Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Barrow's Goldeneye, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Breeding evidence - Barrow's Goldeneye
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Barrow's Goldeneye
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Barrow's Goldeneye
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Barrow's Goldeneye
Bucephala islandica
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 2119 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
2
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
267 168 268 103
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.539 (-3.82 - 2.04)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.405 (-3.47 - 2.04)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.240.02 0.220.17 0.1
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.240.02    0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.120.23 0.21  0.1

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.060.41 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.070.20.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.25 0.33 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.190.250.220.07

Characteristics and Range British Columbia supports about 60% of the world population of breeding and wintering Barrow's Goldeneye (Eadie et al. 2000). Elsewhere, breeding populations occur across the western mountain ranges of North America with small isolated populations in Atlantic coastal areas of Quebec and Labrador. In British Columbia, the majority of the population winters in nearshore coastal waters: the Salish Sea is particularly important, as is Prince William Sound in Alaska. Recent satellite tracking studies have shown that after breeding, most male Barrow's Goldeneyes move to specific lakes in northern Alberta and the Northwest Territories to moult (Hogan et al. 2011).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Barrow's Goldeneye breeds throughout British Columbia, but its core breeding range occurs in the parkland areas of the Southern and Central Interior Ecoprovinces. Few nesting records occur in coastal areas. Atlas work confirms breeding on Vancouver Island and Haida Gwaii that was only suspected when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990.

The Probability of Observation model and small point count data sample indicates that of the two goldeneyes, Barrow's is more abundant and is found over a wider elevation range, and confirm that the centre of the provincial population remains in aspen parkland and the interior dry belt of central British Columbia in the Central Interior and Southern Interior Ecoprovinces (Eadie et al. 2000, Campbell et al. 1990). The Pobs model also highlights an extensive area across the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince with a moderate likelihood of finding the bird. This area is more extensive than was indicated in Campbell et al. (1990).

The Barrow's Goldeneye prefers nesting in association with small alkaline and freshwater lakes and ponds in aspen parkland, open Ponderosa Pine (Pinus ponderosa) forests and agricultural areas, as well as occasionally in subalpine forests and alpine meadows (Campbell et al. 1990). Lakes with fish are generally avoided, as fish compete with the duck for food and larger fish may even prey upon ducklings. The Barrow's Goldeneye nests in both natural cavities and nest boxes. Natural cavities include Pileated Woodpecker and enlarged Northern Flicker nest holes that are typically located in large, mature trees within 200 m of the water's edge, but can be up to 2 km from water (Eadie et al. 2000).

Conservation and Recommendations British Columbia has responsibility for managing the majority of Barrow's Goldeneye breeding and wintering habitat since it has such a large portion of the species' world population, estimated to be less than 200,000 individuals (Eadie et al. 2000). Forestry activities in British Columbia typically target mature and older forest stands that contain larger trees with potential nest cavities and thus likely reduce the amount of nesting habitat. Current provincial forestry regulations only require up to a 50 m buffer of forested habitat to be retained around potential nesting lakes and ponds (Province of British Columbia 2002), potentially isolating suitable nesting habitat and perhaps increasing susceptibility to greater predation. Studies investigating the potential impacts of the current Mountain Pine Beetle (Dendroctonus ponderosae) infestation and the subsequent large-scale salvage of affected mature stands on Barrow's Goldeneye nesting habitat would inform management of the species.

Paul Chytyk and David F Fraser

Recommended citation: Chytyk, P. and Fraser, D.F. 2015. Barrow's Goldeneye in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BAGO&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Garrot d'Islande, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Indices de nidification - Garrot d'Islande
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Garrot d'Islande
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Garrot d'Islande
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Garrot d'Islande
Bucephala islandica

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 2119 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
2
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
267 168 268 103
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.539 (-3.82 - 2.04)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.405 (-3.47 - 2.04)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.240.02 0.220.17 0.1
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.240.02    0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.120.23 0.21  0.1

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.060.41 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.070.20.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.25 0.33 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.190.250.220.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Colombie-Britannique abrite environ 60 % de la population mondiale du Garrot d'Islande nicheur et migrateur (Eadie et coll. 2000). Ailleurs, les populations nicheuses occupent les aires montagnardes de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, alors que des petites populations isolées vivent dans les zones côtières de l'Atlantique du Québec et du Labrador. En Colombie-Britannique, la majorité de la population hiverne dans les eaux côtières à proximité du rivage : la mer des Salish est particulièrement importante pour l'espèce, au même titre que la baie du Prince-William en Alaska. Des études récentes de suivi par satellite ont démontré qu'après la nidification, la plupart des Garrots d'Islande se déplacent vers des lacs précis situés dans le nord de l'Alberta et les Territoires du Nord-Ouest pour muer (Hogan et coll. 2011).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Bien que le Garrot d'Islande se reproduise dans l'ensemble de la Colombie-Britannique, son aire de reproduction principale se trouve dans les zones de prairies des écoprovinces du Sud intérieur et du Centre intérieur. Quelques observations de nidification ont été relevées dans les zones côtières. Les travaux de l'Atlas confirment la reproduction sur l'île de Vancouver et l'archipel Haida Gwaii, lesquels ne faisaient l'objet que de soupçons lors de la parution de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990.

Le modèle de probabilité d'observation et un petit échantillon de données de dénombrement ponctuel indiquent que, entre les deux espèces de garrot, le Garrot d'Islande est plus abondant et occupe une aire d'altitude plus vaste. Ils confirment également que le centre de la population provinciale demeure dans les tremblaies-parcs et la ceinture sèche intérieure du centre de la Colombie-Britannique dans les écoprovinces du Centre intérieur et du Sud intérieur (Eadie et coll. 2000, Campbell et coll. 1990). Le modèle de probabilité d'observation met également en évidence une zone étendue dans l'écoprovince des Montagnes boréales du nord et un taux de probabilité moyenne de trouver cet oiseau. Cette zone est plus étendue que ce qui est indiqué dans l'étude de Campbell et coll. (1990).

Le Garrot d'Islande préfère nicher près des petits lacs d'eau douce et alcaline et des étangs que l'on trouve dans les tremblaies-parcs, les forêts de pins ponderosa (Pinus ponderosa) et les zones agricoles, ainsi qu'occasionnellement dans les forêts subalpines et les prés alpins (Campbell et coll. 1990). L'espèce évite généralement les lacs contenant du poisson, car celui-ci fait concurrence au canard pour la nourriture et les plus gros poissons peuvent s'attaquer aux canetons. Le Garrot d'Islande niche dans les cavités naturelles et les nichoirs. Les cavités naturelles comprennent les cavités de nidification du Grand pic et les cavités plus grandes du Pic flamboyant qui sont généralement situées dans de gros arbres matures à moins de 200 m du bord de l'eau, mais qui peuvent être situées jusqu'à 2 km d'un plan d'eau (Eadie et coll. 2000).

Conservation et recommandations Il incombe à la Colombie-Britannique de gérer la majorité de l'habitat de reproduction et d'hivernage du Garrot d'Islande, puisqu'elle abrite une si grande partie de la population mondiale de l'espèce que l'on estime s'élever à moins de 200 000 individus (Eadie et coll. 2000). Les activités forestières en Colombie-Britannique ciblent habituellement les peuplements forestiers matures et anciens qui contiennent de plus gros arbres où il est possible de creuser des cavités de nidification, ce qui réduit la quantité d'habitats de nidification. La réglementation provinciale actuelle en matière d'exploitation forestière n'exige que la conservation d'une zone tampon de 50 m de l'habitat forestier autour des lacs et des étangs de nidification potentiels (Province de la Colombie-Britannique 2002), isolant potentiellement l'habitat de nidification propice et augmentant peut-être la vulnérabilité à une plus grande prédation. Des études sur les incidences potentielles de l'infestation actuelle de dendroctone du pin ponderosa (Dendroctonus ponderosae) et la récupération subséquente à grande échelle des peuplements matures touchés sur l'habitat de nidification du Garrot d'Islande éclaireraient la gestion de l'espèce.

Paul Chytyk and David F Fraser

Citation recommandée: Chytyk, P. and Fraser, D.F. 2015. Garrot d'Islande dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BAGO&lang=fr [26 janv. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley