Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Dusky Grouse, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Dusky Grouse
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Dusky Grouse
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Dusky Grouse
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Dusky Grouse
Dendragapus obscurus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
214 - 2138 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
3
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
114 55 105 47
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.110.07  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
      0.05
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.090.06 0.11   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.07 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.260.060.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.09 0.11 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.13   

Characteristics and Range The Dusky Grouse was formerly considered conspecific with the Sooty Grouse, the two taxa together forming the Blue Grouse (Dendragapus obscurus). Mitochondrial DNA analyses, combined with behavioural and habitat differences indicate they are best treated as separate species (Barrowclough et al. 2004). They are very similar in appearance, but Dusky tends to be lighter and more greyish compared to Sooty, with displaying males showing a deep red neck sac and all-black tail feathers. The Dusky Grouse occurs immediately east of the range of the Sooty Grouse, in interior mountains, plateaus, and basins of western North America, from central Yukon to hill ranges south of the Rocky Mountains (Zwickell and Bendell 2005).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Dusky Grouse is relatively widespread in southern interior British Columbia but more sparsely distributed farther north. The western limit of its distribution narrowly overlaps with that of Sooty Grouse along the eastern downslopes of the southern Coast Mountains and along upper reaches of large rivers like the Skeena that penetrate the coastal mountain ranges farther north.

The Probability of Observation model shows that it is not an easy bird to find anywhere. It is probably under-recorded, since the deep, low hooting call of the male Dusky Grouse is very difficult to hear, and usually delivered in early spring. The centre of breeding appears unchanged since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990: south of 52░N in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince including the Chilcotin Plateau, and secondarily the Southern Interior Mountains Ecoprovince, mainly in the Interior Douglas-fir and Engelmann Spruce-Subalpine Fir biogeoclimatic zones. Dusky Grouse breeds at higher elevations than Sooty Grouse, with many observations in the 1,500-2,250 m range, although breeding from 500-1,250 m is not uncommon.

Dusky Grouse use a variety of coniferous forest habitats and even sagebrush (Artemisia species) grasslands for breeding. Nests are placed in small depressions on the ground, and lined with dry vegetation. As in all grouse, young leave the nest very soon after hatching to forage in family groups with the female.

Conservation and Recommendations The conservation status of Dusky Grouse in British Columbia is not clear, but British Columbia's global responsibility for the species is high. Breeding Bird Survey data suggest a possible decline in the Great Basin (Environment Canada 2014), but are insufficient to produce a meaningful trend. Like all grouse in North America, the Dusky Grouse is a popular gamebird, and is hunted across its range in British Columbia, although hunting appears to present little threat to the persistence of the species (Zwickell and Bendell 2005). As with the Sooty Grouse, further study would improve our understanding of the provincial population, not least because their recent split means species-specific data are lacking.

Brian Starzomski

Recommended citation: Starzomski, B. 2015. Dusky Grouse in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=DUGR&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Tétras sombre, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Tétras sombre
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Tétras sombre
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Tétras sombre
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Tétras sombre
Dendragapus obscurus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
214 - 2138 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
3
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
114 55 105 47
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.110.07  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
      0.05
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.090.06 0.11   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.07 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.260.060.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.09 0.11 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.13   

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Alors que l'on considérait auparavant que le Tétras sombre était le congénère du Tétras fuligineux, les deux taxons ont été combinés pour former le Tétras sombre (Dendragapus obscurus). Les analyses de l'ADN mitochondrial, de même que les différences de comportement et d'habitat, indiquent qu'il est plus facile de les traiter en tant qu'espèces séparées (Barrowclough et coll. 2004). Bien que leur apparence soit très similaire, le Tétras sombre a tendance à être plus petit et plus gris que le Tétras fuligineux. Les mâles présentent de plus une touche de rouge foncé à leur cou et des plumes noires à leur queue. Le Tétras sombre est présent dans la zone située tout juste à l'est de l'aire de répartition du Tétras fuligineux, dans les montagnes intérieures, les plateaux et les bassins de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, du centre du Yukon jusqu'aux collines du sud des montagnes Rocheuses (Zwickell et Bendell 2005).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Bien que le Tétras sombre soit relativement répandu dans la zone intérieure méridionale de la Colombie-Britannique, il est plus éparpillé vers le nord. La limite occidentale de sa répartition chevauche étroitement celle du Tétras fuligineux le long des versants orientaux du sud de la chaîne Côtière et le long des cours supérieurs des grandes rivières, comme Skeena, qui pénètrent les aires montagnardes côtières plus loin dans le nord.

Le modèle de probabilité d'observation démontre qu'il est difficile de trouver cet oiseau. Celui-ci est probablement d'ailleurs sous-recensé, car le hululement profond et faible du Tétras sombre mâle, qu'il fait entendre habituellement tôt au printemps, est difficile à percevoir. Le centre de reproduction semble inchangé depuis la parution de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990 : le sud du 52e parallèle dans l'écoprovince du Sud intérieur, notamment sur le plateau Chilcotin, et en second lieu dans l'écoprovince des Montagnes intérieures du sud, principalement dans la zone biogéoclimatique intérieure du sapin de Douglas et dans la zone biogéoclimatique subalpine du sapin et de l'épinette d'Engelmann. Le Tétras sombre se reproduit à des altitudes plus élevées que le Tétras fuligineux. On l'a observé à de nombreuses reprises dans une aire de 1500 à 2250 m, bien que la reproduction de 500 à 1250 m ne soit pas commune.

Le Tétras sombre occupe divers habitats forestiers de conifères ainsi que des prairies d'armoises (espèce Artemisia) pour la reproduction. Les nids sont placés dans de petites dépressions sur le sol, en ligne avec la végétation sèche. Comme tous les autres tétras, les oisillons quittent le nid très tôt après l'éclosion afin de s'alimenter en famille avec la femelle.

Conservation et recommandations Même si le statut de conservation du Tétras sombre en Colombie-Britannique n'est pas clair, la responsabilité mondiale de la province demeure grande. Bien que les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs suggèrent un déclin possible dans le Grand Bassin (Environnement Canada 2014), elles sont insuffisantes pour établir une tendance explicite. Comme tous les tétras de l'Amérique du Nord, le Tétras sombre est un gibier populaire qui est chassé dans son aire de répartition en Colombie-Britannique. La chasse ne semble toutefois pas poser une grande menace à la persistance de l'espèce (Zwickell et Bendell 2005). Tout comme on l'a fait pour le Tétras fuligineux, une étude approfondie améliorerait notre compréhension de la population provinciale, notamment parce qu'il manque des données propres à l'espèce en raison de leur séparation récente.

Brian Starzomski

Citation recommandée: Starzomski, B. 2015. Tétras sombre dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=DUGR&lang=fr [02 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley