Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Cassin's Auklet, Katie Studholme
Photo © Katie Studholme

Photo: Katie Studholme
Breeding evidence - Cassin's Auklet
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Cassin's Auklet
Ptychoramphus aleuticus

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 0 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
Global importance
of B.C. population:
2
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
3 0 0 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range The Cassin's Auklet is the most abundant breeding seabird in British Columbia - the province supports an estimated 70% of the global population. It breeds from Baja California to the western Aleutians (Ainley et al. 2011); in winter, the bulk of the population moves down the Pacific Coast, residing along and offshore from the continental shelf south to Baja. A small, colonial, nocturnal and zooplanktivorous auk, this grey-and-white seabird usually nests in burrows it excavates in deep soil, though it will also nest in rock crevices and under logs. Silent during the day, breeding colonies are noisy places at night: Cassin's Auklet calls have been compared to a creaking, rusty gate, a squealing pig, and collectively, to a frog pond in full chorus.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Breeding colonies are widely distributed on islands in continental shelf waters from the west coast of Vancouver Island to the Haida Gwaii archipelago, with small numbers off the central coast (Rodway 1991). The largest colonies in the world, consisting of hundreds of thousands of pairs, are on the outer Scott Islands. The species is common on the sea off British Columbia's coasts during summer, even seaward of the continental shelf.

Breeding islands are scattered and remote and, outside of Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haida Heritage Site, unlikely to have human visitors. There are 15 island groups designated as Important Bird Areas in British Columbia that support breeding colonies of Cassin's Auklets (IBA Canada 2015); however, due to their remoteness, very few were visited during the Atlas period.

The Cassin's Auklet breeds both on forested and non-forested islands, under canopy and in the open, and mainly on steep vegetated slopes. At Triangle Island, the largest colony in B.C, the Cassin's Auklet breeds at highest density in areas covered by Tufted Hairgrass (Deschampsia cespitosa), while avoiding areas covered by Salmonberry (Rubus spectabilis) (Vermeer et al. 1979). It forages in deep ocean water, both on and seaward of the continental shelf break.

Conservation and Recommendations Cassin's Auklet is vulnerable to introduced mammalian predators; several colonies in British Columbia have been exterminated by rats (Rattus species), Raccoons (Procyon lotor) and American Mink (Neovison vison) that were either introduced accidentally to the islands as ship's stowaways, or intentionally for the fur trade. It may be vulnerable to future effects of climate change, as breeding success and adult survival rates are reduced during warm-water events such as El Ni˝o (Morrison et al. 2011). Loss of breeding habitat as a result of vegetation changes (loss of Tufted Hairgrass and increases in Salmonberry Rubus spectabilis cover) on major colonies is also a concern (Hipfner et al. 2010). These issues led the species to be listed by COSEWIC as Special Concern (COSEWIC 2014).

Mark Hipfner

Recommended citation: Hipfner, M. 2015. Cassin's Auklet in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CAAU&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Starique de Cassin, Katie Studholme
Photo © Katie Studholme

Photo: Katie Studholme
Indices de nidification - Starique de Cassin
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Starique de Cassin
Ptychoramphus aleuticus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 0 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
2
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
3 0 0 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Starique de Cassin est l'oiseau de mer nicheur le plus abondant en Colombie-Britannique; la province abrite environ 70 % de la population mondiale. Il niche de la Basse-Californie jusqu'à l'ouest des Aléoutiennes (Ainley et coll. 2011); en hiver, le gros de la population descend le long de la côte du Pacifique et réside le long du plateau continental et au large de celui-ci, vers le sud jusqu'en Basse-Californie. Ce petit pingouin nocturne et zooplanctivore vit en colonies; c'est un oiseau de mer au plumage gris et blanc qui niche habituellement dans des terriers qu'il creuse dans un sol profond, bien qu'il niche également dans des crevasses de rochers et sous des troncs d'arbres. Silencieuses pendant le jour, les colonies nicheuses sont des endroits bruyants la nuit : on a comparé le cri du Starique de Cassin au grincement d'un portail rouillé, au couinement d'un cochon et, quand ils crient ensemble, à une marre aux grenouilles qui coassent à pleins poumons.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Les colonies nicheuses sont largement réparties sur des îles dans les eaux du plateau continental, depuis la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver jusqu'à l'archipel Haida Gwaii, avec de plus petits nombres au large de la côte centrale (Rodway 1991). Les plus grandes colonies du monde, qui réunissent des centaines de milliers de couples, se trouvent sur les îles Scott périphériques. L'espèce est commune en mer au large des côtes de la Colombie-Britannique en été, même au large du plateau continental.

Les îles de nidification sont éparpillées et éloignées et, à l'extérieur de la réserve de parc national et du site du patrimoine haida Gwaii Haanas, il est peu probable qu'il y ait des visiteurs humains. Il y a 15 groupes d'îles désignés comme zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux en Colombie-Britannique qui abritent des colonies nicheuses de Starique de Cassin (ZICO Canada 2015); cependant, en raison de leur éloignement, très peu d'entre elles ont été visitées pendant la période de relevé de l'Atlas.

Le Starique de Cassin niche sur des îles boisées et non boisées, sous la canopée et à ciel ouvert, et principalement sur des pentes à pic couvertes de végétation. Sur l'île Triangle, où se trouve la plus importante colonie de Colombie-Britannique, le Starique de Cassin niche à de fortes intensités dans les zones couvertes par la Deschampsie cespiteuse (Deschampsia cespitosa), tout en évitant celles qui sont couvertes de ronce élégante (Rubus spectabilis) (Vermeer et coll. 1979). Il cherche sa nourriture dans les eaux océaniques profondes, sur le rebord de la plateforme continentale et au large de celui-ci.

Conservation et recommandations Le Starique de Cassin est vulnérable aux prédateurs mammifères introduits; plusieurs colonies de Colombie-Britannique ont été exterminées par des rats (espèce Rattus), des Ratons laveurs (Procyon lotor) et des Visons d'Amérique (Neovison vison) qui ont soit été introduits par accident dans les îles comme passagers clandestins à bord de navires ou intentionnellement pour le commerce de fourrures. Il peut être vulnérable à de futurs effets du changement climatique, car le succès de reproduction et les taux de survie des adultes sont réduits pendant des événements de temps chaud comme El Niño (Morrison et coll. 2011). La perte d'habitat de nidification à la suite de changements de la végétation (perte de Deschampsie cespiteuse et augmentations de la couverture de Ronce élégante Rubus spectabilis) pour les principales colonies est également préoccupante (Hipfner et coll. 2010). Ces problèmes ont abouti à ce que l'espèce soit répertoriée comme espèce préoccupante dans la liste par le COSEPAC (COSEPAC 2014).

Mark Hipfner

Citation recommandée: Hipfner, M. 2015. Starique de Cassin dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CAAU&lang=fr [03 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley