Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Alder Flycatcher, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - Alder Flycatcher
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Alder Flycatcher
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Alder Flycatcher
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Alder Flycatcher
Empidonax alnorum
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
4 - 1721 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
27 131 918 640
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.803 (-2.79 - 2.8)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.963 (-1.62 - 0.288)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.160.34 0.070.18 0.17
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.150.55 0.21  0.19
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.170.16 0.08  0.17

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.310.1 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.160.120.18
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.16 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.10.160.19

Characteristics and Range When it comes to identification, the Alder and Willow Flycatchers are a confusing species pair in a confusing genus. These two are almost identical in appearance, and can be distinguished in the field only by vocalizations. Combined for many years as the "Traill's Flycatcher", the two were split into separate species as a result of research carried out by Robert Stein in the Cariboo region of British Columbia (Stein 1963). The Alder Flycatcher, the more northerly breeder of the species-pair, has a wide breeding range, mostly in the Northern Forest biome, from western Alaska to the Atlantic Coast, and south to the southern Appalachian Mountains. It migrates very long distances to winter from Mexico south to Argentina.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Alder Flycatcher breeds throughout northern and central British Columbia, but is absent from Haida Gwaii, Vancouver Island, and the coastal mainland south of Douglas Channel-Kitimat Arm. It is not known to breed in the province south of the southern Cariboo Plateau and the Columbia River valley around Revelstoke at 51░N. However, there are a number of records of singing males on territory in the Nicola Valley and in southeastern British Columbia, and occasional breeding in these areas is a distinct possibility. There is little, if any, change in range from that described by Campbell et al. (1997); some of the few records cited by these authors in southern, coastal British Columbia are now believed to be erroneous.

The Probability of Observation for this species is consistently highest in the Taiga Plains and Boreal Plains ecoprovinces, especially the former, which also supports the highest local abundance on point counts; Campbell et al. (1997) also considered the Taiga Plains to support the highest numbers. Secondary patches of abundance occur on the Interior Plateau, and around the Rocky Mountain Trench where the Sub-Boreal Interior, Central Interior, and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces converge. It is most common between altitudes of 250 and 1,000 m, and is rarely encountered above 1,250 m altitude.

This species is found in thickets of deciduous shrubs or small trees such as alder (Alnus), willow (Salix), and birch (Betula) species, usually but not always in wet areas close to ponds, lakes, or streams. It will also use shrub thickets in drier areas such as along rights-of-way. The Alder Flycatcher and the Willow Flycatcher appear to show little difference in habitat preference where their ranges overlap.

Conservation and Recommendations The Alder Flycatcher has shown a long-term, continent-wide decline based on the Breeding Bird Survey database (Sauer et al. 2014); and recent declines in the Boreal Taiga Plains Bird Conservation Region may be a cause for concern (Environment Canada 2011). However, because the Alder Flycatcher is still one of the most abundant birds in northern British Columbia and nearby areas, and because populations are increasing in some other parts of its range, no significant conservation concerns have been expressed.

Wayne C. Weber

Recommended citation: Weber, W.C. 2015. Alder Flycatcher in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=ALFL&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Moucherolle des aulnes, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Moucherolle des aulnes
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Moucherolle des aulnes
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Moucherolle des aulnes
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Moucherolle des aulnes
Empidonax alnorum

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
4 - 1721 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
27 131 918 640
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.803 (-2.79 - 2.8)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.963 (-1.62 - 0.288)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.160.34 0.070.18 0.17
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.150.55 0.21  0.19
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.170.16 0.08  0.17

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.310.1 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.160.120.18
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.16 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.10.160.19

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Moucherolle des aulnes et le Moucherolle des saules constituent une paire d'espèces et de genres que l'on peut confondre lorsque vient le temps de les identifier. Comme leur apparence est presque identique, seuls leurs chants permettent de les distinguer. Combinés pendant des années sous le nom de « Moucherolle de Traill », ces deux types de moucherolles ont été divisés en espèces séparées à la suite de recherches menées par Robert Stein dans la région de Cariboo située en Colombie-Britannique (Stein 1963). Le Moucherolle des aulnes, celui qui niche le plus au nord dans cette paire d'espèces, occupe une vaste aire de reproduction, majoritairement dans le biome forestier du nord, de l'ouest de l'Alaska jusqu'à la côte de l'Atlantique, et du sud jusque dans le sud des Appalaches. Il migre sur de très longues distances afin d'hiverner dans le sud du Mexique jusqu'en Argentine.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Moucherolle des aulnes se reproduit dans le nord et le centre de la Colombie-Britannique, mais est absent de l'archipel Haida Gwaii, de l'île de Vancouver et de la zone continentale côtière située au sud du chenal Douglas et du bras Kitimat. Il n'est pas reconnu pour se reproduire dans la partie méridionale de la province située au sud du plateau Cariboo et dans la vallée du fleuve Columbia autour de la ville de Revelstoke située au 51e parallèle. On relève toutefois un certain nombre d'observations de mâles chanteurs sur le territoire de la vallée Nicola et du sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Une reproduction occasionnelle dans ces régions y est donc très possible. Comme il n'y a que peu de changement, voire aucun, dans l'aire de répartition décrite dans l'étude de Campbell et coll. (1997), on pense aujourd'hui que certaines des mentions citées par ces auteurs dans la zone côtière méridionale de la Colombie-Britannique sont erronées.

La probabilité d'observation de cette espèce est uniformément plus élevée dans les écoprovinces des Plaines de la taïga et des Plaines boréales, particulièrement la première, qui abrite également l'abondance locale la plus élevée selon les dénombrements ponctuels; Campbell et coll. (1997) ont également constaté que les Plaines de la taïga comportaient les taux les plus élevés d'observation. Des parcelles d'abondance secondaires sont par ailleurs constatées sur le plateau intérieur et autour du sillon des montagnes Rocheuses où les écoprovinces de l'Intérieur subboréal, du Centre boréal et du Sud intérieur convergent. L'espèce est plus courante entre 250 et 1 000 m d'altitude, et est rarement observée au-dessus de 1 250 m d'altitude.

Elle occupe les fourrés d'arbustes à feuillage ou de petits arbres tels que l'aulne (Alnus), le saule (Salix) et le bouleau (Betula) qui sont situés habituellement, mais pas toujours, dans les zones humides près des étangs, des lacs ou des ruisseaux. Il utilise également les bosquets d'arbustes dans les zones sèches, par exemple le long des emprises de chemin de fer. Le Moucherolle des aulnes et le Moucherolle des saules semblent démontrer peu de différence dans leur préférence d'habitat où leurs aires de répartition se chevauchent.

Conservation et recommandations Selon la base de données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (Sauer et coll. 2014), le Moucherolle des aulnes a connu un déclin à long terme à l'échelle du continent; en outre, les déclins récents dans la région de conservation des oiseaux des Plaines boréales de la taïga pourraient s'avérer une source de préoccupation (Environnement Canada 2011). Toutefois, comme le Moucherolle des aulnes est encore l'un des oiseaux les plus abondants dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique et dans les zones avoisinantes et que ses populations augmentent de plus en plus au fil du temps dans certaines parties de son aire de répartition, l'espèce ne soulève aucune inquiétude importante en matière de conservation.

Wayne C. Weber

Citation recommandée: Weber, W.C. 2015. Moucherolle des aulnes dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=ALFL&lang=fr [20 oct. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley