Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Northern Flicker, John Gordon
Photo © John Gordon

Photo: John Gordon
Breeding evidence - Northern Flicker
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Northern Flicker
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Northern Flicker
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Northern Flicker
Colaptes auratus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 2301 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
564 358 1506 1234
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.035 (-0.903 - 0.797)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.352 (-0.734 - 0.018)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.10.09 0.180.13 0.12
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.10.09 0.090.14 0.1
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.120.15 0.18  0.09

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.090.180.15
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.110.070.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.190.080.110.15
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.190.070.150.12

Characteristics and Range The colourful and charismatic Northern Flicker inhabits open forests and parklands throughout North America wherever its primary prey, ants, can be found. Unlike other woodpeckers, the flicker spends most of its time foraging on the ground (Wiebe and Moore 2008). Differences in plumage colour can easily distinguish between the two subspecies groups found in British Columbia, the auratus group, or Yellow-shafted Flicker (C. a. auratus and perhaps C. a. luteus) and the cafer group or Red-shafted Flicker (C. a. cafer). They form a long contact zone, thousands of years old, following the Rocky Mountains north to about Tumbler Ridge and then angles northwest to the Haines Triangle (Wiebe and Moore 2008). North and east of this contact zone, the Yellow-shafted form prevails, while south and west of it the Red-shafted form is most common. Intergrades are regularly seen throughout southern British Columbia, becoming more common closer to the contact zone. Northern Flickers are short-distance migrants, with northern breeders migrating farther south to winter at lower elevations (Gow and Wiebe 2014), resulting in large numbers wintering in the valleys of southern British Columbia (Campbell et al. 1990).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Widespread throughout much of British Columbia, Northern Flickers occur in every ecoprovince and almost every biogeoclimatic zone. The breeding range is relatively unchanged since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990. Northern Flickers are more sparsely distributed in the Northern Boreal Mountains and Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces.

Striking in its habitat flexibility, Northern Flickers are found at all elevations, but are most common below 1,250 m. It is most likely observed and most abundant in the open mixedwood and coniferous forests in the valleys and on the lower plateaus of the Southern Interior and Central Interior ecoprovinces, especially in the Interior Douglas-fir, Ponderosa Pine and Bunchgrass biogeoclimatic zones.

Northern Flickers prefer forest edges and open woodlands approaching savannas, but variation in tree species composition is broad (Wiebe and Moore 2008). Although nest tree species vary, flickers in British Columbia prefer to nest in decaying or dead Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides) with only a single cavity, choosing to nest in a different cavity every year (Martin and Eadie 1999, Aitken and Martin 2004, Martin et al. 2004).

Conservation and Recommendations Population trends are variable in British Columbia, with some regions showing small increases and others small decreases (Environment Canada 2014). There may be several causes of local declines. European Starlings compete aggressively with flickers for cavities (Wiebe 2003). Flickers also require future reserves of both healthy and decaying trees for excavating cavities, interspersed with open foraging areas (Aitken and Martin 2004). Northern Flickers are key cavity excavators upon which most secondary cavity nesters in British Columbia rely (Martin and Eadie 1999). Forestry management practices that retain the keystone species-pair of Trembling Aspen and Northern Flicker across broad landscapes will help safeguard other cavity-nesting species in British Columbia (Martin et al. 2004, Martin et al. 2006).

Wendy E. Easton

Recommended citation: Easton, W.E. 2015. Northern Flicker in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NOFL&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pic flamboyant, John Gordon
Photo © John Gordon

Photo: John Gordon
Indices de nidification - Pic flamboyant
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Pic flamboyant
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Pic flamboyant
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pic flamboyant
Colaptes auratus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 2301 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
564 358 1506 1234
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.035 (-0.903 - 0.797)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.352 (-0.734 - 0.018)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.10.09 0.180.13 0.12
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.10.09 0.090.14 0.1
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.120.15 0.18  0.09

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.090.180.15
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.110.070.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.190.080.110.15
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.190.070.150.12

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le charismatique et coloré Pic flamboyant vit dans des forêts dégagées et des forêts-parcs de partout en Amérique du Nord où se trouve sa principale proie, les fourmis. Contrairement à d'autres pic-bois, le Pic flamboyant passe la majeure partie de son temps à chercher de la nourriture sur le sol (Wiebe et Moore 2008). Les différences entre les couleurs de plumage peuvent facilement distinguer les deux groupes de sous-espèces qui se trouvent en Colombie-Britannique, soit le groupe auratus ou le Pic à poitrine jaune (C. a. auratus et peut-être le C. a. luteus), et le groupe cafer ou le Pic à poitrine rouge (C. a. cafer). Leurs populations forment une longue zone de contact datant de milliers d'années qui suit les montagnes Rocheuses au nord de Tumbler Ridge, puis qui rejoint le nord-ouest du triangle Haines (Wiebe et Moore 2008). Le Pic à poitrine jaune est plus présent au nord et à l'est de cette zone de contact, alors que le Pic à poitrine rouge est plus présent au sud et à l'ouest. On voit régulièrement des populations intermédiaires entre ces formes partout dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique, dont la présence devient plus courante plus près de la zone de contact. Le Pic flamboyant est un oiseau qui migre sur de courtes distances. Par ailleurs, les oiseaux nicheurs du nord migrent plus au sud l'hiver et à de plus basses altitudes (Gow et Wiebe 2014), et un grand nombre d'oiseaux hivernent dans les vallées du sud de la Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Répandu dans l'ensemble de la Colombie-Britannique, le Pic flamboyant est présent dans chaque écoprovince et presque chaque zone biogéoclimatique. L'aire de reproduction demeure relativement inchangée depuis la parution de The Birds of British Columbia en 1990. Le Pic flamboyant se fait plus rare dans les écoprovinces des Montagnes boréales du nord et des Côtes et montagnes.

Se montrant souple pour le choix de son habitat, le Pic flamboyant vit à toutes les altitudes, mais sa présence est plus courante en dessous de 1 250  m. Il est plus susceptible de l'observer et plus abondant dans les forêts mixtes et les forêts de conifères dégagées dans les vallées et les plateaux inférieurs des écoprovinces du Sud intérieur et du Centre intérieur, particulièrement dans les zones biogéoclimatiques du sapin de Douglas, du pin ponderosa et de graminées cespiteuses.

Bien que le Pic flamboyant préfère les lisières de forêts et les forêts ouvertes se rapprochant de savanes, la variation de la composition des espèces d'arbres de ses habitats est vaste (Wiebe et Moore 2008). Alors que les espèces d'arbres utilisées pour la nidification varient, les pics de la Colombie-Britannique préfèrent nicher dans des peupliers faux-trembles morts ou en décomposition (Populus tremuloides) ayant une seule cavité ainsi que dans une cavité différente chaque année (Martin et Eadie 1999, Aitken et Martin 2004, Martin et coll. 2004).

Conservation et recommandations Bien que les tendances des populations soient variables en Colombie-Britannique, certaines régions démontrent de légères augmentations, alors que d'autres affichent de faibles baisses (Environnement Canada 2014). Plusieurs causes peuvent expliquer les déclins locaux. L'Étourneau sansonnet et le Pic flamboyant se font une concurrence agressive pour occuper les cavités des arbres (Wiebe 2003). En alternance avec des aires d'alimentation ouvertes (Aitken et Martin 2004), les pics nécessitent également de futures réserves d'arbres sains et en décomposition pour creuser ses trous. Le Pic flamboyant est un important excavateur de cavités sur qui de nombreux oiseaux nichant dans des trous déjà creusés se fient en Colombie-Britannique (Martin et Eadie 1999). Les pratiques de gestion forestière destinées à préserver le lien important entre le peuplier faux-tremble et le Pic flamboyant dans les vastes paysages aideront à préserver d'autres espèces qui nichent dans des cavités en Colombie-Britannique (Martin et coll. 2004, Martin et coll. 2006).

Wendy E. Easton

Citation recommandée: Easton, W.E. 2015. Pic flamboyant dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=NOFL&lang=fr [28 mai 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley