Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Bald Eagle, Ron Ridout
Photo © Ron Ridout

Photo: Ron Ridout
Breeding evidence - Bald Eagle
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Bald Eagle
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Bald Eagle
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Bald Eagle
Haliaeetus leucocephalus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 2005 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
5
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
539 183 811 349
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.73 (1.32 - 4.26)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 3.32 (1.98 - 4.69)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.160.02 0.090.07 0.2
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.160.02 0.020.15 0.08
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.070.08 0.09  0.26

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.030.110.17
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.210.070.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.12 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.050.090.050.07

Characteristics and Range The Bald Eagle is a large, powerful North American raptor that has undergone dramatic population fluctuations over the past two centuries. Once abundant, it declined during the 1900s initially through hunting and then pesticides, primarily DDT, lowering reproductive output. Today, the Bald Eagle is a conservation success story, with populations recovering across the continent; it now breeds as far south as the Florida Keys in the east and Baja California in the west. The Bald Eagle is versatile in its prey choice, which may have assisted the population recovery; it takes a wide range of fish, birds, mammals and reptiles, and also scavenges prey or pirates food from other species. On the Pacific Coast, Bald Eagles are now consuming more birds, such as gulls and waterfowl (Hayward et al. 2010, Vermeer and Morgan 1989, White et al. 2011), and locally even refuse (Elliott et al. 2006), perhaps in response to competition for fish prey.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Bald Eagle is widely distributed throughout British Columbia, especially along the coast, and in inland regions with extensive, treed river and lakeshore habitats. The Atlas fills distribution gaps in the north, especially around Williston Lake, compared with The Birds of British Columbia published in 1990. Highest Probabilities of Observation are in the Coast and Mountains and Georgia Depression ecoprovinces, and far northwestern rivers draining into the Pacific Ocean, with point count data indicating that local abundance is highest in the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince. The Probability of Observation model corresponds well with Bald Eagle distribution, showing moderate to high Pobs values along major rivers, lakes and reservoirs in southern and central interior regions, and Williston Lake in the Sub-Boreal Interior Ecoprovince. Point count data indicate that local abundance in the interior is much lower than along the coast. Most Bald Eagles breed below 500 m elevation.

The Bald Eagle is primarily associated with aquatic habitats, especially estuaries and fjords along the coast, and rivers, lakes, and reservoirs with forested shorelines or cliffs in the interior. Eagles mate for life, and build their nests near the tops of large trees, which they typically use and enlarge each year. There may be one or more alternate nests within a breeding territory. In treeless regions, nests may be located on cliffs or the ground. Although susceptible to human disturbance, Bald Eagles nest in urban and suburban areas when sufficiently large nest trees are present; in Vancouver, the number of active Bald Eagle nests increased from 5 to 16 from 2004-2009, with 12 active nests recorded in 2013 (Straker 2013).

Conservation and Recommendations Data from raptor migration studies suggest the western North America population has been stable since the late 1990s (Farmer et al. 2008), although winter surveys indicate a slight declining trend in the southern Strait of Georgia (Crewe et al. 2012). The population in British Columbia may be re-establishing an equilibrium level after a strong recovery period over the last two decades. Whilst there are no population level concerns, individual Bald Eagles may be vulnerable to threats such as pesticides, collisions with power lines, oil spills, loss of shoreline nesting, perching, roosting, and associated aquatic foraging habitat to human development, disturbance, fishing gear entanglement, and reduction in high quality fish prey (Fraser et al. 1985, 1996).

Karen L. Barry

Recommended citation: Barry, K.L. 2015. Bald Eagle in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BAEA&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pygargue à tête blanche, Ron Ridout
Photo © Ron Ridout

Photo: Ron Ridout
Indices de nidification - Pygargue à tête blanche
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Pygargue à tête blanche
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Pygargue à tête blanche
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pygargue à tête blanche
Haliaeetus leucocephalus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 2005 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
5
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
539 183 811 349
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.73 (1.32 - 4.26)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 3.32 (1.98 - 4.69)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.160.02 0.090.07 0.2
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.160.02 0.020.15 0.08
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.070.08 0.09  0.26

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.030.110.17
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.210.070.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.12 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.050.090.050.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Pygargue à tête blanche est un grand et puissant rapace nord-américain ayant subi des fluctuations de populations importantes au cours des deux derniers siècles. Alors que l'espèce était autrefois abondante, celle-ci a connu un déclin au cours du 20e siècle; au départ en raison de la chasse, puis en raison des pesticides, principalement le DDT, diminuant ainsi l'efficacité de la reproduction. Aujourd'hui, le Pygargue à tête blanche s'avère une véritable réussite en matière de conservation avec le rétablissement des populations dans l'ensemble du continent; il se reproduit désormais aussi loin dans le sud que les Keys de la Floride dans l'est et la Basse-Californie dans l'ouest. Le Pygargue à tête blanche est polyvalent dans le choix de ses proies, ce qui a aidé au rétablissement des populations; il se nourrit de nombreuses espèces de poissons, d'oiseaux, de mammifères et de reptiles en plus de se nourrir de débris d'animaux morts ou de voler la nourriture d'autres espèces. Sur la côte du Pacifique, le Pygargue à tête blanche consomme aujourd'hui davantage d'oiseaux, comme des mouettes et des sauvagines (Hayward et coll. 2010, Vermeer et Morgan 1989, White et coll. 2011), et même de façon locale des déchets (Elliott et coll. 2006), peut-être en raison de la concurrence pour le poisson qu'il livre avec d'autres espèces.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Pygargue à tête blanche est largement réparti dans l'ensemble de la Colombie-Britannique, surtout le long de la côte et dans les régions intérieures composées d'habitats étendus, de boisés riverains et de rives de lacs. Si l'on compare avec The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990, l'Atlas comble les lacunes en matière de répartition dans le nord, surtout autour du lac Williston. Les plus fortes probabilités d'observation se trouvent dans les écoprovinces des Côtes et montagnes et de la dépression de Géorgie, et les rivières éloignées du nord-ouest se déversant dans l'océan Pacifique. Les données de dénombrement ponctuel indiquent par ailleurs que l'abondance locale est plus élevée dans l'écoprovince des Côtes et montagnes. Le modèle de probabilité d'observation correspond bien à la répartition du Pygargue à tête blanche, démontrant des valeurs de probabilité d'observation de moyennes à élevées le long des principales rivières et des principaux lacs et réservoirs des régions intérieures du sud et du centre, ainsi qu'au lac Williston situé dans l'écoprovince de l'Intérieur subboréal. Les données de dénombrement ponctuel indiquent que l'abondance locale dans la zone intérieure est beaucoup plus faible que le long de la côte. La plupart des Pygargues à tête blanche se reproduisent en dessous de 500 m d'altitude.

Le Pygargue à tête blanche est principalement associé aux habitats aquatiques, particulièrement les estuaires et les fjords le long de la côte ainsi que les rivières, les lacs et les réservoirs comportant des rives boisées ou des falaises dans la zone intérieure. Les aigles forment des couples pour la vie et construisent leur nid près des cimes de grands arbres, qu'ils utilisent chaque année. Il peut y avoir un nid de rechange ou plus au sein d'un même territoire de reproduction. Dans les régions déboisées, les nids peuvent être situés sur des falaises ou sur le sol. Bien qu'ils soient sensibles à la perturbation anthropique, les Pygargues à tête blanche nichent dans les régions urbaines et les banlieues lorsqu'il y a des arbres suffisamment grands pour la nidification; à Vancouver, le nombre de nids de Pygargues à tête blanche a augmenté de 5 à 16 entre 2004 et 2009, et 12 nids actifs ont été relevés en 2013 (Straker 2013).

Conservation et recommandations Les données découlant des études sur la migration des rapaces suggèrent que la population vivant dans l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord est stable depuis la fin des années 1990 (Farmer et coll. 2008), bien que les relevés d'hiver indiquent une tendance légèrement à la baisse dans le sud du détroit de Géorgie (Crewe et coll. 2012). La population en Colombie-Britannique pourrait rétablir l'équilibre après une forte période de rétablissement au cours des deux dernières décennies. Bien qu'il n'y ait aucune préoccupation en matière des niveaux de population, les Pygargues à tête blanche pourraient être vulnérables aux menaces telles que les pesticides, les collisions avec des lignes électriques, les déversements pétroliers, la disparition des lieux de nidification, de perchoir et de repos et d'habitat d'alimentation aquatique, le développement humain, les perturbations, l'enchevêtrement dans des engins de pêche et la diminution de poissons de haute qualité (Fraser et coll. 1985, 1996).

Karen L. Barry

Citation recommandée: Barry, K.L. 2015. Pygargue à tête blanche dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BAEA&lang=fr [06 juil. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley