Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Common Loon, North and South Photography
Photo © North and South Photography

Photo: North and South Photography
Breeding evidence - Common Loon
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Common Loon
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Common Loon
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Common Loon
Gavia immer
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1629 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
212 280 525 301
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.417 (-1.49 - 2.03)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 1.17 (0.248 - 1.93)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.130.05 0.130.1 0.15
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.130.05 0.050.1 0.09
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.060.12 0.12  0.16

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.070.060.1 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.140.040.05
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.14 0.10.67
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.090.150.180.11

Characteristics and Range The Common Loon is a fitting symbol for Canada, the nation which sustains roughly 95% of its breeding population (Tozer et al. 2013a). Its echoing yodel is a soundtrack of the fresh, clean water bodies from coast to coast to coast where it spends the breeding season. It is equally widespread throughout British Columbia during summer, when its territorial duets serenade campers at lonely lakes. After the breeding season, it vacates interior lakes to overwinter along the Pacific Coast. The Common Loon's breeding range encompasses forested lakes across Canada and the northern tier of the United States, and extends eastward to Greenland and Iceland; eastern birds overwinter along the northwest and northeast Atlantic coasts (Evers et al. 2010).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Common Loon breeds throughout British Columbia; the greatest concentration of records is across the lake-filled plateaus between the Coast Mountains and the Rocky Mountains, where it is found most commonly between 750 and 1,250 m elevation.

As vocal as the Common Loon is, its localised wetland habitat is not best surveyed by randomised point counts. Atlas point counts found highest abundance in parts of the Central Interior and Southern Interior, and locally in the Coast and Mountains and Northern Boreal Mountains ecoprovinces. The Probability of Observation model seems to reaffirm this, highlighting the high-density wetlands on the Cariboo, Chilcotin, Interior, and also the Stikine-Yukon plateaus as some of the most likely places to find the species. This pattern is similar to Campbell et al. (1990), who noted "the Thompson-Okanagan and Fraser plateaus, and the Fraser Basin region appear to be the centre of abundance," covering parts of Southern Interior, Central Interior and Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovinces, respectively.

Conservation and Recommendations The Canadian Breeding Bird Survey shows an increasing long-term trend, but a stable trend in British Columbia (Environment Canada 2014). However, reproductive success is declining, and whilst it is currently higher in southwestern Canada, it is declining more steeply in the southwest than in the southeast, according to Bird Studies Canada's Canadian Lakes Loon Survey (Tozer et al. 2013b), a concern worthy of further investigation. Adult loons are long-lived, so a lag time is expected before lower reproductive success manifests as a decline in the breeding population (Tozer et al. 2013b). The list of potential threats is long, including habitat alteration and loss, disturbance, fishing practises, and pollution. Both individual loons and the overall population appear resilient to many of these threats (Evers et al. 2010). Many studies suggest mercury and acid precipitation are among the most important factors limiting reproductive success of Common Loons in southern Canada (Tozer et al. 2013b).

Christopher Di Corrado

Recommended citation: Di Corrado, C. 2015. Common Loon in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COLO&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Plongeon huard, North and South Photography
Photo © North and South Photography

Photo: North and South Photography
Indices de nidification - Plongeon huard
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Plongeon huard
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Plongeon huard
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Plongeon huard
Gavia immer

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1629 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
212 280 525 301
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.417 (-1.49 - 2.03)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 1.17 (0.248 - 1.93)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.130.05 0.130.1 0.15
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.130.05 0.050.1 0.09
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.060.12 0.12  0.16

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.070.060.1 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.140.040.05
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.14 0.10.67
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.090.150.180.11

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le plongeon huard est un symbole approprié pour le Canada, le pays qui supporte environ 95 % de sa population reproductive (Tozer et coll. 2013a). Son ioulement retentissant fait partie de la trame des corps d'eau douce et propre d'un océan à l'autre à l'autre où il passe sa période de reproduction. Il est également répandu en Colombie-Britannique en été, où ses duettos territoriaux sérénadent les campeurs autour de lacs solitaires. À la fin de la période de reproduction, il libère les lacs intérieurs afin d'hiverner le long de la côte du Pacifique. L'aire de reproduction du plongeon huard comprend les lacs forestiers partout au Canada et le tiers nord des États-Unis et s'étend vers l'est au Groenland et l'Islande; les oiseaux de l'est hivernent le long des côtes nord-ouest et nord-est de l'Atlantique (Evers et coll. 2010).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Plongeon huard niche dans l'ensemble de la Colombie-Britannique; la plus forte concentration des enregistrements est observée sur les plateaux lacustres situés entre la chaîne Côtière et les Rocheuses, où on le trouve surtout à des altitudes allant de 750 à 1 250 m.

Le Plongeon huard étant très vocal, il est difficile d'effectuer un relevé de son habitat humide localisé en faisant des dénombrements ponctuels aléatoires. Les dénombrements par point de l'Atlas ont permis de conclure que sa plus forte abondance se trouve dans des parties des écoprovinces Intérieur centre et Intérieur sud, et localement dans les écoprovinces Côtes et montagnes et Montagnes boréales du nord. Le modèle des probabilités d'observation semble réaffirmer cela, mettant en évidence les zones humides à forte densité sur les plateaux Cariboo, Chilcotin, Intérieur et également les plateaux Stikine-Yukon comme certains des endroits où il est le plus probable de trouver l'espèce. Cette tendance est semblable à celle notée par Campbell et coll. (1990), qui ont indiqué que les plateaux de Thompson-Okanagan et du Fraser, et la région du bassin du Fraser semblaient être le centre d'abondance, recouvrant des parties des écoprovinces Intérieur sud, Intérieur centre et Intérieur subboréal, respectivement.

Conservation et recommandations Le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs du Canada démontre une tendance à long terme à la hausse en Colombie-Britannique (Environnement Canada 2014). Cependant, les succès de reproduction sont à la baisse et pendant qu'ils sont plus élevés dans le sud-ouest du Canada, ils sont en plus grand déclin dans le sud-ouest que dans le sud-est d'après l'Inventaire canadien des huarts à collier d'Études d'Oiseaux Canada (Tozer et coll. 2013b), une préoccupation méritant une enquête plus approfondie. Les huards adultes ont une longue durée de vie, donc un décalage est attendu avant que des succès de reproduction plus faibles soient manifestés sous forme d'un déclin de la population reproductive (Tozer et coll. 2013b). La liste de menaces potentielles est longue, et comprend les changements, les pertes, les perturbations, les pratiques de pêche et la pollution d'habitats. Les huards individuels et la population générale semblent résistants à de nombreuses de ces menaces (Evers et coll. 2010). De nombreuses études soulignent que des précipitations de mercure et acides sont parmi les facteurs les plus importants limitant les succès de reproduction du plongeon huard dans le sud du Canada (Tozer et coll. 2013b).

Christopher Di Corrado

Citation recommandée: Di Corrado, C. 2015. Plongeon huard dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COLO&lang=fr [07 août 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley