Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Anna's Hummingbird, Jess Findlay
Photo © Jess Findlay

Photo: Jess Findlay
Breeding evidence - Anna's Hummingbird
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Anna's Hummingbird
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Anna's Hummingbird
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Anna's Hummingbird
Calypte anna
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
2 - 530 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
35 15 27 14
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
      0.15
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.15  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.17
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.1  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The noisy, adaptive, and highly visible Anna's Hummingbird has become a common sight and sound in the southwest corner of British Columbia. Since the 1930s, it has expanded north and east from a range that was previously restricted to coastal California, likely assisted by an increase in non-native flowering plants and sugar-water feeders (Clark and Russell 2012). It arrived in British Columbia in the 1940s, but breeding has only been known here since 1986 (Barnard and Campbell 2007). It is one of British Columbia's earliest breeding birds, starting to nest-build in mid-winter. Females can quickly re-nest (Scarfe and Finlay 2001), some females initiating second nests while young are still in the first nests, and sometimes taking and reusing nesting material from occupied nests (Moran pers. Obs.); one female has been recorded making four consecutive overlapping nests in one season (Pittman 2014).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Anna's Hummingbird is a resident in the southwest of the province, but may make local movements. Since the publication of The Birds of British Columbia, the breeding range of the species has expanded in coastal British Columbia to include the entire lower Fraser Valley, the southern Gulf Islands and southern and eastern Vancouver Island, with occasional records during the breeding season north to the mouth of the Stikine River. In the interior, the Atlas confirmed breeding in the Similkameen watershed and documented records in the Shuswap and the Okanagan, but with no confirmed breeding in those areas.

The centre of Anna's Hummingbird abundance is the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince, but even here Probability of Observation values were low to moderate, and it was recorded on <0.1% of point counts, mostly at low elevations in the Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zone.

The Anna's Hummingbird is most commonly found in open habitats associated with humans. It is particularly successful in urban areas, obtaining nectar from native and non-native flowers in gardens and parks. It uses and defends feeders, and also uses sapsucker wells for early morning and late evening feeding. It hawks for small flying prey, even in winter months in urban areas, where warmer conditions may contribute to an elevated supply of insects. The female is often observed collecting calcium salts, needed for breeding, from exposed sources in the urban environment, such as the grouting on buildings and paving stones. The Anna's Hummingbird generally builds well-camouflaged nests in deciduous shrubs and trees, but will also use conifers such as Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii). Nests may also be located in garden plants beside houses or even on raised man-made fixtures such as wind chimes. Nests are commonly 1-3 m above the ground, although some nests are higher, including re-used Rufous Hummingbird nests (Barnard and Campbell 2007).

Conservation and Recommendations The Anna's hummingbird population in British Columbia is increasing, secure, and not considered a conservation concern. The British Columbia Responsibility Score may increase as the proportion of the global population in British Columbia increases. Monitoring of population trends and range expansion should continue via Christmas Bird Counts, banding programs and eBird records. Research into fecundity and seasonal movements is required.

Alison Moran and David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Moran, A. and D.F. Fraser. 2015. Anna's Hummingbird in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=ANHU&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Colibri d'Anna, Jess Findlay
Photo © Jess Findlay

Photo: Jess Findlay
Indices de nidification - Colibri d'Anna
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Colibri d'Anna
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Colibri d'Anna
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Colibri d'Anna
Calypte anna

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
2 - 530 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
35 15 27 14
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
      0.15
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.15  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.17
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.1  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Colibri d'Anna, bruyant, adaptable et très visible, est devenu un spectacle familier et son chant est bien connu dans le coin sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Depuis les années 1930, il s'est répandu vers le nord et l'est depuis une aire de répartition qui était précédemment limitée à la région côtière de la Californie, en quoi il a probablement été aidé par une augmentation des plantes à fleurs non indigènes et les mangeoires d'eau sucrée (Clark et Russell 2012). Il est arrivé en Colombie-Britannique dans les années 1940, mais on n'y connaît une nidification que depuis 1986 (Barnard et Campbell 2007). C'est un des oiseaux qui se reproduit le plus tôt en Colombie-Britannique, car il commence à construire son nid au milieu de l'hiver. Les femelles peuvent rapidement construire un nouveau nid (Scarfe et Finlay 2001), et certaines femelles commencent à construire un second nid pendant que les jeunes sont encore dans le premier, prélevant et réutilisant parfois le matériel de nids occupés (Moran, observation personnelle); on a observé une femelle bâtir quatre nids consécutifs qui se chevauchaient en une seule saison (Pittman 2014).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Colibri d'Anna est un oiseau sédentaire du sud-ouest de la province, mais il peut se déplacer localement. Depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia, l'aire de nidification de l'espèce s'est étendue dans la région côtière de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu'à inclure la totalité de la basse vallée du Fraser, les îles du Golfe du sud et le sud et l'est de l'île de Vancouver, avec des relevés occasionnels pendant la saison de reproduction vers le nord jusqu'à l'embouchure de la rivière Stikine. Dans l'intérieur, L'Atlas a confirmé la nidification dans le bassin versant de la Similkameen et décrit des relevés dans le Shuswap et l'Okanagan, mais sans reproduction confirmée dans ces régions.

Le centre de l'abondance du Colibri d'Anna est l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia, mais même à cet endroit, les valeurs de probabilité d'observation étaient faibles à modérées, et on l'a relevé dans <0,1 % des dénombrements par point, principalement à de faibles altitudes dans la zone biogéoclimatique à douglas.

On trouve le Colibri d'Anna le plus communément dans des habitats ouverts associés aux humains. Il réussit particulièrement bien dans les régions urbaines, car il obtient son nectar de fleurs indigènes et non indigènes dans les jardins et les parcs. Il utilise et défend les mangeoires et utilise également les puits de pics buveurs de sève pour manger tôt le matin et tard le soir. Il poursuit en vol de petites proies volantes, même pendant les mois d'hiver dans les régions urbaines, où les conditions plus chaudes peuvent contribuer à un approvisionnement plus abondant d'insectes. On observe souvent la femelle qui collecte les sels de calcium don?t elle a besoin pour nicher à partir de sources exposées dans l'environnement urbain, notamment le lait de ciment sur les immeubles et les pavés. Le Colibri d'Anna construit généralement des nids bien camouflés dans des arbustes et des arbres à feuilles caduques, mais il utilisera également des conifères comme le Douglas taxifolié (Pseudotsuga menziesii). On peut également trouver des nids dans des plantes de jardin à côté des maisons, voire sur des accessoires en hauteur anthropiques, tels que des carillons éoliens. Les nids se trouvent habituellement de 1 à 3 mètres au-dessus du sol, bien que certains nids se trouvent plus hauts, y compris les nids réutilisés du Colibri roux (Barnard et Campbell 2007).

Conservation et recommandations La population de Colibri d'Anna en Colombie-Britannique augmente, est sûre, et n'est pas considérée comme une préoccupation en matière de conservation. La note de responsabilité de la Colombie-Britannique peut augmenter à mesure que la proportion de la population mondiale vivant en Colombie-Britannique augmente. La surveillance des tendances de la population et l'expansion de l'aire de répartition devraient se poursuivre au moyen des Recensements d'oiseaux de Noël, de programmes de baguage et de registres électroniques d'oiseaux. La recherche sur la fertilité et les mouvements saisonniers s'impose.

Alison Moran and David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Moran, A. and D.F. Fraser. 2015. Colibri d'Anna dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=ANHU&lang=fr [28 mai 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley