Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
American Golden-Plover, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Breeding evidence - American Golden-Plover
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

American Golden-Plover
Pluvialis dominica

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
683 - 1383 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
1 2 1 2
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.03      
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.03      
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.03  

Characteristics and Range Renowned as a long-distant migrant, the American Golden-Plover breeds chiefly in the Arctic biome, on the tundra from Baffin Island to western Alaska, and winters in South America. Until 1993, it was considered a subspecies of the Lesser Golden-Plover, which was split into the American Golden-Plover (Pluvialis dominica) and the Pacific Golden-Plover (Pluvialis fulva) (Johnson and Connors 2010). The latter species breeds in western Alaska and eastern Siberia, and winters primarily on tropical Pacific islands. The American Golden-Plover is a rare spring and autumn migrant and localized breeder in the province (Campbell et al. 1990, British Columbia Conservation Data Centre 2014).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Atlas provided breeding evidence in two widely separated areas, one in the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince, and the other in the Central Interior Ecoprovince. These included the first confirmed breeding (fledged young) on the Itcha Range in the Chilcotin, the farthest south the species is known to breed across its entire range (Johnson and Connors 2010). The Birds of British Columbia reports the only confirmed breeding was on the Spatzizi Plateau in 1959 (six pairs, some with downy young), with possible breeding there in 1976, and on the Itcha Range in 1986. Most confirmed and possible Atlas breeding locations were in high alpine areas. These difficult-to-access habitats were understandably lightly covered by the Atlas, and the species might have a more widespread breeding distribution in the high plateaus of north and central British Columbia than the data suggest.

The British Columbia population comprises a tiny proportion of the global population (estimated at >300,000 birds), most of which breeds in arctic, boreal and alpine areas of Alaska and northern Canada (Andres et al. 2012). There are insufficient data to show any trends in the British Columbia breeding population. Intensive surveys in Alaska revealed that the population there was larger than previously expected (Andres et al. 2012). The same might be true for British Columbia, but the overall paucity of sightings suggests that this is a rare and perhaps irregular breeder in the province.

Breeding birds are found on sparsely-vegetated, well-drained, rocky slopes (Johnson and Connors 2010); in British Columbia these habitats are primarily found in high alpine tundra (typically >1,500 m). The locations of the Atlas possible or probable breeding records indicate use of relatively barren high hilltops, close to ponds and >1 km from contiguous forests.

Conservation and Recommendations The American Golden Plover is a Blue-listed species in British Columbia, due to a small breeding population. Although considered a "Species of High Concern" in the 2001-2004 Canadian and United States Shorebird Conservation Plans, new data from across the species' range suggests that the population is larger than expected and relatively stable (Clay et al. 2010, Andres et al. 2012). High alpine tundras where this species might nest in British Columbia generally face few immediate threats, although their future extent might be reduced due to forest and shrub encroachment in warming climates. Continued searching of suitable alpine and tundra habitats in northern and central British Columbia should provide better information on the status and numbers of this species.

Alan E. Burger

Recommended citation: Burger, A.E. 2015. American Golden-Plover in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AGPL&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pluvier bronzé, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Indices de nidification - Pluvier bronzé
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pluvier bronzé
Pluvialis dominica

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
683 - 1383 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
1 2 1 2
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.03      
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.03      
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.03  

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Renommé pour les grandes distances qu'il parcourt pendant ses migrations, le Pluvier bronzé se reproduit principalement dans le biome arctique, dans la toundra qui s'étend de l'île de Baffin à l'ouest de l'Alaska, et hiverne en Amérique du Sud. Jusqu'en 1993, on pensait qu'il s'agissait d'une sous-espèce du Pluvier doré (Lesser Golden-Plover) qui fut ensuite séparée en Pluvier bronzé (Pluvialis dominica) et Pluvier fauve (Pluvialis fulva) (Johnson et Connors 2010). Cette dernière espèce se reproduit dans l'ouest de l'Alaska et l'est de la Sibérie et hiverne principalement sur des îles tropicales du Pacifique. Le pluvier bronzé est un migrateur dont la présence est rare au printemps et en automne et un nicheur localisé dans la province (Campbell et coll. 1990, B.C. Conservation Data Centre 2014).

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'Atlas fournit des preuves de reproduction dans deux régions très éloignées l'une de l'autre, l'une dans l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du nord et l'autre dans l'écoprovince Intérieur centre. Elles comprenaient les premières reproductions confirmées (oisillons prêts à l'envol) dans la chaîne des monts Itcha dans le Chilcotin, ce qui est l'endroit le plus méridional connu de reproduction de l'espèce dans l'ensemble de son aire de répartition (Johnson et Connors 2010). The Birds of British Columbia signale que la seule reproduction confirmée a eu lieu sur le plateau Spatzizi en 1959 (six couples, dont certains avec des jeunes couverts de duvet), et une reproduction possible à cet endroit en 1976, et dans la chaîne des monts Itcha en 1986. La plupart des lieux de reproduction confirmés et éventuels de l'Atlas se trouvaient dans de hautes régions alpines. Ces habitats difficiles d'accès étaient, et c'est compréhensible, peu couverts par l'Atlas, et l'espèce pourrait avoir eu une distribution de reproduction plus étendue sur les hauts plateaux du nord et du centre de la Colombie-Britannique que les données le donnent à penser.

La population de la Colombie-Britannique comprend une minuscule proportion de la population mondiale (estimée à plus de 300 000 oiseaux), dont la plupart nichent dans les régions arctiques, boréales et alpines de l'Alaska et du nord du Canada (Andres et coll. 2012). Il n'y a pas assez de données pour indiquer des tendances dans la population nicheuse de la Colombie-Britannique. Des études intensives menées en Alaska ont révélé que la population y était plus importante qu'on s'y attendait précédemment (Andres et coll. 2012). Il pourrait en être de même pour la Colombie-Britannique, mais la rareté globale d'observations donne à penser qu'il s'agit d'un nicheur rare et peut-être irrégulier dans la province.

On trouve les oiseaux nicheurs sur des pentes rocheuses faiblement végétalisées et bien drainées (Johnson et Connors 2010); en Colombie-Britannique, ces habitats se trouvent principalement dans la haute toundra alpine (habituellement >1 500 m). Les emplacements des relevés de nidification éventuelle ou probable de l'Atlas indiquent l'utilisation de sommets élevés de collines relativement arides, proches d'étangs et éloignées de >1 1 km de forêt contigüe.

Conservation et recommandations Le Pluvier bronzé est une espèce répertoriée dans la liste bleue en Colombie-Britannique, à cause de la faiblesse de sa population nicheuse. Bien qu'elle soit considérée comme « espèce très préoccupante » dans les plans de conservation des oiseaux de rivage canadiens et américains de 2001 à 2004, les nouvelles données émanant de l'ensemble de l'aire de répartition de l'espèce donnent à penser que la population est plus importante que prévue et relativement stable (Clay et coll. 2010, Andres et coll. 2012). Les hautes toundras alpines dans lesquelles cette espèce pourrait nicher en Colombie-Britannique sont en général confrontées à peu de menaces immédiates, bien que leur étendue future puisse être réduite par suite de l'empiètement des forêts et des arbustes dans les climats qui se réchauffent. La recherche continue d'habitats alpins et de toundra propices au nord et au centre de la Colombie-Britannique devrait fournir de meilleurs renseignements sur l'état et le nombre d'individus de cette espèce.

Alan E. Burger

Citation recommandée: Burger, A.E. 2015. Pluvier bronzé dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AGPL&lang=fr [20 mai 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley