Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Yellow-headed Blackbird, Marcia Mason
Photo © Marcia Mason

Photo: Marcia Mason
Breeding evidence - Yellow-headed Blackbird
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Yellow-headed Blackbird
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Yellow-headed Blackbird
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Yellow-headed Blackbird
Xanthocephalus xanthocephalus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1281 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
73 53 97 64
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.377 (-2.65 - 1.8)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.33 (-3.37 - 0.301)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.470.21  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.130.25 0.46   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  1.17 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.16
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.29 0.07 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.41 0.160.14

Characteristics and Range As Roger Tory Peterson famously remarked about the Bald Eagle, the male Yellow-headed Blackbird is "all field mark". The bright heads of the males may be clearly visible around a nesting colony in a marsh, but the dusky-brown females at the nests are more difficult to detect. This poses problems for field surveys because these birds are polygynous, and a single male can be responsible for up to eight nests. The breeding range of this bird encompasses the Great Plains and cordilleran regions of western North America, although it is absent from the Pacific Coast. It winters primarily in the agricultural areas of Texas and the Southern Coastal Plain, and south to central Mexico (Twedt and Crawford 1995).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Campbell et al. (2001) describe a "significant range expansion" of this species during the 20th Century, although this was tempered by asynchronous localized variability in numbers due to fluctuating water levels and infilling of marshes. The Atlas results indicate that breeding is largely restricted to the central-southern interior, and range expansion has not continued since The Birds of British Columbia was published. There has certainly been range contraction in southwestern British Columbia, where this species has almost abandoned the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince, and the extent of the breeding range on the Chilcotin Plateau may also have declined.

Atlas point counts confirm that this blackbird is most abundant in the Central Interior and Southern Interior ecoprovinces, as reported by Campbell et al. (2001). The Southern Rocky Mountain Trench is a smaller but important area that also supports a relatively dense blackbird population. The highest Probability of Observation values are concentrated on the Fraser Plateau and in the Thompson, Nicola, and south Okanagan drainage basins. Abundance is highest between 500 and 750 m elevation, corresponding to relatively low parts of the interior plateaus and valley floors in the southern interior where marshes are common. The highest PObs values, between 250 and 500 m, represent the lowest elevations where this species breeds, specifically the floor and lower benchlands of the south Okanagan Valley.

The Yellow-headed Blackbird nests in unforested marshes, including lakeshore wetlands, where extensive stands of dense emergent vegetation, chiefly Cattails (Typha latifolia), bulrushes (Scirpus species), or reeds (Phragmites species), grow in relatively deep water (50 - 110 cm; Willson 1966), but where there are sufficient openings and edges that abundant aquatic insects are available to foraging birds. Breeding marshes are usually surrounded by dry grasslands, sagebrush, open woodland (e.g., aspen parkland) or farmland.

Conservation and Recommendations Populations of this blackbird are generally stable across its range, and many benefit from wetland conservation actions. However, as a colonial breeder, it is vulnerable to local extirpation when marsh habitat is lost in populated areas, such as the Okanagan, through infilling to create land for residential areas and industrial development. In Manitoba Yellow-headed Blackbird reproductive success is regulated mainly by Marsh Wren predation of eggs (Picman et al. 2002); it would be useful to clarify whether this is also a main regulatory factor in British Columbia.

J. M. Ryder

Recommended citation: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Yellow-headed Blackbird in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=YHBL&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Carouge à tête jaune, Marcia Mason
Photo © Marcia Mason

Photo: Marcia Mason
Indices de nidification - Carouge à tête jaune
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Carouge à tête jaune
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Carouge à tête jaune
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Carouge à tête jaune
Xanthocephalus xanthocephalus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1281 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
73 53 97 64
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.377 (-2.65 - 1.8)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.33 (-3.37 - 0.301)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.470.21  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.130.25 0.46   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  1.17 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.16
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.29 0.07 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.41 0.160.14

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Comme Roger Tory Peterson l'a remarqué au sujet de l'aigle à tête blanche, le carouge à tête jaune mâle est « visible en tous lieux ». La tête brillante des mâles est peut-être très visible dans une colonie de nidification autour d'un marais, mais le brun sombre des femelles assises sur un nid est plus difficile à repérer. Ceci pose un problème pour les surveillances sur le terrain, car les mâles sont polygynes et peuvent veiller sur jusqu'à huit nids. L'aire de reproduction de cet oiseau s'étend des grandes plaines aux régions cordillériennes de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, quoiqu'il soit absent de la côte pacifique. Cette espèce hiverne principalement dans les régions agricoles du Texas et de la plaine de la côte sud, et du sud au centre du Mexique (Twedt et Crawford 1995).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Campbell et coll. (2001) ont indiqué une « expansion importante de l'aire » de cette espèce au cours du 20e siècle, bien qu'elle ait été tempérée par une variabilité désynchronisée localisée de son nombre d'individus en raison de la fluctuation des niveaux d'eau et du remplissage des marais. Les résultats de l'Atlas indiquent que la reproduction se limite largement à l'intérieur centre et sud, et que l'expansion de l'aire ne s'est pas poursuivie depuis la publication de l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia. Il y a certainement eu une contraction de l'aire dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, où cette espèce a presque abandonné l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia, et l'étendue de son aire de reproduction sur le plateau Chilcotin pourrait aussi avoir diminué.

Les dénombrements par point de l'Atlas confirment que le Carouge à tête jaune est plus abondant dans les écoprovinces Intérieur centre et Intérieur sud, comme l'ont indiqué Campbell et coll. (2001). Le sillon des Rocheuses du sud est une zone importante, mais de taille plus réduite, qui comprend également une population de carouges relativement dense. Les valeurs de probabilité d'observation les plus élevées sont concentrées dans le plateau du Fraser Plateau et dans les bassins de drainage de la Thompson, de la Nicola et du sud de l'Okanagan. La plus forte abondance se situait entre 500 et 750 m d'altitude, ce qui correspond aux parties relativement basses des plateaux intérieur et certains fonds de vallées intérieurs, où les marais sont courants. Les valeurs les plus élevées Pobs, entre 250 à 500 m, représentent les plus basses altitudes où des races de cette espèce, specifiquement les terrasses inférieures de la vallée de l'Okanagan sud.

Le Carouge à tête jaune niche dans des marais non boisés, y compris dans des zones humides de rives de lac, où l'on trouve de vastes étendues de végétation émergente dense, principalement des massettes (Typha latifolia), des scirpes (Scirpus), ou des roseaux (Phragmites), poussant dans une eau relativement profonde (de 50 à 110 cm; Willson 1966), mais où il y a suffisamment d'ouvertures et de lisières riches en insectes aquatiques pour l'alimentation des oiseaux. Les marais d'alimentation sont généralement entourés de prairies sèches, d'armoises, de forêts ouvertes (p. ex., forêt-parc à trembles) ou de terres agricoles.

Conservation et recommandations Les populations de ce carouge sont généralement stables, et ils peuvent bénéficier de toute conservation des zones humides. Cependant, en tant qu'oiseau se reproduisant en colonies, il est vulnérable à l'extirpation locale lorsque les marais dans les régions populeuses comme l'Okonagan sont utilisés afin de développer des terres pour une utilisation résidentielle ou industrielle. Dans les marais du Manitoba, la reproductivité du carouge est contrôlée principalement par le fait que le troglodyte des marais se nourrit de ses oeufs (Picman et coll. 2002). Il serait également utile de vérifier si ce facteur de contrôle des populations est également présent en Colombie-Britannique

J. M. Ryder

Citation recommandée: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Carouge à tête jaune dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=YHBL&lang=fr [28 sept. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley