Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Black Tern, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Breeding evidence - Black Tern
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Black Tern
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Black Tern
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Black Tern
Chlidonias niger
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
403 - 1408 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
34 30 59 25
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1971 - 2012 -2.37 (-6.17 - 1.42)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -2.85 (-5.79 - -0.63)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.08 0.350.21  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
 0.07 0.08  0.19
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.160.28 0.35   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.080.48 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.18
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.280.21

Characteristics and Range Quoted here in part, Bent (1921) provides the most evocative description of this graceful, freshwater tern: "a restless waif of the air, flitting about hither and thither with a wayward, desultory flight, light and buoyant as a butterfly...". The Black Tern breeds in colonies in productive wetlands at temperate latitudes across Europe, Central Asia and North America, migrating south to winter along the tropical coasts of Africa and Central and South America. In North America the core breeding range of the Black Tern is the Canadian Prairies, but extends north to the Boreal Forest, east to the Great Lakes, west to the Cascade Mountains, and south to the Sierra Nevada and southern Rocky Mountains (Heath et al. 2009).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat During the Atlas, Black Terns were confirmed breeding east of the Coast Mountains in areas of the lower Thompson, Peace, Fort Nelson, and Fraser river drainages with higher densities of wetlands. Breeding is much as depicted when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, except that during the Atlas period no breeding or suspected breeding was noted for the Georgia Depression, where it was a rare and local breeder in the early 1960s (Campbell et al. 1990).

The highest probability of observing Black Terns roughly matches the clusters of confirmed breeding records, in patches in the Central Interior, Sub-boreal Interior and Boreal and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces. Observers are more than twice as likely to find terns in these areas as in any other ecoprovince. Breeding was noted between 400 and 1,400 m, but 60% of the observations appear to be clustered in the range of 600-800 m elevation. Most colonies were very small (fewer than 15 adult birds or less than 5 nests). Six colonies with 15 or more nests or 30 or more adults were recorded: three in the Cariboo, two in the Peace River lowlands and one in the Fort Nelson River lowlands.

The preferred breeding habitats are shallow, freshwater marshes, ponds and lakes with emergent aquatic vegetation. These wetlands are usually in open, forested habitats and sometimes grasslands. Nests are floating and placed within vegetation such as Cattail (Typha latifolia) or bulrush (Scirpus) species. Suitable wetlands occurred in a range of different biogeoclimatic zones; wetland productivity is a better indicator of Black Tern suitability than biogeoclimatic zone.

Conservation and Recommendations Although Black Terns are considered not at risk in Canada or British Columbia (Environment Canada 2011), and British Columbia's global responsibility for conservation stewardship is low, Breeding Bird Survey data for Canada indicate a long-term decreasing trend, Atlas observations suggested a reduction in range in British Columbia, and Gerson (1987) recommended a status of threatened for Canada. Fluctuating breeding numbers and a continued sense that overall numbers have declined in British Columbia suggest the need to further document the distribution, breeding success and trends in the province. Conservation of wetlands in mitigation of climate change impacts should benefit Black Terns.

Rick Howie

Recommended citation: Howie, R. 2015. Black Tern in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BLTE&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Guifette noire, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Indices de nidification - Guifette noire
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Guifette noire
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Guifette noire
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Guifette noire
Chlidonias niger

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
403 - 1408 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
34 30 59 25
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1971 - 2012 -2.37 (-6.17 - 1.42)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -2.85 (-5.79 - -0.63)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.08 0.350.21  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
 0.07 0.08  0.19
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.160.28 0.35   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.080.48 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.18
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.280.21

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Bent (1921) dont nous traduisons une partie du texte ici, donne la description la plus évocatrice de cette gracieuse sterne d'eau douce : « fille impétueuse des airs, voletant de-ci de-là de son vol capricieux et décousu, légère et flottant comme un papillon ». La Guifette noire niche en colonies sur des terres humides productives à des latitudes tempérées dans toute l'Europe, l'Asie centrale et l'Amérique du Nord, et migre vers le sud pour hiverner le long des côtes tropicales de l'Afrique et de l'Amérique centrale et du Sud. En Amérique du Nord, l'aire de nidification principale de la Guifette noire sont les prairies canadiennes, mais elle s'étend vers le nord jusqu'à la forêt boréale, vers l'est jusqu'aux Grands Lacs, vers l'ouest jusqu'aux monts Cascades et vers le sud jusqu'à la Sierra Nevada et le sud des montagnes Rocheuses (Heath et coll. 2009).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Durant la période de l'Atlas, la nidification de la Guifette noire a été confirmée à l'est de la chaîne Côtière dans les régions des bassins inférieurs de drainage des rivières Thompson, Fort Nelson, Fraser et de la Paix avec des densités plus élevées de terres humides. L'aire de reproduction est dans l'ensemble semblable à celle dépeinte lors de la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990, à l'exception du fait que durant la période de l'Atlas, aucune reproduction ou reproduction soupçonnée n'a été notée pour la Dépression de Georgia, alors que l'espèce était au début des années 1960 un oiseau nicheur rare et local (Campbell et coll. 1990).

La plus forte probabilité d'observation de la Guifette noire correspond à peu près aux groupes de relevés de reproduction confirmés, dispersés par petites parcelles dans les écoprovinces Intérieur centre, Intérieur subboréal, Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga. Les observateurs ont deux fois plus de chance de trouver des guifettes dans ces régions que dans toute autre écoprovince. Sa reproduction a été notée dans la zone de 400 à 1 400 m, toutefois, 60 % des observations semblent être regroupées dans la tranche de 600 à 800 m d'altitude. La plupart des colonies affichaient une taille très réduite (moins de 15 oiseaux adultes ou moins de 5 nids). Six colonies de 15 nids ou plus ou de 30 adultes ou plus ont été enregistrées : trois dans la région de Cariboo, deux dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix et une dans les basses terres de la rivière Fort Nelson.

Les habitats de nidification privilégiés par la Guifette noire sont des marais, des étangs et des lacs d'eau douce peu profonds couverts d'une végétation aquatique émergente. Ces zones humides se situent généralement dans des habitats ouverts, boisés et parfois dans des pâturages. Les nids flottent et sont construits dans la végétation, notamment dans des massettes (Typha latifolia) ou des scirpes (Scirpus). Les zones humides adaptées se trouvaient dans différentes zones biogéoclimatiques; la productivité des terres humides est un meilleur indicateur d'un habitat adapté pour la Guifette noire que la zone biogéoclimatique.

Conservation et recommandations Bien que la Guifette noire ne soit pas considérée comme étant en péril au Canada ou en Colombie-Britannique (Environnement Canada 2011), et que la responsabilité mondiale pour l'intendance de conservation de la Colombie-Britannique soit faible, les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs pour le Canada indiquent une tendance à la baisse à long terme, les observations de l'Atlas évoquent une réduction de l'aire de répartition en Colombie-Britannique, et Gerson (1987) a recommandé un statut de menacé pour le Canada. La fluctuation des nombres de reproductions et le sentiment continu que les nombres globaux ont baissé en Colombie-Britannique donnent à penser qu'il s'impose de documenter davantage la répartition, le succès de reproduction et les tendances dans la province. La conservation des terres humides afin d'atténuer les impacts du changement climatique devrait profiter à la Guifette noire.

Rick Howie

Citation recommandée: Howie, R. 2015. Guifette noire dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BLTE&lang=fr [10 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley