Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Clark's Nutcracker, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Breeding evidence - Clark's Nutcracker
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Clark's Nutcracker
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Clark's Nutcracker
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Clark's Nutcracker
Nucifraga columbiana
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
303 - 2368 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
91 56 315 163
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.63 (-0.8 - 3.71)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 0.538 (-1.7 - 2.53)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.160.13 0.18
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.10.2 0.16  0.18

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.54 0.17 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.110.20.05
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.10.380.09 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.19 0.31 

Characteristics and Range Originally mistaken as a woodpecker by Captain Clark in 1805, the Clark's Nutcracker was first described from specimens collected during the historic Lewis and Clark expedition. Sometimes known as Clark's crows or woodpecker crows, these endemic North American corvids are considered a year-round resident of higher montane forests. The Clark's Nutcracker is a specialist consumer and primary disperser of pine seeds throughout their western North America range, and is most often found in high altitude forests dominated by pine (Pinus) species (Tomback 1998). During the autumn, nutcrackers will often descend to lower elevations in search of additional seed crops and remain there over winter until breeding begins again. The Clark's Nutcracker's distinctive mid-gray body plumage contrasts with mostly glossy black wings and tail, and white secondary, vent and outer tail feathers. In addition to the plumage, it can be easily distinguished from Gray Jays by its long, pointed, black bill.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Clark's Nutcracker is widespread on the plateaus and benchlands of the Southern Interior ecoprovince, and on the slopes of the East and West Kootenay mountain ranges in the Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovince. The breeding distribution extends north in the rain shadow of the Coast Mountains to the Nechako Plateau. This range is similar to when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997, but the Atlas confirmed breeding approximately 300 km farther north than was previously known.

The highest abundance on point counts indicates the core of the provincial population is in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, as noted by Campbell et al. (1997). The Probability of Observation model also suggests that the western Rocky and Purcell Mountains, and the western Chilcotin Plateau are important. Abundance increases with elevation, with highest values above 2,000 m.

This pine-obligate is closely associated with the Ponderosa Pine and Interior Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zones where Ponderosa Pine (Pinus ponderosae) is found, and the Englemann Spruce - Subalpine Fir and montane Spruce biogeoclimatic zones that support Whitebark Pine (Pinus albicaulis). It breeds early in the year and will only nest in areas with a sufficient cone crop (Campbell et al. 1997).

Conservation and Recommendations The Breeding Bird Survey suggests a stable or even increasing population, but the reduction of available food resulting from the Mountain Pine Beetle (Dendroctonus ponderosae) epidemic and also white pine blister rust is a cause for concern (Environment Canada 2011). Projected drying climate scenarios in interior British Columbia may create conditions for pines to flourish, however (Hamann and Wang 2006). Continued monitoring and expanded research are essential to understanding how these factors may affect the Clark's Nutcracker.

Kimberly M. Dohms and Peter J.A. Davidson

Recommended citation: Dohms, K.M. and Davidson P.J.A. 2015. Clark's Nutcracker in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CLNU&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Cassenoix d'Amérique, Tania Simpson
Photo © Tania Simpson

Photo: Tania Simpson
Indices de nidification - Cassenoix d'Amérique
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Cassenoix d'Amérique
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Cassenoix d'Amérique
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Cassenoix d'Amérique
Nucifraga columbiana

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
303 - 2368 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
91 56 315 163
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.63 (-0.8 - 3.71)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 0.538 (-1.7 - 2.53)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.160.13 0.18
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.10.2 0.16  0.18

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.54 0.17 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.110.20.05
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.10.380.09 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.19 0.31 

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Confondu à l'origine avec un pic par le Capitaine Clark en 1805, le Cassenoix d'Amérique a été décrit pour la première fois à partir des spécimens recueillis au cours de l'expédition historique de Lewis et Clark. Parfois connu sour le nom de Cassenoix de Clark ou pic-corneille, ce corvidé endémique de l'Amérique du Nord est considéré comme un résident à l'année des forêts des hautes montagnes. Le Cassenoix d'Amérique est un grand consommateur de graines de pin et leur principal disséminateur à l'intérieur de son aire de répartition dans l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, et il se retrouve le plus souvent dans les forêts en haute altitude où le pin (Pinus) prédomine (Tomback 1998). Pendant l'automne, le Cassenoix d'Amérique descend souvent à des altitudes inférieures à la recherche de cultures semencières supplémentaires et il y reste pendant l'hiver jusqu'à ce que la nidification recommence. Le plumage gris moyen du corps du Cassenoix d'Amérique contraste avec ses ailes et sa queue brillantes majoritairement noires et avec le blanc de ses rémiges secondaires, de son croupion et de l'extérieur de sa queue. Outre son plumage, il peut facilement être distingué du Mésangeai du Canada grâce à son long bec noir pointu.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Cassenoix d'Amérique est répandu dans les plateaux et les replats de l'écoprovince de l'Intérieur sud et sur les versants est et ouest des chaînes de montagnes de Kootenay dans l'écoprovince des Montagnes intérieures du sud. L'aire de répartition de l'oiseau s'étend au nord dans l'ombre pluviomètre de la chaîne Côtière jusqu'au plateau Nechako. Cette aire de répartition est similaire à celle de The Birds of British Columbia lors de sa publication en 1997, cependant l'Atlas confirmait plutôt une aire de nidification environ à 300 km plus au nord que ce qui était connu auparavant.

L'endroit avec la plus grande abondance de points d'écoute indique que la majorité de la population provinciale se situe dans l'écoprovince de l'Intérieur sud, comme cela a été indiqué par Campbell et coll. (1997). Le modèle de probabilité d'observation indique également que l'ouest des Rocheuses et de la chaîne Purcell ainsi que l'ouest du plateau Chilcotin sont importants. L'abondance augmente avec l'altitude, qui peut atteindre une valeur de plus de 2 000 m.

Cette espèce dépendante du pin est étroitement liée aux zones biogéoclimatiques du pin ponderosa et du douglas bleu, où se trouve le pin ponderosa (Pinus ponderosae) et aux zones biogéoclimatiques de l'épinette d'Englemann, du sapin subalpin et des épinettes de montagnes qui abritent le pin à blanche écorce (Pinus albicaulis). Sa période de nidification a lieu au début de l'année et il niche uniquement dans les régions où il y a suffisamment de cônes (Campbell et coll. 1997).

Conservation et recommandations Le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs indique que la population est stable ou encore qu'elle augmente, mais la réduction de la nourriture disponible en raison de l'épidémie de dendroctone du pin ponderosa (Dendroctonus ponderosae) et de la rouille vésiculeuse du pin blanc est préoccupante (Environnement Canada 2011). Toutefois, la sécheresse du climat prévue dans la zone intérieure de la Colombie-Britannique pourrait créer des conditions favorables pour la croissance du pin (Hamann et Wang 2006). La surveillance continue et les recherches approfondies sont essentielles pour comprendre la façon dont ces facteurs pourraient perturber le Cassenoix d'Amérique.

Kimberly M. Dohms and Peter J.A. Davidson

Citation recommandée: Dohms, K.M. and Davidson P.J.A. 2015. Cassenoix d'Amérique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=CLNU&lang=fr [10 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley