Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Pied-billed Grebe, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Breeding evidence - Pied-billed Grebe
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Pied-billed Grebe
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Pied-billed Grebe
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Pied-billed Grebe
Podilymbus podiceps
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
36 - 1206 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
102 29 151 37
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.46 (-5.2 - 1.61)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 1.13 (-0.679 - 2.77)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.02 0.080.09 0.07
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
 0.04 0.020.06 0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.140.06 0.08  0.09

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.020.020.07
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.06 0.21
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.09   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.120.07

Characteristics and Range Few who explore our wetlands have not enjoyed the grunts and barkings of this cryptic grebe from deep within the reeds of British Columbia's marshes, ponds, and lakes. Although often hidden amongst the vegetation during the breeding season, its thick white bill with a black band makes identification easy when seen. The Pied-billed Grebe's widespread distribution spans the southern Boreal Forest from British Columbia to the Atlantic and south through much of North, Central and parts of South America and the Caribbean. Northern breeding populations migrate short to medium distances to winter in coastal and more southerly regions (Muller and Storer 1999).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Pied-billed Grebe is a widely-distributed breeder in the southern half of the province but restricted to areas east of the Rocky Mountains in the north. The breeding distribution during the Atlas survey period was very similar to when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, but the Atlas records confirmed breeding farther northwest than was previously known, in the Liard River basin of the Northern Boreal Mountains Ecoprovince.

The probability of observing a Pied-billed Grebe is generally low, with highest values in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince followed closely by the Georgia Depression, Taiga Plains and Central Interior ecoprovinces, corresponding with the main clusters of breeding records. Most breeding in the interior is in valley bottom and lower plateau wetlands between 500 and 1,250 m elevation. The highest abundance based on point counts was found in the Southern Interior Mountains Ecoprovince, in the wetlands of the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench; however, randomised point counts do not sample the restricted wetland habitats of this grebe well. Campbell et al. (1990) note the centre of breeding abundance was across the southern interior, which the Atlas data shows is still the case.

Pied-billed Grebes nest on freshwater ponds or lake margins on floating platforms placed atop the water in depths varying from 20 cm to 2 m. Nests are generally attached to emergent vegetation such as bulrush (Scirpus) species or Cattail (Typha latifolia). Nests have also been found amongst water lilies (Nuphar) species and attached to shrubs. Often, the nest site is in the open surrounded by dense patches of vegetation (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations Pied-billed Grebes are not of conservation concern in British Columbia and are generally considered to be stable over the long-term (Environment Canada 2011). As with many species, maintaining healthy, productive wetlands for reproduction is key to the survival of this grebe, particularly the remaining uncompromised valley bottom wetlands in the southern interior. Populations may fluctuate over periods of years and, in some drier parts of the province, the availability of wetlands during drier years may influence grebe numbers. The influence of aquatic recreation and power boats on breeding lakes should be monitored for possible wave action and disturbance impacts on nests.

Rick Howie

Recommended citation: Howie, R. 2015. Pied-billed Grebe in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PBGR&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Grèbe à bec bigarré, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Indices de nidification - Grèbe à bec bigarré
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Grèbe à bec bigarré
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Grèbe à bec bigarré
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Grèbe à bec bigarré
Podilymbus podiceps

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
36 - 1206 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
102 29 151 37
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.46 (-5.2 - 1.61)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 1.13 (-0.679 - 2.77)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.02 0.080.09 0.07
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
 0.04 0.020.06 0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.140.06 0.08  0.09

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.020.020.07
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.06 0.21
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.09   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.120.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Rares sont ceux qui explorent nos terres humides qui n'ont pas eu la chance d'apprécier les grognements et les aboiements de ce grèbe mystérieux provenant des roseaux profonds des marais, d'étangs et des lacs de la Colombie-Britannique. Bien que souvent caché parmi la végétation au cours de la saison de reproduction, son épais bec blanc à bande noire en fait une espèce très facile à identifier, lorsqu'aperçue. La grande répartition du grèbe à bec bigarré s'étend du sud de la forêt boréale de la Colombie-Britannique à l'Atlantique puis vers le sud dans la majorité de l'Amérique du Nord, du Sud et centrale ainsi que les Caraïbes. Les populations reproductrices nordiques migrent de courtes à moyennes distances afin d'hiverner dans les régions côtières et plus au sud (Muller et Storer 1999).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Grèbe à bec bigarré est un oiseau nicheur largement réparti dans la moitié sud de la province, mais se limitant aux régions à l'est des Rocheuses dans le nord. La distribution de sa reproduction durant la période de relevés de l'Atlas était très similaire à celle indiquée dans l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990; toutefois, les relevés de l'Atlas ont confirmé sa reproduction plus au nord-ouest que ce qui avait autrefois été indiqué, dans le bassin de la rivière Liard de l'écoprovince Montagnes boréales du nord.

La probabilité d'observer la Grèbe à bec bigarré est généralement faible, l'écoprovince Intérieur sud affichant les valeurs les plus élevées, suivie de près par les écoprovinces Dépression de Georgia, Plaines de la Taïga et Intérieur centre, ce qui correspond aux principales grappes des relevés de reproduction. Dans l'intérieur, la majeure partie de la reproduction a lieu dans les zones humides de fonds de vallée et de plateaux inférieurs, à des altitudes situées entre 500 et 1 250 m. Les dénombrements ponctuels ont révélé que l'abondance la plus forte se trouvait dans l'écoprovince Montagnes intérieures du sud, dans les zones humides du sillon des Rocheuses du sud; toutefois, les dénombrements par point aléatoires ne permettent pas de prélever un bon échantillon des habitats de zones humides limités de cet grèbe. Campbell et coll. (1990) notent que le centre d'abondance de la reproduction se situe dans l'intérieur sud et les données de l'Atlas confirment que c'est toujours le cas.

La Grèbe à bec bigarré niche sur les étangs d'eau douce ou en bordure de lac sur des plateformes flottantes placées au-dessus de l'eau dans des profondeurs variant de 20 cm à 2 m. Les nids sont généralement attachés à la végétation émergente, par exemple des scirpes (Scirpus) ou des massettes (Typha latifolia). Des nids ont été observés dans les lotus (Nuphar) et attachés à des arbustes. Souvent, le site de nidification se trouve dans un espace ouvert entouré de parcelles de végétation dense (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations Les grèbes à bec bigarré ne sont pas une préoccupation de conservation en Colombie-Britannique et sont généralement considérés comme étant de statut stable à long terme (Environnement Canada 2011). Comme il est le cas avec de nombreuses espèces, maintenir des terres humides productives et en bonne santé est l'élément principal de la survie de ce grèbe, particulièrement les terres humides non touchées du fond des vallées dans l'intérieur sud. Les nombres d'individus des populations peuvent fluctuer au cours de périodes de plusieurs années et, dans certaines parties de la province, la disponibilité des terres humides au cours des années plus sèches peut influencer ces nombres. Les effets des activités récréatives aquatiques et des bateaux à moteur sur et autour des lacs servant à leur reproduction devraient être étudiés afin de déterminer les effets possibles de l'action des vagues et des perturbations sur les nids.

Rick Howie

Citation recommandée: Howie, R. 2015. Grèbe à bec bigarré dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=PBGR&lang=fr [02 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley