Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Bewick's Wren, John Gordon
Photo © John Gordon

Photo: John Gordon
Breeding evidence - Bewick's Wren
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Bewick's Wren
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Bewick's Wren
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Bewick's Wren
Thryomanes bewickii
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
2 - 649 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
2
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
64 22 64 72
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -3.49 (-5.61 - -1.34)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -3.25 (-5.35 - -0.951)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.14  0.15
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.15  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
      0.18

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.24
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.07  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Bewick's Wren is a boldly marked but often skulking songster. It is endemic to North America, mainly resident in western biomes, and a short-distance migrant or resident in southeastern biomes, reaching its southern range limit in the Mexican Sierra Madre. It is unusual in having undergone major range expansion and contraction over the past century and a half. In the mid-late 1800s it expanded across much of eastern North America, but between the 1920s and 1970s retracted again, and is now very rare east of the Mississippi River. It has also recently declined in western and southern portions of the continent (Kennedy and White 2013).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Bewick's Wren occupies the far southwest corner of the province, where its range maps rather neatly onto the boundaries of the Georgia Depression, the core of the provincial population. Its distribution here appears to have changed little since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997. In the Southern Interior, however, a scattering of records indicate a small range expansion, with breeding confirmed in the valley floors of the Okanagan and Kettle rivers respectively. These are likely birds moving into British Columbia from the lower reaches of these rivers in Washington, to the south.

Atlas point counts show highest abundance in the Georgia Depression in the Coastal Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zone; abundance is much lower in the Coastal Western Hemlock zone. Bewick's Wren abundance is four times higher below 250 m than above that elevation, although it occupies elevation ranges of 0-500 m in the Georgia Depression and 250-650 m in the Southern Interior. Campbell et al. (1997) note that nesting mainly occurs below 100 m, with a maximum elevation reported for breeding of 225 m. The Atlas recorded breeding at 500 m in the Kettle River valley in the Southern Interior.

The species uses a wide variety of edge habitats in natural and anthropogenic landscapes, including conifer and mixed deciduous forests, riparian woodland, farmland, and parks and gardens in suburban and urban areas. One feature consistent to all of these habitats is patches of dense understorey vegetation, like Salmonberry (Rubus spectabilis), Nootka Rose (Rosa nutkana), Salal (Gaultheria shallon) and blackberry (Ribus) species in coastal regions, and Saskatoon (Amelanchier alnifolia) and European Hawthorn (Crataegus monogyna) in the interior.

Conservation and Recommendations The Province of British Columbia has a high responsibility for Bewick's Wren conservation, so ongoing long-term population declines across North America, including within its British Columbia range, are a concern. Southern and eastern populations of Bewick's Wren have been impacted by the range expansion of egg-removing House Wrens (Kennedy and White 1996). This may not be a major factor in British Columbia, where habitat loss and degradation resulting from industrial and residential development in the Georgia Depression are more likely impacts. Research is required to identify the causes of the decline and propose conservation solutions.

Peter J.A. Davidson

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Bewick's Wren in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BEWR&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Troglodyte de Bewick, John Gordon
Photo © John Gordon

Photo: John Gordon
Indices de nidification - Troglodyte de Bewick
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Troglodyte de Bewick
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Troglodyte de Bewick
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Troglodyte de Bewick
Thryomanes bewickii

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
2 - 649 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
2
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
64 22 64 72
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -3.49 (-5.61 - -1.34)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -3.25 (-5.35 - -0.951)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.14  0.15
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.15  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
      0.18

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.24
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.07  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Troglodyte de Bewick est un oiseau chanteur au plumage voyant, mais qui est souvent furtif. Il est endémique à l'Amérique du Nord et réside principalement dans les biomes de l'ouest et il est sédentaire ou migre sur de courtes distances dans les biomes du sud-est, atteignant la limite méridionale de son aire de répartition dans la Sierra Madre mexicaine. Il est hors du commun parce qu'il a subi d'importantes expansions et contractions de son aire de répartition au cours du dernier siècle et demi. Au milieu des années 1800, il s'est répandu sur une grande partie de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord, mais entre les années 1920 et 1970, il s'est de nouveau retiré, et il est à présent très rare à l'est du Mississippi. Sa présence a également décliné récemment dans les parties ouest et sud du continent (Kennedy et White 2013).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Troglodyte de Bewick occupe l'extrême coin sud-ouest de la province, où son aire de répartition selon l'Atlas se superpose plutôt bien avec les limites de la Dépression de Georgia, le centre de la population provinciale. Sa distribution à cet endroit semble avoir peu changé depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia. Dans l'Intérieur sud, cependant, quelques relevés indiquent une faible expansion de l'aire de répartition, la nidification étant confirmée sur le fond des vallées des rivières Okanagan et Kettle respectivement. Il s'agit probablement d'oiseaux qui arrivent en Colombie-Britannique depuis les cours inférieurs de ces rivières dans l'État de Washington, au sud.

Les dénombrements par point de l'Atlas indiquent que la plus forte abondance se trouve dans la Dépression de Georgia, dans la zone biogéoclimatique côtière à douglas ; l'abondance était bien moindre dans la zone côtière à pruche de l'Ouest. L'abondance du Troglodyte de Bewick était quatre fois plus élevées à des altitudes inférieures à 250 mètres qu'au-dessus, bien qu'il occupe une tranche d'altitude de 0 à 500 mètres dans la Dépression de Georgia et de 250 à 650 mètres dans l'Intérieur sud. Campbell et coll. (1997) ont relevé que la nidification a principalement lieu à moins de 100 mètres, avec une altitude maximale signalée pour la nidification de 225 mètres. L'Atlas a relevé une nidification à 500 mètres dans la vallée de la rivière Kettle dans l'Intérieur sud.

L'espèce utilise une grande variété d'habitats de lisière dans des paysages naturels et anthropiques, notamment les forêts de conifères et mixtes d'arbres à feuilles caduques, les terres boisées riveraines, les terres agricoles et les parcs et jardins dans les régions suburbaines et urbaines. Une caractéristique cohérente de tous ces habitats sont des parcelles de végétation de sous-étage dense, comme la Ronce élégante (Rubus spectabilis), le Rosier de Nootka (Rosa nutkana), la Gaulthérie Shallon (Gaultheria shallon) et les espèces de mûres (Ribus) dans les régions côtières, et l'amélanchier (Amelanchier alnifolia) et l'Aubépine monogyne (Crataegus monogyna) dans l'Intérieur.

Conservation et recommandations La province de Colombie-Britannique assume une grande responsabilité pour la conservation du Troglodyte de Bewick, et par conséquent, les déclins à long terme continus de la population dans toute l'Amérique du Nord, y compris dans l'aire de répartition de Colombie-Britannique, sont préoccupants. Les populations du sud et de l'est du Troglodyte de Bewick ont été touchées par l'expansion de l'aire de répartition des Troglodytes familiers qui volent des oeufs (Kennedy et White 1996). Ceci n'est peut-être pas un facteur important en Colombie-Britannique, où la perte et la dégradation de l'habitat résultant du développement d'ensembles industriel et résidentiels dans la Dépression de Georgia sont des impacts plus probables. Il faut mener une recherche pour déterminer les causes du déclin et proposer des solutions de conservation.

Peter J.A. Davidson

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Troglodyte de Bewick dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BEWR&lang=fr [23 juil. 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley