Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Black-throated Green Warbler, Ron Ridout
Photo © Ron Ridout

Photo: Ron Ridout
Breeding evidence - Black-throated Green Warbler
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Black-throated Green Warbler
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Black-throated Green Warbler
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Black-throated Green Warbler
Setophaga virens
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
392 - 1359 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
7 39 83 62
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 0.383 (-1.05 - 1.33)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.060.18  0.13  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.060.08 0.18  0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.18  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.12 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.04

Characteristics and Range This brightly-coloured warbler is the eastern representative of a 'superspecies' that includes the Golden-cheeked, Hermit, Townsend's and probably Black-throated Gray Warblers (Morse and Poole 2005). The Black-throated Green Warbler is found in northern temperate and southern boreal forests from the Atlantic Coast west to the Rocky Mountains. It is also occurs at higher elevations southward through the Appalachian Mountains, and a separate subspecies breeds in coastal swamps of the southeastern United States. It winters mainly in eastern Mexico, Central America and the West Indies.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Black-throated Green Warbler is found primarily in the Peace River watershed of the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince, and adjacent Sub-Boreal Interior Ecoprovince where tributaries penetrate the Rocky Mountain foothills. Its breeding range has expanded westwards in recent decades, since the first record at Moberly Lake in 1965 (Salt 1966). By the time The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001, it was considered uncommon in the Boreal Plains. Atlas records show that the westward expansion has continued since then, but it appears to be largely absent from the Taiga Plains Ecoprovince.

The highest abundance and Probability of Observation values are in the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince, where the species is locally common between 250 and 1,000 m elevation. In British Columbia, the Black-throated Green Warbler prefers old, mixed wood forests, especially a combination of White Spruce (Picea glauca) and Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides), generally at least 80 years old (Preston et al. 2007). Lesser numbers are found in stands with other tree species combinations that may include Lodgepole Pine (Pinus contorta), Balsam Poplar (Populus balsamifera) and Black Cottonwood (Populus trichocarpa). In British Columbia, the species is often described as being restricted to riparian habitats, where large spruce and poplars often grow (e.g., Cooper 1997) but this perception has since been disproved (Phinney 2003). Occupied stands in British Columbia are older than most stands used farther east (Mark Phinney pers. Obs.).

Conservation and Recommendations In addition to being Blue-listed in British Columbia, the Black-throated Green Warbler is also listed as a Species at Risk under the British Columbia Forest and Range Practices Act. Under the latter several protected Wildlife Habitat Areas have been established for the species in the Dawson Creek Timber Supply Area. Available habitat is likely to decline in the future, since the planned rotation age of managed forests is younger than age of stands typically occupied. Even if the birds adapt to younger forest, government reforestation policy currently prevents the re-establishment of its preferred mixed stands, limiting future Black-throated Green Warbler habitat to the interface of pure coniferous and deciduous stand types (Phinney 2003).

As the Black-throated Green Warbler expanded westward, contact and hybridization with Townsend's Warbler has occurred along the eastern foothills of the Rocky Mountains (Toews et al. 2011). Warblers in the contact zone can look and sound like either parent species, or some combination of the two, and birds outside the known range of either species could be hybrids. The Atlas records from the far north (west of Fort Nelson River) are within the documented range of Townsend's Warbler. Additional study could determine whether a second contact zone exists in this area.

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. Black-throated Green Warbler in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BTNW&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Paruline à gorge noire, Ron Ridout
Photo © Ron Ridout

Photo: Ron Ridout
Indices de nidification - Paruline à gorge noire
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Paruline à gorge noire
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Paruline à gorge noire
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Paruline à gorge noire
Setophaga virens

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
392 - 1359 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
7 39 83 62
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 0.383 (-1.05 - 1.33)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.060.18  0.13  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.060.08 0.18  0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.18  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.12 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.04

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Cette paruline à couleurs vives est la représentante de l'est d'une super-espèce qui comprend la paruline à dos noir, la paruline à tête jaune, la paruline de Townsend et probablement la paruline grise (Morse et Poole 2005). La paruline à gorge noire est retrouvée dans les forêts tempérées nordiques et boréales du sud allant de la côte de l'Atlantique aux montagnes Rocheuses. On la retrouve aussi à de plus hautes élévations plus au sud, à travers les Appalaches et une sous-espèce différente se reproduit dans les marécages côtiers du sud-est des États-Unis. Elle hiverne principalement dans l'est du Mexique, de l'Amérique Centrale et dans les Antilles.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Paruline à gorge noire se trouve principalement dans le bassin de la rivière de la Paix de l'écoprovince Plaines boréales, et dans l'écoprovince adjacente Intérieur subboréal où affluents pénètrent dans les contreforts des Rocheuses. Son aire de reproduction s'est élargie vers l'ouest au cours des dernières décennies, depuis que l'espèce a été enregistrée pour la première fois au lac Moberly en 1965 (Salt 1966). Au moment où l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 2001, elle était considérée comme étant rare dans les Plaines boréales. Les relevés de l'Atlas indiquent que son expansion vers l'ouest s'est poursuivie depuis lors, mais l'espèce semble toutefois généralement absente dans l'écoprovince Plaines de la Taïga.

L'abondance et les valeurs de la probabilité d'observation les plus élevées se trouvent dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales, où l'espèce est localement courante à des altitudes allant de 250 et 1 000 m. En Colombie-Britannique, la Paruline à gorge noire prefère des forêts mixtes anciennes, en particulier celles composées de peuplements d'épinettes blanches (Picea glauca) et de peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides), et âgées généralement d'au moins 80 ans (Preston et coll. 2007). La Paruline à gorge noire se trouve également, en moindre proportion, dans des peuplements comportant d'autres combinaisons d'espèces d'arbres pouvant inclure le pin tordu latifolié (Pinus contorta), le peuplier baumier (Populus balsamifera) et le peuplier de l'Ouest (Populus trichocarpa). En Colombie-Britannique, l'espèce est souvent décrite comme étant limitée aux habitats riverains, où poussent souvent de grands épicéas et peupliers (p. ex. Cooper 1997), mais cette perception a depuis lors été désapprouvée (Phinney 2003). Les peuplements occupés en Colombie-Britannique sont plus anciens que la plupart de ceux utilisés plus à l'est (observation personnelle de Mark Phinney).

Conservation et recommandations En plus de figurer sur la liste bleue de la Colombie-Britannique, la paruline à gorge noire est aussi une espèce menacée en vertu de la British Columbia Forest and Range Practices Act. Dans le cadre de cette loi, de nombreuses zones d'habitats fauniques protégées ont été créées pour cette espèce dans la zone d'approvisionnement forestier de Dawson Creek. Les habitats disponibles déclineront probablement dans le futur puisque l'âge d'exploitabilité prévue des forêts jardinées est plus jeune que l'âge des peuplements occupés normalement. Même si les oiseaux s'adaptent à ces forêts plus jeunes, la politique gouvernementale de reboisement actuelle empêche de recréer son habitat preféré de forêt mixte, ce qui limite les habitats futurs de la paruline à gorge noire à l'interface de peuplements composés uniquement de conifères ou de feuillus (Phinney 2003). Au fur et à mesure que la paruline à gorge noire s'est étendue vers l'ouest, des contacts et une hybridation avec la paruline de Townsend se sont produits le long des contreforts orientaux des Rocheuses (Toews et coll. 2011).

Les parulines dans la zone de contact peuvent avoir l'apparence et le chant de l'espèce de l'un ou l'autre parent, et les oiseaux observés se trouvant hors du territoire connu de l'espèce en particulier pourraient être des hybrides. Les dossiers de l'Atlas du Grand Nord (à l'ouest de la rivière Fort Nelson) se retrouvent dans le territoire connu de la paruline de Townsend. Des études plus approfondies pourraient déterminer si une seconde zone de contact existe dans cette région.

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Paruline à gorge noire dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BTNW&lang=fr [07 déc. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley