Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Eastern Phoebe, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - Eastern Phoebe
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Eastern Phoebe
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Eastern Phoebe
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Eastern Phoebe
Sayornis phoebe
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
382 - 872 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
29 17 61 37
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1974 - 2012 2.98 (-2.72 - 8.83)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.03 (-2.37 - 0.262)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.03  0.06  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
 0.05 0.02  0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.03  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range Although fairly drab and non-descript in appearance, the Eastern Phoebe is a familiar bird to many people in the eastern United States and southern Canada. It frequently nests on man-made structures and its characteristic tail-bobbing and clear and distinctive 'fee-bee' song make it easily identifiable. The Eastern Phoebe breeds mainly in eastern temperate forests, westward into the Great Plains and north to the southern Boreal Forest. The range extends much farther to the west in Canada, reaching the Rocky Mountain foothills. The Eastern Phoebe winters primarily in the United States Southern Coastal Plains and eastern Mexico.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The species is found almost exclusively east of the Rocky Mountains in British Columbia, primarily in the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince and northward into the Taiga Plains Ecoprovince. There were isolated Atlas records on the Interior Plateau farther west. This pattern of distribution generally matches that when The Birds of British Columbia was published, although Campbell et al. (1997) documented an isolated record from the Southern Interior Mountains Ecoprovince. Breeding west of the Rocky Mountains remains sporadic.

Within its restricted range in the province, the Eastern Phoebe is only moderately common. It was found between 350 and 880 m elevation and the highest Probability of Observation was in the Peace River lowlands of the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince, unchanged since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997. Similarly high PObs values were modelled only in a restricted area of the Fort Nelson River lowlands. Almost all Atlas records are from the Boreal White and Black Spruce biogeoclimatic zone.

In British Columbia, the Eastern Phoebe is found in open woodland, brushy areas, and forest edges, almost always near water during the nesting season, but post-breeding birds range more widely. Habitat use is similar elsewhere (Weeks 2011). Man-made structures, similar to those used by Barn Swallows (e.g., outbuildings, picnic shelters, bridges, etc.), are often selected for nesting sites. Phoebes and swallows have not been found nesting concurrently on the same structure (Phinney 1998), but each may use the others empty nest, after refurbishment. There is no evidence of either species usurping an occupied nest of the other (Weeks 2011). Unlike Barn Swallows, which now rarely nest on natural substrates, much of the British Columbia population of Eastern Phoebes continues to nest in natural locations such as caves, rock outcrops, riverbank overhangs and similar niches.

Conservation and Recommendations Breeding Bird Survey data suggest a long-term decrease across Canada, the causes of which are unclear (Environment Canada 2011). Acceptance of man-made structures for nesting has probably helped the Eastern Phoebe expand its breeding range into the Great Plains (Weeks 2011) and has likely bolstered populations elsewhere, including northeast British Columbia. However, demolition of old buildings and replacement of wood-beam bridges with culverts or cement bridges has reduced potential nesting sites for this species (Phinney 1998, Weeks 2011). Northeastern British Columbia has an abundance of creeks and rivers with steep overhanging banks that will continue to provide natural nesting sites for this species.

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. Eastern Phoebe in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=EAPH&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Moucherolle phébi, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Moucherolle phébi
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Moucherolle phébi
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Moucherolle phébi
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Moucherolle phébi
Sayornis phoebe

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
382 - 872 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
29 17 61 37
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1974 - 2012 2.98 (-2.72 - 8.83)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -1.03 (-2.37 - 0.262)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.03  0.06  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
 0.05 0.02  0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.03  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Bien que son apparence soit assez terne et sans caractéristiques uniques, le moucherolle phébi est un oiseau familier dans l'est des États-Unis et dans le sud du Canada. Il fait fréquemment son nid sur des structures artificielles et son chant clair et distinct de « fi-bi » accompagné de mouvements de sa queue l'identifie facilement. Le moucherolle phébi se reproduit principalement dans les forêts tempérées de l'est, vers l'ouest dans les Grandes Plaines et au nord dans le sud de la forêt boréale. Son étendue s'étire beaucoup plus loin à l'ouest du Canada, atteignant le pied des montagnes Rocheuses. Le moucherolle phébi hiverne principalement dans les plaines côtières du sud des États-Unis et dans l'est du Mexique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'espèce se trouve presque exclusivement à l'est des Rocheuses en Colombie-Britannique, principalement dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales et au nord dans l'écoprovince Plaines de la Taïga. Quelques relevés isolés ont été effectués par l'Atlas dans le plateau intérieur plus à l'ouest. Ce schéma de répartition correspond généralement à celui connu lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié, bien que Campbell et coll. (1997) aient documenté un enregistrement isolé dans l'écoprovince Montagnes intérieures du sud. Sa reproduction à l'ouest des Rocheuses demeure sporadique.

Dans son aire restreinte au sein de la province, le Moucherolle phébi n'est que relativement commun. Il a été observé à des altitudes de 350 à 880 m et sa plus forte probabilité d'observation était dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales, inchangée depuis que The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1997. De même, des valeurs de Pobs élevées n'ont été modélisées que dans une zone restreinte des basses terres de la rivière Fort Nelson. Presque tous les relevés de l'Atlas ont été effectués dans la zone biogéoclimatique boréale des épinettes blanche et noire.

En Colombie-Britannique, le Moucherolle phébi a pour habitat des boisements ouverts, des broussailles et des lisières de forêts, situés presque toujours près de points d'eau durant la saison de nidification; toutefois, après la reproduction, son aire est plus vaste. L'utilisation des habitats est similaire ailleurs (Weeks 2011). Les structures érigées par l'homme, similaires à celles utilisées par l'Hirondelle rustique (p. ex., des dépendances, des aires de pique-nique, des ponts, etc.), sont souvent choisies comme site de nidification. Les moucherolles et les hirondelles n'ont pas été observées en train de nicher simultanément sur la même structure (Phinney 1998), mais les deux espèces peuvent utiliser le nid vide de l'autre espèce, après sa remise en état. Aucune preuve n'indique que l'une des espèces puisse usurper le nid occupé de l'autre espèce (Weeks 2011). Contrairement à l'Hirondelle rustique, qui désormais niche rarement sur des substrats naturels, la majeure partie de la population du Moucherolle phébi en Colombie-Britannique continue de nicher dans des lieux naturels tels que des cavernes, des affleurements rocheux, des rives en surplomb et des niches similaires.

Conservation et recommandations Les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs sous-entendent un déclin à long terme partout au Canada; les causes de ce déclin ne sont pas claires ( Environnement Canada 2011). L'acceptation de structures artificielles pour la nidification a probablement assisté le moucherolle phébi à étendre son aire de reproduction dans les Grandes Plaines (Weeks 2011) et a probablement aussi renforcé les autres populations, y compris celles du nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Toutefois, la démolition de vieux bâtiments et le remplacement de ponts à poutres en bois a réduit le nombre de sites de nidification potentiels de cette espèce ( Phinney 1998 , Weeks 2011). Le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique a une abondance de criques et de rivières avec des berges escarpées en surplomb qui continuent de fournir des sites de nidification naturels pour cette espèce.

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Moucherolle phébi dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=EAPH&lang=fr [03 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley