Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Mountain Chickadee, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Breeding evidence - Mountain Chickadee
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Mountain Chickadee
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Mountain Chickadee
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Mountain Chickadee
Poecile gambeli
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
218 - 2332 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
268 163 580 540
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.378 (-1.99 - 1.15)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 0.242 (-1.09 - 1.58)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.14  0.220.15 0.2
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.14     0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.140.15 0.23  0.2

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.190.140.1 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.240.130.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.250.080.16 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.210.110.120.08

Characteristics and Range The Mountain Chickadee inhabits montane coniferous forests throughout its range, which spans the western cordilleras of North America from the southern Rocky Mountains to the Yukon Plateau. A distinct white stripe in the black cap above the eye and a raspier call differentiate it from the closely related Black-capped Chickadee, with which it occasionally hybridizes. In some areas where the two species overlap, they show differences in habitat selection (Hill and Lein 1988, Grava 2012). Like other members of the Paridae family, this species is essentially non-migratory; some seed-dependent populations periodically disperse in response to local food shortages (Mccallum et al. 1999).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Mountain Chickadee is widespread in montane and plateau areas of central-southern British Columbia east of the Coast Mountains, but rather more sparsely distributed in northern montane regions, west of the Boreal Taiga Plains. Atlas data show a similar provincial range to The Birds of British Columbia published in 1997, but fill many gaps in the breeding season distribution, and show a wider distribution across the north, especially around the Stikine River basin and Atlin Lake, including the first confirmed breeding records north of the Skeena River. This may reflect an increase in observer effort rather than a genuine distributional change, but the large increase in records, including numerous confirmed breeding locations, suggest that a recent northward expansion may have occurred.

The Probability of Observation model and Atlas point counts show the centre of abundance is on the slopes and plateaus of the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, spilling into adjacent parts of the Central Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces, approximately as described by Campbell et al. (1997). Whilst the species uses a wide range of climate-vegetation types, the majority of records and the highest abundance are in the Interior Douglas-fir and Englemann Spruce - Subalpine Fir biogeoclimatic zones, and between 1,000 and 2,250 m elevation.

Mountain Chickadees prefer drier coniferous and mixed conifer-deciduous forests including riparian strips, and generally like more mature rather than recently logged stands. They are cavity nesters (Martin and Eadie 1999), reliant on dead, decaying or otherwise weakened trees and snags to excavate their own nest holes, or cavities excavated by woodpeckers. They also readily use nest boxes; most "unboxed" populations may be limited by availability of natural nest sites.

Conservation and Recommendations The Mountain Chickadee is not considered at risk and given the broad range of habitats and wide elevation used, it should be able to adapt to climate-induced habitat change. Population fluctuations (an initial pulse followed by a decline) are expected in response to Mountain Pine Beetle (Dendroctonus ponderosae) outbreaks; retention of Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides) and snags during salvage logging after bark beetle outbreaks may increase available nest sites (Martin et al. 2006).

Kenneth G. Wright

Recommended citation: Wright, K.G. 2015. Mountain Chickadee in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=MOCH&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Mésange de Gambel, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Indices de nidification - Mésange de Gambel
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Mésange de Gambel
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Mésange de Gambel
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Mésange de Gambel
Poecile gambeli

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
218 - 2332 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
268 163 580 540
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.378 (-1.99 - 1.15)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 0.242 (-1.09 - 1.58)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.14  0.220.15 0.2
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.14     0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.140.15 0.23  0.2

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.190.140.1 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.240.130.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.250.080.16 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.210.110.120.08

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La Mésange de Gambel vit dans les forêts montagnardes de conifères de l'ensemble de son aire de répartition, qui couvre les cordillères de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, des montagnes Rocheuses du sud jusqu'au plateau Yukon. Une ligne blanche distincte sur sa tête noire située au-dessus de l'oeil et un chant grinçant la différencient de sa proche parente, la Mésange à tête noire, avec qui elle s'accouple occasionnellement. Dans certaines régions où les deux espèces se chevauchent, celles-ci démontrent des différences dans leur choix d'habitat (Hill et Lein 1988, Grava 2012). À l'instar d'autres membres de la famille des Paridés, cette espèce est essentiellement non migratrice; certaines populations dépendantes de graines se dispersent de façon périodique au rythme des pénuries locales de nourriture (Mccallum et coll. 1999).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Mésange de Gambel est répandue dans les montagnes et les plateaux du centre-sud de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'est des montagnes côtières, mais se fait plus rare dans les régions montagneuses du nord, à l'ouest de l'écoprovince des Plaines boréales de la taïga. Bien que les données de l'Atlas démontrent une aire de répartition provinciale similaire à celle indiquée dans The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1997, elles comblent de nombreuses lacunes dans la répartition en saison de nidification et indiquent une répartition plus étendue vers le nord, particulièrement aux environs du bassin de la rivière Stikine et du lac Atlin, ce qui comprend les premières mentions confirmées de reproduction au nord de la rivière Skeena. Cette situation est peut-être davantage attribuable à l'intensification de l'effort d'observation plutôt qu'à un véritable changement dans la répartition, mais la grande augmentation des recensements liés à de nombreuses aires de reproduction confirmées suggère qu'il pourrait y avoir eu une expansion récente vers le nord.

Le modèle des probabilités d'observation et les dénombrements ponctuels de l'Atlas indiquent que le centre d'abondance se situe sur les pentes et les plateaux de l'écoprovince du Sud intérieur, débordant dans les parties adjacentes des écoprovinces du Centre intérieur et des Montagnes intérieures du sud, comme le décrivent approximativement Campbell et coll. (1997). Alors que l'espèce tire profit d'un large éventail de types de climats et de végétations, la majorité des mentions et l'abondance la plus élevée se situent dans la zone biogéoclimatique du sapin de Douglas, et entre 1 000 et 2 250 m d'altitude.

La Mésange de Gambel préfère les forêts de conifères plus secs et les forêts mixtes de conifères et de feuillus, y compris les bandes riveraines et généralement les peuplements plus matures que ceux récemment exploités. Elle niche dans des cavités (Martin et Eadie 1999) d'arbres morts, en décomposition ou affaiblis, et de chicots où elle creuse ses propres nids ou dans des cavités qui ont été creusées par des pics-bois. Elle utilise également volontiers les nichoirs; la plupart des populations n'ayant pas accès à des nichoirs peuvent être limitées par la disponibilité des sites naturels de nidification.

Conservation et recommandations La Mésange de Gambel n'est pas considérée comme étant en péril. En outre, étant donné la grande diversité d'habitats et d'altitudes occupés par cette espèce, elle devrait être en mesure de s'adapter aux changements d'habitats induits par le climat. Des fluctuations de populations (une poussée initiale, puis un déclin) sont prévues en réponse aux pullulations de dendroctones du pin ponderosa (Dendroctonus ponderosae); la conservation des peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides) et des chicots lors des coupes de récupération après des épidémies de dendroctones du pin ponderosa peut augmenter le nombre de sites de nidification disponibles (Martin et coll. 2006).

Kenneth G. Wright

Citation recommandée: Wright, K.G. 2015. Mésange de Gambel dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=MOCH&lang=fr [16 août 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley