Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Common Poorwill, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Common Poorwill
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Common Poorwill
Probability of observation

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Common Poorwill
Phalaenoptilus nuttallii
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
595 - 909 m
Conserv. status:
COSEWIC: Data deficient
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
4 12 35 1
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.01   
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
   0.01   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.01   

Characteristics and Range The Common Poorwill is a nocturnal nightjar, with relatively little known about its biology. It is, however, unique in being the only species of bird known to hibernate (Woods and Brigham 2004). Most calling birds are detected on moonlit nights (Noble and Knight 2015, Brigham and Barclay 1992). It usually forages from the ground, often from gravel roads or a low perch, from which it sallies upward to catch flying insects (Brigham and Barclay 1992). The Common Poorwill breeds across open and dry wooded areas of western North America, from the southern Canadian Prairies and Great Basin regions to central Mexico. Little is known about its migration; in winter it is known only from the southern part of its breeding range, where wintering birds can remain in hibernation for up to 90% of days (Woods et al. 2005).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Common Poorwill's breeding season distribution is restricted to a few dry valleys across the Central Interior, Southern Interior, and Southern Interior Mountain ecoprovinces. The breeding distribution shown in the Atlas is similar to the overall distribution when the The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, with midsummer occurrence confirmed for the first time by the Atlas surveys in the Nicola and Middle Fraser valleys of the Central Interior Ecoprovince. The increase may be a result of increased coverage and knowledge of their behaviour and habitat preferences, instead of a real increase in the breeding range.

The Probability of Observation model predicated that Common Poorwill is most likely to occur in the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench, and the Okanagan, Fraser, and Kettle valleys, but even in these areas PObs values are very restricted and generally low. Due to its nocturnal nature, the Common Poorwill was detected too infrequently on point counts to draw conclusions about abundance across the province. All point count detections were within the Ponderosa Pine, Bunchgrass, and Interior Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zones, and between 500 and 900 m elevation, similar to what was reported in Campbell et al. (1990).

This species is closely tied to dry open habitats associated with Ponderosa Pine (Pinus ponderosa), Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii), and adjacent native grassland ecosystems, between 330 and 1,000 m elevation (Woods et al. 2005, Hardy et al. 1998, Campbell et al. 1990). Its presence is frequently associated with microhabitat features such as rocky outcrops, steep slopes, patches of shrubby vegetation, and scattered Ponderosa Pine and Douglas-fir (Hardy et al. 1998).

Conservation and Recommendations The status of this species in Canada is relatively unknown, due to its poor coverage by the Breeding Bird Survey; it was assessed by COSEWIC in 1993 as Data Deficient (Environment Canada 2011). Little is known about the complete range extent, population trend, productivity, or survival in British Columbia, data needed to inform conservation programs. Specialized surveys are required to monitor this species, and these should focus on creating long-term population trends, determining the complete range extent in the province, annual productivity, and survival.

Mike Boyd

Recommended citation: Boyd, M. 2015. Common Poorwill in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COPO&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Engoulevent de Nuttall, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Engoulevent de Nuttall
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Engoulevent de Nuttall
Probabilité d'observation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Engoulevent de Nuttall
Phalaenoptilus nuttallii

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
595 - 909 m
Statut de conserv.:
COSEWIC: Data deficient
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
4 12 35 1
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.01   
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
   0.01   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.01   

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition L'engoulement de Nuttall est un engoulement nocturne et l'on connaît peu de détails concernant sa biologie. Il est toutefois unique puisqu'il est la seule espèce d'oiseau connue qui hiberne (Woods et Brigham 2004). La majorité des oiseaux chanteurs sont détectés à clair de lune (Noble et Knight 2015 Brigham et Barclay 1992). Il s'alimente normalement au sol, souvent sur des routes de graviers ou de perchoirs bas, desquels il s'élance afin d'attraper des insectes volants (Brigham et Barclay 1992). L'engoulement de Nuttall se reproduit dans les régions dégagées et forestières sèches de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, du sud des Prairies canadiennes et des régions du Grand Bassin au Mexique central. On connaît peu de détails concernant sa migration : on connaît seulement la partie sud de son étendue de reproduction en hiver, où les oiseaux hivernants peuvent hiberner pendant jusqu'à 90 % des jours d'hiver (Woods et coll. 2005).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La répartition de la saison de reproduction de l'Engoulevent de Nuttall se limite à quelques vallées sèches dans les écoprovinces Intérieur centre, Intérieur sud et Montagnes intérieures du sud. La distribution de la nidification indiquée dans l'Atlas est similaire à la distribution générale connue lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1990, et une occurrence au milieu de l'été a été confirmée pour la première fois par les relevés de l'Atlas dans les vallées de Nicola et du cours moyen du Fraser dans l'écoprovince Intérieur centre. L'augmentation peut être attribuable à l'accroissement de la couverture et des connaissances de son comportement et de ses preférences en matière d'habitat, au lieu d'une réelle augmentation de son aire de reproduction.

Le modèle des probabilités d'observation affirmait que l'Engoulevent de Nuttall était plus susceptible de se trouver dans le sillon des Rocheuses du Sud, et dans les vallées de l'Okanagan, du Fraser et de la Kettle, mais même dans ces régions les valeurs de Pobs sont très limitées et généralement faibles. En raison de sa nature nocturne, l'Engoulevent de Nuttall a été détecté trop rarement lors des dénombrements par point pour pouvoir tirer des conclusions au sujet de son abondance dans toute la province. Tous les détections des dénombrements par point ont été faites dans les zones biogéoclimatiques du pin ponderosa, de la prairie et du Douglas taxifolié de l'intérieur, et à des altitudes allant de 500 à 900 m, ce qui est semblable à ce qui avait été rapporté dans Campbell et coll. (1990).

Cette espèce est étroitement liée à des habitats secs ouverts associés aux écosystèmes du pin ponderosa (Pinus ponderosa), du douglas vert (Pseudotsuga menziesii), et à des écosystèmes herbagers indigènes adjacents, situés entre 330 et 1 000 m d'altitude (Woods et coll. 2005, Hardy et coll. 1998, Campbell et coll. 1990). Sa présence est souvent associée à des caractéristiques de microhabitat telles que des affleurements rocheux, des pentes abruptes, des parcelles de végétation arbustive et des pins ponderosa et des douglas verts épars (Hardy et coll. 1998).

Conservation et recommandations Le statut de cette espèce au Canada est relativement inconnu, en raison de la faible portée du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs : le statut a été évalué par COSEPAC en 1993 le résultat était « données insuffisantes » (Environnement Canada 2011). On connaît peu de détails concernant le territoire entier, les tendances de population, la productivité ou la survie de l'espèce en Colombie-Britannique; des données sont nécessaires afin d'informer les programmes de conservation. Des études spécialisées sont nécessaires afin de surveiller cette espèce et celles-ci devraient se concentrer sur la création de tendances de populations à long terme, déterminant le territoire entier de la province, la productivité annuelle et la survie.

Mike Boyd

Citation recommandée: Boyd, M. 2015. Engoulevent de Nuttall dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=COPO&lang=fr [07 déc. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley