Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Burrowing Owl, Jared Hobbs
Photo © Jared Hobbs

Photo: Jared Hobbs
Breeding evidence - Burrowing Owl
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Burrowing Owl
Athene cunicularia

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
781 - 781 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Endangered
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
8 0 2 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Burrowing Owl is a small, long-legged owl with yellow eyes, white eyebrows and a white throat, which is active during the day when it is often seen perched on the ground or on fence posts. It preys mainly on small mammals (mostly voles) and large insects (mostly grasshoppers and beetles); however, it also takes small birds, amphibians and reptiles. It occurs in the Prairie, Great Basin and Southwest regions of North America, on the Florida peninsula and into parts of the Caribbean, and patchily south to Tierra del Fuego at the southern tip of South America (Poulin et al. 2011).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, it is a rare breeder at reintroduction sites in the Thompson, Nicola and Okanagan Valleys. Atlas surveyors confirmed that breeding continues at these sites, and also observed possible breeding evidence near Cache Creek and in the East Kootenays. Historically, a few bred in the Lower Mainland, from where it is now extirpated (Campbell et al. 1990b).

Over the past three decades, the Burrowing Owl population in Canada has declined from an estimate of over 3,000 pairs to fewer than 800 pairs, most of which are in the Prairies ( Environment Canada 2012). British Columbia Species Explorer (British Columbia Ministry of Environment 2014) gives a current British Columbia population estimate of 1-50 birds based on a COSEWIC (2006) estimate of 9 known wild birds.

The Burrowing Owl breeds semi-colonially in dry, open, grasslands, plains, and deserts. It nests in abandoned underground burrows of ground squirrels, prairie dogs, marmots, and other fossorial animals, and in man-made burrows. In British Columbia, it is primarily restricted to the Bunchgrass biogeoclimatic zone in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince (British Columbia Ministry of Environment 2014).

Conservation and Recommendations Designated Endangered nationally under the Species at Risk Act, and Red-listed provincially, the Burrowing Owl is also one of only four species to be designated as Endangered under the British Columbia Wildlife Act. Within Canada, this owl occupies only 36% of its former range; threats include loss and fragmentation of habitat, decreased prey and increased predation, environmental contaminants, collisions with vehicles, and loss of fossorial mammals (Environment Canada 2012). British Columbia's population was considered extirpated in the late 1970s and a reintroduction program was initiated in 1983. This began with translocations from Washington, but evolved into a captive-breeding release program from 1992 onwards (Blood and Low 1998). In recent years, around 100 captive-bred birds have been released to artificial burrows each spring; many stay to breed, with up to 261 wild-bred young being produced and banded annually. While some birds remain and overwinter, and several birds return to breed in subsequent years, the provincial population is not yet considered self-sustaining (Environment Canada 2012).

Captive-breeding release programs should be continued and expanded in suitable habitats. Further searches could be made of locations near Cache Creek and in the East Kootenay where possible breeding evidence was observed by atlassers. All evidence of breeding away from release sites should be submitted to the British Columbia Conservation Data Centre.

Myke Chutter

Recommended citation: Chutter, M. 2015. Burrowing Owl in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BUOW&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Chevêche des terriers, Jared Hobbs
Photo © Jared Hobbs

Photo: Jared Hobbs
Indices de nidification - Chevêche des terriers
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Chevêche des terriers
Athene cunicularia

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
781 - 781 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
COSEWIC: Endangered
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
8 0 2 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Chevêche des terriers est un petit hibou aux longues jambes, aux yeux jaunes surmontés de sourcils blancs et à la gorge blanche, qui est actif pendant la journée, quand on la voit souvent perchée sur le sol ou sur un poteau de clôture. Elle chasse principalement de petits mammifères (principalement des campagnols) et de grands insectes (principalement des sauterelles et des scarabées); cependant, elle prend également de petits oiseaux, des amphibiens et des reptiles. On la trouve dans les Prairies, le Grand Bassin et les régions du sud-ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, sur la péninsule de Floride et dans des parties des Caraïbes, et de façon dispersée vers le sud jusqu'à la Terre de Feu, à l'extrémité méridionale de l'Amérique du Sud (Poulin et coll. 2011).

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, c'est un oiseau nicheur rare sur les sites de réintroduction dans les vallées des rivières Thompson, Nicola et Okanagan. Les enquêteurs de l'Atlas ont confirmé que la reproduction se poursuit à ces endroits, et ont également observé des preuves d'une nidification éventuelle près du ruisseau Cache et dans l'est des Kootenays. Précédemment, quelques rares spécimens ont niché dans le Lower Mainland, d'où l'espèce a désormais complètement disparu (Campbell et coll. 1990b).

Au cours des trois dernières décennies, la population de la Chevêche des terriers du Canada a diminué, passant d'un nombre estimatif de plus de 3 000 couples à moins de 800, dont la plupart se trouvent dans les Prairies ( Environnement Canada 2012). Le British Columbia Species Explorer (ministère de l'Environnement de Colombie-Britannique 2014) avance pour la population actuelle de la Colombie-Britannique une estimation de 1 à 50 oiseaux en fonction d'une estimation du COSEPAC (2006) de 9 oiseaux sauvages connus.

La Chevêche des terriers niche en semi-colonies sur des prairies, des plaines et des déserts secs et découverts. Elle niche dans des terriers abandonnés de spermophiles, de chiens de prairie, de marmottes et d'autres animaux fouisseurs et dans des terriers creusés par l'homme. En Colombie-Britannique, son aire se limite principalement à la zone biogéoclimatique à graminées cespiteuses dans l'écoprovince Intérieur sud (ministère de l'Environnement de Colombie-Britannique 2014).

Conservation et recommandations Désignée comme espèce en voie de disparition à l'échelle nationale en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, et répertoriée dans la liste rouge à l'échelle provinciale, la Chevêche des terriers est également l'une des quatre seules espèces à être désignées comme espèce en voie de disparition aux termes de la British Columbia Wildlife Act. Au Canada, ce hibou n'occupe que 36 % de son ancienne aire de répartition; les menaces comprennent la perte et la fragmentation de son habitat, la diminution des proies et une augmentation de la prédation, les contaminants environnementaux, les collisions avec des véhicules et la perte de mammifères fouisseurs (Environnement Canada 2012). La population de la Colombie-Britannique était considérée comme disparue à la fin des années 1970, et un programme de réintroduction a été lancé en 1983. Il a commencé par des translocations depuis l'État de Washington, mais il a évolué en un programme de lâcher d'oiseaux élevés en captivité à partir de 1992 (Blood et Low 1998). Au cours des dernières années, quelque 100 oiseaux élevés en captivité ont été lâchés dans des terriers artificiels chaque printemps; un bon nombre d'entre eux restent pour se reproduire, et jusqu'à 261 jeunes élevés dans la nature sont produits annuellement. Bien que quelques oiseaux restent et hivernent, et que plusieurs oiseaux reviennent pour nicher les années suivantes, la population provinciale n'est pas encore considérée comme autosuffisante (Environnement Canada 2012).

Les programmes d'élevage en captivité et de mise en liberté pourraient être poursuivis et élargis dans des habitats propices. Il faudrait effectuer une recherche plus poussée d'endroits près du ruisseau Cache et dans la région d'East Kootenay, où les participants à l'Atlas ont observé des preuves possibles de reproduction. Toutes les preuves de nidification hors de ces sites de remise en liberté devraient être présentées au B.C. Conservation Data Centre.

Myke Chutter

Citation recommandée: Chutter, M. 2015. Chevêche des terriers dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BUOW&lang=fr [25 sept. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley