Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Chestnut-backed Chickadee, Chris Charlesworth
Photo © Chris Charlesworth

Photo: Chris Charlesworth
Breeding evidence - Chestnut-backed Chickadee
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Chestnut-backed Chickadee
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Chestnut-backed Chickadee
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Chestnut-backed Chickadee
Poecile rufescens
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1680 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
4
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
340 100 472 482
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.79 (-3.42 - -0.164)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -2.21 (-4.0 - -0.574)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.07  0.230.13 0.41
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.07   0.52 0.2
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.130.02 0.17  0.31

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.73
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.230.340.060.19
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.15 0.050.15
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.04

Characteristics and Range This is the smallest of the North American chickadees, sporting rich rusty-brown flanks and back that render it easily distinguishable from other sympatric chickadees. It also has a scratchier, squeakier song that helps to separate it from other difficult-to-see denizens of temperate rainforest canopies, like Golden-crowned Kinglet and Brown Creeper. Its global range is restricted to moister coastal and interior forests of western North America from southern Alaska to central California and east to the central Rocky Mountains (Dahlsten et al. 2002). It is a resident within this range, but some birds make seasonal movements to lower elevations, and in British Columbia some birds also disperse to higher elevations after breeding to exploit more abundant food resources. The Chestnut-backed Chickadee has an apparent affinity for hypermaritime ecosystems and regularly inhabits islands on the outer coast where Black-capped Chickadees are either extremely rare or absent. Like other chickadees, the Chestnut-backed nests in cavities; despite their small size and diminutive bill, in British Columbia, many Chestnut-backed Chickadees excavate their own nest holes rather than use holes made by other species (Campbell et al. 1997).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Chestnut-backed Chickadee is distributed in two geographically separate parts of the province: coastal regions and adjoining valleys of the Coast Mountains; and interior mountain ranges of the West Kootenay and adjacent areas to the north end of the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench. These interior and coastal populations are genetically distinct, consistent with post-glacial (Pleistocene) inland dispersal, especially in recent times (Burg et al. 2006). The coastal distribution is relatively unchanged but for local expansions, e.g., to the upper Skeena and southern Stikine river catchments. The range of the interior population, however, continues to expand northwards, with appreciable change even since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997.

The Probability of Observation model and Atlas point counts clearly show that the core of the population is at lower elevations (below 250 m) in the Georgia Depression, on Haida Gwaii and in the southern Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces, with abundance in Coastal Douglas-fir being higher than in the Coastal Western Hemlock biogeoclimatic zone. The Interior Cedar-Hemlock biogeoclimatic zone in the Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovince supports the core of the interior population.

On Vancouver Island and Haida Gwaii, where the Chestnut-backed is the only chickadee species, coniferous, mixed and deciduous forests are used, including drier stands of Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii), Garry Oak (Quercus garryana) and Arbutus (Arbutus menziesii); but on the mainland where its range overlaps with other chickadees, it is restricted to moister coniferous forest (Campbell et al. 1997). Mature suburban gardens provide suitable breeding habitat also. The species requires rotten wood to excavate nests in both coniferous and deciduous trees, and readily uses nest boxes.

Conservation and Recommendations Whilst the Chestnut-backed Chickadee remains a common bird, British Columbia has moderate global responsibility for the species (supporting more than 30% of the population), and Breeding Bird Survey data indicate that populations in British Columbia, Canada and North America are declining (Environment Canada 2014). Partners in Flight list it as a United States - Canada Stewardship Species (Panjabi et al. 2012). In light of these facts, hypotheses for decline should be developed and tested. Forest and municipal tree management practices that retain decaying and dead trees, snags and stumps for nest cavities are encouraged.

Peter J.A. Davidson and Kenneth G. Wright

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. and Wright, K.G. 2015. Chestnut-backed Chickadee in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CBCH&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Mésange à dos marron, Chris Charlesworth
Photo © Chris Charlesworth

Photo: Chris Charlesworth
Indices de nidification - Mésange à dos marron
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Mésange à dos marron
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Mésange à dos marron
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Mésange à dos marron
Poecile rufescens

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1680 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
4
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
340 100 472 482
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.79 (-3.42 - -0.164)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -2.21 (-4.0 - -0.574)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.07  0.230.13 0.41
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.07   0.52 0.2
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.130.02 0.17  0.31

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.73
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.230.340.060.19
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.15 0.050.15
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
   0.04

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Mésange à dos marron est la plus petite des mésanges nord-américaines, avec flancs brun-rouille riches et le dos qui le rendent facile à distinguer des autres mésanges sympatriques. Il a également une chanson plus rêches et grinçant qui aide à séparer des autres habitants difficiles à voir des auvents de la forêt tropicale tempérée, comme roitelet à couronne dorée et grimpereau brun. Son aire de répartition mondiale est limitée aux forêts côtières et intérieures plus humides de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, du sud de l'Alaska jusqu'au centre de la Californie et à l'est du centre des montagnes Rocheuses (Dahlsten et coll. 2002). Elle réside dans son aire de répartition, mais certains individus effectuent des déplacements saisonniers à de plus basses altitudes, alors que d'autres individus qui vivent en Colombie-Britannique se dispersent après la nidification à des altitudes plus élevées afin d'exploiter les ressources alimentaires. La Mésange à dos marron a une affinité apparente pour les écosystèmes hypermaritime et habite régulièrement les îles sur la côte extérieure où la Mésange à tête noire sont soit extrêmement rares ou absents. À l'instar d'autres mésanges, elle niche dans des cavités; malgré sa petite taille et son bec délicat, bon nombre des Mésanges à dos marron creusent leur propre cavité pour y installer leur nid au lieu d'utiliser les trous creusés par d'autres espèces (Campbell et coll. 1997).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Mésange à dos marron est répartie dans deux parties géographiquement séparées de la province : les régions côtières et les vallées adjacentes des montagnes côtières; et les aires de répartition des montagnes intérieures de l'ouest de Kootenay et les zones adjacentes à l'extrémité nord du sillon des montagnes Rocheuses du sud. Ces populations intérieures et côtières sont distinctes sur le plan de la génétique, ce qui est cohérent avec la dispersion intérieure postglaciaire (Pleistocene), et ce, particulièrement depuis peu de temps (Burg et coll. 2006). La répartition côtière demeure relativement inchangée, sauf en ce qui concerne les expansions locales, p. ex., dans les bassins versants des rivières du Haut-Skeena et du sud de Stikine. L'aire de répartition de la population intérieure continue toutefois de s'étendre vers le nord et démontre des changements appréciables depuis la parution de The Birds of British Columbia en 1997.

Le modèle de probabilité d'observation et les dénombrements ponctuels de l'Atlas démontrent clairement que le noyau de la population se situe à de plus basses altitudes (en dessous de 250 m) dans la dépression de Géorgie, dans Haida Gwaii et dans les écoprovinces des Côtes et montagnes du sud, avec une abondance dans la forêt côtière de douglas de Menzies plus élevée que dans la zone biogéoclimatique côtière de la pruche de l'Ouest. La zone biogéoclimatique de l'intérieur du cèdre et de la pruche dans l'écoprovince des Montagnes intérieures du sud abrite le noyau de la population intérieure.

Sur l'île de Vancouver et dans Haida Gwaii, où la Mésange à dos marron est la seule espèce de mésange, les forêts mixtes, de conifères et de feuillus sont utilisées, notamment les peuplements plus secs de douglas de Menzies (Pseudotsuga menziesii), de chênes de Garry (Quercus garryana) et d'arbousiers (Arbutus menziesii); mais sur le continent, où la zone de répartition chevauche celle d'autres mésanges, elle est restreinte aux forêts de conifères plus humides (Campbell et coll. 1997). Les jardins matures de banlieues fournissent également des habitats appropriés de nidification. L'espèce nécessite du bois en décomposition pour creuser des nids dans les conifères et les feuillus, et utilise volontiers les nichoirs.

Conservation et recommandations Alors que la Mésange à dos marron demeure un oiseau commun, la Colombie-Britannique a une responsabilité moyenne de l'espèce (abritant plus de 30 % de la population), et les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs indiquent que les populations en Colombie-Britannique, au Canada et en Amérique du Nord sont en déclin (Environnement Canada 2014). Le programme « Partenaires en plein vol » l'inscrit comme une espèce d'intendance entre les États-Unis et le Canada (Panjabi et coll. 2012). Dans cette optique, des hypothèses de déclin pourraient être élaborées et mises à l'essai. Les pratiques de gestion des arbres municipaux et des forêts qui permettent de conserver les arbres morts ou en décomposition, les chicots et les souches pour les cavités des nids sont encouragées.

Peter J.A. Davidson and Kenneth G. Wright

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. and Wright, K.G. 2015. Mésange à dos marron dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CBCH&lang=fr [10 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley