Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Cinnamon Teal, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Cinnamon Teal
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Cinnamon Teal
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Cinnamon Teal
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Cinnamon Teal
Anas cyanoptera
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
28 - 1135 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
28 117 78 15
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.36 (-6.14 - 3.35)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 1.39 (-2.22 - 4.79)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.02 0.20.03  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
 0.06 0.01   
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.020.05 0.2   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.02  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.02
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.2   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.05 

Characteristics and Range The male of this small, trim dabbling duck, with a bright blue patch on the upper wing and bright cinnamon or chestnut plumage on head and body, stands out among other ducks. It is a locally uncommon to abundant breeder in wetland areas of western North America from southern Canada through the highlands of Mexico and throughout much of South America (Gammonley 2012). A short- to intermediate-distance migrant, it winters from its southern breeding range through Mexico; seasonal movements in South America are poorly known.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Cinnamon Teal breeds across central and southern British Columbia east of the Coast Mountains. The Atlas surveys have expanded the confirmed and probable breeding distribution northward from that recorded in The Birds of British Columbia published in 1990. Bunnell et al. (2013a) reported significant range shifts northward in the British Columbia interior from the 1960s to the1990s. Most nesting is below about 1,250 m.

Probabilities of Observation are generally low everywhere, reflecting the fact that this is one of the least abundant dabbling ducks in the province (Campbell et al. 1990). Highest Pobs values are in the Thompson valley of the Southern Interior Ecoprovince and the Fraser Plateau area of the Central Interior Ecoprovince. The long-term population trends in North America, including British Columbia, remain poorly known (Gammonley 2012).

The Cinnamon Teal nests in freshwater (including highly alkaline), seasonal and semi-permanent wetlands including large marsh systems, natural basins, reservoirs, sluggish streams, ditches, and stock ponds. Nests are often located in grassy areas and island nesting is common.

Conservation and Recommendations There are few conservation concerns for this species, although it may be affected if, as predicted, small wetlands in the dry interior regions become smaller in size and fewer in number due to climate change (Bunnell et al. 2013b).

Art Martell

Recommended citation: Martell, A. 2015. Cinnamon Teal in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CITE&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Sarcelle cannelle, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Sarcelle cannelle
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Sarcelle cannelle
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Sarcelle cannelle
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Sarcelle cannelle
Anas cyanoptera

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
28 - 1135 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
28 117 78 15
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.36 (-6.14 - 3.35)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 1.39 (-2.22 - 4.79)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.02 0.20.03  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
 0.06 0.01   
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.020.05 0.2   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.02  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.02
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.2   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.05 

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le mâle de ce petit canard barboteur mince, avec une marque d'un bleu vif sur le haut de l'aile et son plumage de couleur cannelle ou marron vif sur la tête et le corps, se distingue des autres canards. Ce canard est un reproducteur non commun dans les régions locales à abondant dans les terres humides de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, du sud du Canada en passant par les hautes terres du Mexique et dans la majorité de l'Amérique du Sud (Gammonley 2012). Il est un migrateur de courtes à moyennes distances qui hiverne du sud de son étendue de reproduction jusqu'au Mexique : ses déplacements saisonniers en Amérique du Sud ne sont pas très bien connus.

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Sarcelle cannelle niche dans le centre et le sud de la Colombie-Britannique, à l'est de la chaîne Côtière. Les relevés de l'Atlas ont indiqué un élargissement de la répartition de la reproduction confirmée et probable vers le nord par rapport à celle notée dans l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990. Bunnell et coll. (2013a) ont fait rapport de changements importants de son aire vers le nord dans l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique, depuis les années 1960 jusqu'aux années 1990. La majeure partie de la nidification a lieu en dessous d'environ 1 250 m.

Les probabilités d'observation sont généralement faibles dans toutes les régions, ce qui reflète le fait qu'il s'agit de l'un des canards barboteurs les moins abondants dans la province (Campbell et coll. 1990). Les valeurs de Pobs les plus élevées sont observées dans la vallée de Thompson dans l'écoprovince Intérieur sud et dans la région du plateau du Fraser dans l'écoprovince Intérieur centre. Les tendances à long terme de la population en Amérique du Nord, y compris en Colombie-Britannique, restent mal connues (Gammonley 2012).

La Sarcelle cannelle niche dans des zones humides d'eau douce (y compris celles hautement alcalines), saisonnières et semi-permanentes, y compris de grands réseaux de marais, des bassins naturels, des réservoirs, des ruisseaux stagnants, des fossés et des étangs artificiels. Les nids sont souvent construits dans des zones herbeuses et la nidification sur des îles est courante.

Conservation et recommandations Il existe peu de préoccupations de conservation pour cette espèce; toutefois, il peut être affecté si, comme prédit, les petites terres humides des régions intérieures sèches rétrécissent et deviennent moins nombreuses en raison des changements climatiques (Bunnell et coll. 2013b).

Art Martell

Citation recommandée: Martell, A. 2015. Sarcelle cannelle dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CITE&lang=fr [27 févr. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley