cannings, R.J. 2015. Petit-duc des montagnes dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WSOW&lang=fr [02 juil. 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley