Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Horned Puffin, Peter Candido
Photo © Peter Candido

Photo: Peter Candido
Breeding evidence - Horned Puffin
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Horned Puffin
Fratercula corniculata

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 0 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
1 1 1 0
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range Widely distributed in subarctic and North Pacific Ocean waters off the coasts of Alaska and eastern Asia, the Horned Puffin reaches the southern limits of its breeding range in British Columbia (Piatt and Kitaysky 2002). It spends the winter in deep waters of the central North Pacific. Like all puffins, the Horned Puffin is striking and unmistakable. It is a generalist feeder that forages mainly in deep oceanic waters far from shore and nests in rock crevices on remote islands (Piatt and Kitaysky 2002).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat There is only one confirmed British Columbia breeding record for Horned Puffin, at S'Gang Gwaay, off the southwest corner of Haida Gwaii, although small numbers probably have bred at several other sites along the coast (Campbell et al. 1990). During the Atlas years, breeding evidence was obtained at three sites: Cape St. James and the Kerouard Islands, both at the south end of the Haida Gwaii archipelago, and Triangle Island where appreciable numbers (tens) occur in all years in suitable nesting habitat and are regularly seen delivering fish to probable nests (rock crevices high up on steep cliffs).

This is a rare species at any time in the temperate waters off the British Columbia coast. Breeding colonies throughout the species' range are generally located on remote islands that are unlikely to have human visitors. There are just 3 island groups designated as Important Bird Areas in British Columbia that support breeding Horned Puffins (IBA Canada 2015).

For nesting, the Horned Puffin uses crevices in talus slopes, on cliffs (as at Triangle Island), and amid beach boulders, on remote, rocky islands.

Conservation and Recommendations Throughout its range, the Horned Puffin is potentially vulnerable to human disturbance, oiling at sea, fisheries operations, and introduced predators; especially rats (Rattus species) and Raccoons (Procyon lotor) which have decimated some British Columbia seabird colonies. Relative to most other auks, a relatively high proportion (37%) of individual Horned Puffins had plastic particles in stomachs in Alaskan waters in the late 1980s (Robards et al. 1995).

Mark Hipfner

Recommended citation: Hipfner, M. 2015. Horned Puffin in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=HOPU&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Macareux cornu, Peter Candido
Photo © Peter Candido

Photo: Peter Candido
Indices de nidification - Macareux cornu
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Macareux cornu
Fratercula corniculata

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 0 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
1 1 1 0
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Très répandu dans les eaux océaniques subarctiques et du nord du Pacifique au large de l'Alaska et de l'est de l'Asie, le macareux cornu atteint l'extrémité sud de son aire de reproduction en Colombie-Britannique (Piatt et Kitaysky 2002). Il hiverne dans les eaux profondes centrales du nord du Pacifique. Comme tous les macareux, le macareux cornu est frappant et facile à reconnaître. Il est un généraliste qui s'alimente principalement dans les eaux océaniques profondes loin du rivage et fait son nid dans des crevasses de rochers d'îles éloignées (Piatt et Kitaysky 2002).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Il n'y a qu'un seul relevé de reproduction confirmée en Colombie-Britannique pour le Macareux cornu, à S'Gang Gwaay, au coin sud-ouest de Haida Gwaii, bien qu'un petit nombre d'individus se soient reproduits à plusieurs autres sites le long de la côte (Campbell et coll. 1990). Au cours des années des relevés de l'Atlas, des preuves de sa reproduction ont été obtenues à trois sites : le cap St. James et les îles Kerouard, tous deux à l'extrémité sud de l'archipel Haida Gwaii, et l'île Triangle où des nombres appréciables (des dizaines) d'individus ont été observés toutes les années dans un habitat de nidification convenable et sont régulièrement vus en train de porter du poisson à des nids probables (des crevasses rocheuses très en hauteur sur des falaises abruptes).

Il s'agit d'une espèce rare en tout temps dans les eaux tempérées de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Les colonies nicheuses dans toute l'aire de l'espèce se trouvent généralement sur des îles éloignées peu susceptibles d'être visitées par des humains. Il y a seulement 3 groupes d'îles désignés comme des Zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux en Colombie-Britannique et sur lesquels la reproduction du Macareux cornu est observée (ZICO Canada 2015).

Le Macareux cornu utilise comme site de nidification des crevasses sur des talus escarpés, sur des falaises (comme c'est le cas à l'île Triangle), et au milieu de roches sur des plages, sur des îles éloignées et rocheuses.

Conservation et recommandations Dans toute son étendue, le macareux cornu est potentiellement vulnérable aux perturbations humaines, aux activités pétrolières au large, aux activités de pêche commerciale et aux prédateurs introduits, principalement les espèces de rats (Rattus) et de ratons laveurs (Procyon lotor) qui ont décimé quelques colonies d'oiseaux de mer de la Colombie-Britannique. Relativement à la plupart des autres pingouins, on a détecté la présence de particules de plastique dans une grande portion des estomacs de macareux cornus (37 %) des eaux de l'Alaska vers la fin des années 1980 (Robards et coll. 1995).

Mark Hipfner

Citation recommandée: Hipfner, M. 2015. Macareux cornu dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=HOPU&lang=fr [10 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley