Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Evening Grosbeak, John Gordon
Photo © John Gordon

Photo: John Gordon
Breeding evidence - Evening Grosbeak
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Evening Grosbeak
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Evening Grosbeak
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Evening Grosbeak
Coccothraustes vespertinus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1945 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
69 180 572 325
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.5 (-5.58 - 0.266)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -4.59 (-5.98 - -3.3)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.10.03 0.310.1 0.11
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.10.02 0.030.07 0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.10.11 0.34  0.13

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.030.040.03
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.250.130.070.14
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.32 0.25 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.18 0.180.06

Characteristics and Range The massive, seed-cracking bill and striking gold, black and white body of the Evening Grosbeak are difficult for observers to miss. The Evening Grosbeak breeds in southern boreal and northern temperate coniferous and deciduous forests across North America and southward in western montane forests (Gillihan and Byers 2001). It is resident throughout its breeding range, but often abandons the northernmost portions during winter when it is found south of the breeding range in eastern temperate forests. The Evening Grosbeak is well known for fall and winter irruptions and wanderings in response to changes in food supply (Gillihan and Byers 2001).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Evening Grosbeak breeds mainly throughout the southern and central interior of British Columbia. Campbell et al. (2001) noted that the breeding distribution in British Columbia was poorly known. The Atlas systematic survey effort has expanded the confirmed and probable breeding distribution throughout the province since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001, providing a more detailed picture for this nomadic bird. The Evening Grosbeak is distributed across a wide altitudinal range, but most breeding occurs at mid-elevations.

The most extensive area of high Probability of Observation is in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, spilling into neighbouring portions of the Coast and Mountains, Southern Interior Mountains and Central Interior ecoprovinces. Atlas point counts show highest abundance between 1,000 and 1,250 m, corresponding with the mid-elevation plateaus in this area, and in the Interior Douglas-fir and Montane Spruce biogeoclimatic zones that dominate those plateaus.

Coniferous and mixed wood forests are preferred for nesting. Breeding is frequently associated with outbreaks of forest-defoliating insects such as spruce budworm; therefore, local abundance can vary greatly through time and space.

Conservation and Recommendations Across Canada, Evening Grosbeak populations have shown a large decrease since 1970 (Environment Canada 2011). The causes of the decline are not well understood, but probably stem from multiple factors including large-scale forestry operations, disease, and reduced food availability due to fewer forest insect infestations, especially spruce budworm. It may be that the recent decline is largely a return to "normal" levels as budworm outbreaks have declined. Breeding Bird Survey data suggest that the decline may be less steep in British Columbia than more eastern regions; continued monitoring is important to clarify whether this is the case. Collisions with moving cars are a common source of mortality of Evening Grosbeaks in winter because they are attracted to roads by sand and salt laid for de-icing, especially when the ground is covered by snow. At least 2,000 adults were found dead in 1980 along the highway through Manning Park, with many more dead off-road (Smith 1981).

Art Martell

Recommended citation: Martell, A. 2015. Evening Grosbeak in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=EVGR&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Gros-bec errant, John Gordon
Photo © John Gordon

Photo: John Gordon
Indices de nidification - Gros-bec errant
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Gros-bec errant
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Gros-bec errant
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Gros-bec errant
Coccothraustes vespertinus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1945 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
69 180 572 325
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.5 (-5.58 - 0.266)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -4.59 (-5.98 - -3.3)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.10.03 0.310.1 0.11
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.10.02 0.030.07 0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.10.11 0.34  0.13

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.030.040.03
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.250.130.070.14
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.32 0.25 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.18 0.180.06

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Il est difficile pour des observateurs de ne pas remarquer le Gros-bec errant avec son énorme bec avec lequel il ouvre des semences et son éclatant plumage or, noir et blanc. Le Gros-bec errant niche dans les forêts de conifères et de feuillus boréales méridionales et tempérées septentrionales de toute l'Amérique du Nord et vers le sud jusque dans les forêts alpestres de l'ouest (Gillihan et Byers 2001). Il est résident dans toute son aire de reproduction, mais il abandonne souvent ses parties les plus septentrionales en hiver, quand on le trouve au sud de l'aire de reproduction dans les forêts tempérées de l'est. Le Gros-bec errant est bien connu pour ses irruptions et ses errances en automne et en hiver en réaction aux changements de l'approvisionnement en nourriture (Gillihan et Byers 2001).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Gros-bec errant niche principalement dans les régions méridionale et centrale de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique. Campbell et coll. (2001) ont relevé que la distribution de la reproduction en Colombie-Britannique était mal connue. L'effort de relevé systématique de l'Atlas a élargi la distribution de reproduction confirmée et probable à toute la province depuis que The Birds of British Columbia a été publié, présentant un tableau plus détaillé de cet oiseau nomade. Pendant l'Atlas, le Gros-bec errant était distribué sur une vaste aire de répartition en altitude, mais la majeure partie de la nidification a eu lieu à des altitudes moyennes.

La zone la plus étendue de forte probabilité d'observation se trouvait dans l'écoprovince Intérieur sud, mais débordait sur les parties voisines des écoprovinces Côte et montagnes, Montagnes intérieures du sud et Intérieur centre. Les dénombrements ponctuels de l'Atlas indiquent une forte abondance entre 1 000 et 1 250 mètres, ce qui correspond au plateau d'altitude moyenne dans cette région, et dans les zones géoclimatiques intérieures à douglas et montagnardes à épinette qui dominent ces plateaux.

Les forêts de conifères et mixtes sont les lieux de nidification préférés. La reproduction est associée fréquemment à des éclosions d'insectes forestiers phyllophages comme la tordeuse des bourgeons de l'épinette; par conséquent, l'abondance locale peut fortement varier dans le temps et dans l'espace.

Conservation et recommandations Dans tout le Canada, les populations de Gros-becs errants ont affiché une importante diminution depuis 1970 (Environnement Canada 2011). Les causes de ce déclin ne sont pas bien comprises, mais découlent probablement de multiples facteurs parmi lesquels d'importantes exploitations forestières, la maladie et la diminution de la disponibilité de nourriture par suite de la diminution d'infestations d'insectes forestiers, particulièrement de la tordeuse des bourgeons de l'épinette. Il se peut que la récente baisse soit en grande partie un retour à des niveaux « normaux », car les éclosions de la tordeuse des bourgeons d'épinette ont diminué. Les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs donnent à penser que la baisse est peut-être moins prononcée en Colombie-Britannique que dans les régions plus à l'est; une surveillance continue est importante pour clarifier si c'est bien le cas. Des collisions avec des voitures en mouvement sont une source commune de mortalité du Gros-bec errant en hiver, parce qu'il est attiré vers les routes par le sable et le sel épandus pour le déglaçage, particulièrement lorsque le sol est couvert de neige. Au moins 2 000 adultes ont été trouvés morts en 1980 le long de routes traversant le parc Manning, avec de nombreux autres morts hors route (Smith 1981).

Art Martell

Citation recommandée: Martell, A. 2015. Gros-bec errant dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=EVGR&lang=fr [27 févr. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley