Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Chukar, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Chukar
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Chukar
Alectoris chukar

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
217 - 1002 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
N/A
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
19 4 14 12
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.090.07  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
 0.07 0.09   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.22 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.07   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.04   

Characteristics and Range The Chukar is a strikingly-patterned game bird, introduced from Asia for sport, and has become a favourite target for upland game bird hunters across its western North American range. With a greyish-brown body, bold black eye stripe curving down to its breast, and strong barring on its flanks, it can hardly be confused with any other British Columbian bird. The Chukar was repeatedly, and largely unsuccessfully, introduced into British Columbia until the provincial Game Board (Campbell et al. 1990) brought birds and eggs from Oregon and Washington respectively. By 1955 population sizes had grown to the point where a hunting season was feasible, and massive harvests from the 1960s to mid-1980s apparently drastically reduced the population size. Small local populations often become established for short periods of time after introduction by hunters looking to train their bird dogs, although these populations seldom last more than a few years.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The centre of distribution of the Chukar in British Columbia is the Okanagan and Thompson-Nicola watersheds, where it is nowhere common. In these regions the Chukar is primarily found at elevations between 250 and 500 m elevation, though some are found to 1,250 m elevation. There has been little change in Chukar distribution since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, with perhaps a few more nests found, and small populations on Vancouver Island disappearing more or less entirely.

This species prefers areas away from the most intensive crop-based agriculture, including rocky cliffs, mountainsides, and grasslands (Christensen 1996), and in British Columbia tends to choose habitat dominated by Bluebunch Wheatgrass (Pseudoroegneria spicata), sagebrush (Artemesia) species, and Rubber Rabbit-brush (Ericameria nauseosa), with lots of rocky areas nearby. Chukars nest on the ground, under cover of shrubs, or away from vegetation where there is enough cover provided by piles of rocks. The chicks are precocial, and leave the nest soon after hatching.

Conservation and Recommendations The Chukar is an introduced bird that, according to Christmas Bird Count data, appears to have maintained its population since 1970 (Environment Canada 2011). Remarkably, more than 20 million were harvested in the western United States over the period 1947-1995 (Christensen 1996). In British Columbia, however, hunting pressure was much lower: from a high of 22,000 harvested in 1960 the number fell to 565 by 1985 (Campbell et al. 1990). With preservation of rocky and dry grassland and wooded areas within its range, and appropriate management of hunting, this species is likely to thrive where it has been introduced, perhaps limited occasionally by winter snow and temperatures.

Brian Starzomski

Recommended citation: Strazomski, B. 2015. Chukar in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CHUK&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Perdrix choukar, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Perdrix choukar
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Perdrix choukar
Alectoris chukar

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
217 - 1002 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
N/A
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
19 4 14 12
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.090.07  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
 0.07 0.09   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.22 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.07   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.04   

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Perdrix choukar est un oiseau gibier à rayures qui a été introduit de l'Asie pour le sport et est devenu l'une des cibles préférées des chasseurs d'oiseaux gibiers terrestres à l'intérieur de son aire de répartition dans l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord. Avec son corps gris brun, son oeil de biche noir qui suit une courbe jusqu'à sa poitrine et les larges rayures noires de ses flancs, cette espèce peut difficilement être confondue avec un autre oiseau de la Colombie-Britannique. La Perdrix choukar a été introduite à répétition en Colombie-Britannique, mais sans succès, et ce, jusqu'à ce que la commission du jeu provinciale (Campbell et coll. 1990) fasse venir des oiseaux et des oeufs respectivement de l'Oregon et de Washington. Jusqu'en 1955, la taille des populations avait augmenté suffisamment pour permettre une saison de chasse, et les prises massives qui ont eu lieu entre les années 1960 et le milieu des années 1980 semblent avoir réduit de façon considérable la taille des populations. De petites populations locales s'installent souvent pour de courtes périodes après leur introduction par des chasseurs qui désirent entraîner leur chien de chasse, toutefois, ces populations ne durent rarement plus de quelques années.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, le centre d'abondance de la Perdrix choukar se situe dans les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Okanagan et Thompson-Nicola, où elle n'est commune à aucun endroit. Dans ces régions, la Perdrix choukar se retrouve principalement à des altitudes entre 250 et 500 m, bien que certaines se retrouvent à une altitude de 1250 m. Il n'y a eu que peu de changements dans la répartition de la Perdrix choukar depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990, même s'il y a peut-être quelques nids supplémentaires qui ont été découverts et de petites populations sur l'île de Vancouver qui ont disparu plus ou moins complètement.

Cette espèce préfère les régions éloignées des cultures agricoles intensives, y compris les falaises rocheuses, les flancs de montagnes et les prairies (Christensen 1996). En Colombie-Britannique, elle a tendance à choisir des habitats où dominent l'agropyre à épi (Pseudoroegneria spicata), l'armoise (Artemesia) et la Bigelovie puante (Ericameria nauseosa) et à proximité de beaucoup de zones rocheuses. La Perdrix choukar niche sur le sol, protégée par les arbustes, ou loin de la végétation où les amas de roches offrent un couvert suffisant. Les poussins sont précoces et quittent le nid peu de temps après l'éclosion.

Conservation et recommandations La Perdrix choukar est un oiseau qui a été introduit et, selon les données du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël, sa population semble s'être maintenue depuis 1970 (Environnement Canada 2011). Il est intéressant de souligner que plus de 20 millions d'oiseaux ont été pris dans l'ouest des États-Unis pendant la période entre 1947 et 1995 (Christensen 1996). Toutefois, en Colombie-Britannique, la pression de chasse était nettement inférieure : le nombre de 22 000 prises en 1960 est passé à 565 prises en 1985 (Campbell et coll. 1990). Grâce à la préservation des régions rocheuses, des prairies sèches et des régions boisées et à la gestion appropriée de la chasse, il est probable que cette espèce prospère aux endroits où elle a été introduite, mais cela pourrait parfois être limité par la neige et les températures hivernales.

Brian Starzomski

Citation recommandée: Strazomski, B. 2015. Perdrix choukar dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CHUK&lang=fr [28 mai 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley